We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay of Bengal

$$
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 Crackwell St, Tenby SA70 7HA, Wales
01834 843 331
Website
Add hours for Bay of Bengal and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 77
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Best views of Tenby, good food

Have eaten here several times with family over the years and enjoyed our meals. Always found the food to be fresh and tasty and a reasonable price. (We buy beer and wine at the Tesco metro nearby as the restaurant does not serve alcohol). Service friendly but can be a weird atmosphere if the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 11, 2015
HSeriously
Good for:
  • Romantic
Add Photo

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 NEW

Our table was clean and the view is lovely looking over tenby harbour . The starters and main course we ordered arrived very quick as restaurant not to busy and food was very nice ,especially the Madras ! It was only when we had finished our food and plates etc collected ,that the waiter started hanging around the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

Only ordered starter of chicken chat disgusting changed it but same again. Tasted like mild curry nothing like chat!!views only good thing about visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Have eaten here several times with family over the years and enjoyed our meals. Always found the food to be fresh and tasty and a reasonable price. (We buy beer and wine at the Tesco metro nearby as the restaurant does not serve alcohol). Service friendly but can be a weird atmosphere if the restaurant is not busy. Minor improvements... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Lovely sea views from seating area . Clean & friendly Food was ok , good variety on menu , service good Would go again but with friends , it's not that special for a romantic evening out

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Pros: The view over the bay is lovely. BYOB makes it fairly cheap. Cons: Shabby interior,unhelpful staff and dire food. There was a piece of bone in the lime pickle I was served at the start of the meal. The chicken shashlick was greasy,rubbery and (worst of all) had a long,black hair in it. I would not eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Six of us went for a meal the meal was satisfactory the service and attitude left a lot to be desired when we went to pay the bill we were told they don't accept cards no sign up to say this and abruptly told he had no legal right to display one which I think very bad customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grizzlers, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

i am law abiding citizen More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Booked this last minute and were so lucky we did. We had a seat right in the window which got things off to a great start. The waiters were great, very attentive and ready to help. The food was good and the fact that you take your own alcohol means the total cost was about half what we normally pay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Went for a take out Saturday night thought it was expensive for what we had and the food was ok just average would I visit again jury is still out. Noticed that they did not serve alcohol did not bother us but if you was going for a meal out then? While we was there an American gentleman came in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grizzlers, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

yes More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Lush food plenty of it and made welcome for a friend's 50th birthday. Had to take our own drinks but this helped to keep the cost down really lovely restaurant and we were given sea view so so pretty thank you for a lovely night we will be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Needed somewhere to eat as we arrived late, open till 11pm, great views over the harbour, quiet restaurant and friendly staff. Food was great, arrived fast. Only downside is no payment via card but there is a cash machine at Tescos which isn't too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Bay of Bengal also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Bay of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Bengal

Address: 1 Crackwell St, Tenby SA70 7HA, Wales
Phone Number: 01834 843 331
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Tenby
Average Prices: USD 16 - 28
Cuisine: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 Crackwell St, Tenby SA70 7HA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Tenby
  • Phone Number: 01834 843 331

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 28
  • Cuisine: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay of Bengal staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?