We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 92 Ilfracombe Restaurants

6 St. James Bistro - CLOSED

6 St. James Place, Ilfracombe, England
01271 866602
Website
Improve this listing
CLOSED
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Relaxed dinning, all cooked fresh to order

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great meal fish and sea food, this place had a great friendly atmosphere. The staff were great, I had a good pint or two of a very good local beer, all reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went here on a Friday night it was a bit quite but still had a lovely atmosphere. The service was fantastic and the menu catered for all. Had a starter of mushrooms which were delicious and then ordered fish and chips, it was nice to see the chef come out and make the beer batter that's when you knew... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is the first time I have had fish and chips since being diagnosed gluten intolerance , I cannot rave enough about this small bistro , my needs were met in a upmost professional way , the chef helped me with a understanding , all the staff made me feel welcome,and I have been coming for 3 years , I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Both me and my partner ate here. I have dietary needs and read reviews in advance that this place catered for both veggie and people with gluten intolerance so was excited to try their food. Disappointment swiftly followed. Turned away by a grumpy woman on our first attempt we returned for a second try the following evening and were seated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kiplingex34, Owner at 6 St. James Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Madam We take great care when catering for Celica’s, having separate boards, knives, bowls & fryers in order to reduce the chance of any cross contamination, we make all our food fresh to order from fresh local ingredients this can sometimes take time. We can make most of our menu gluten free even the battered cod. We only have... More

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After experiencing some disappointing meals in Ilfracoombe we were pleasantly surprised when eating at this delightful bistro.The staff were extremely friendly and the bistro light, airy and clean. The seafood chowder that i chose was delicious. There was 4 of us and each one had a different dish, everyone commented on how delicious the food was. The food was freshly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Bistro is found close to the Harbour in the centre of Ilfracombe. It is a very popular place with very pleasant tables outside and nice décor inside. I was able to secure a table outside and watch as a stream of people were having to be turned away from the place as it was fully booked that evening. (If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were visiting Ilfracombe with some friends and were recommended No 6 and what a good tip. All our party had different dishes and all enjoyed them, plentiful and lovely. I can thoroughly recommend the Seafood Chowder for starter, almost as good as Maine, and the Cod was so huge it 'nearly' beat me. The fish was deliciously meaty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you're hoping for some scrumptious English breakfast then definitely check this place out while you're visiting Ilfracombe. It's a 2 minute walk from the harbour which makes it ideal for breakfast, lunch, dinner, whatever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corse Lawn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

With two friends, we were visiting Ilfracombe for the weekend. I used to visit Ilfracombe on business fifteen or so years ago and the town really had gone down the tubes then. But the town has now had a remarkable turn-around and with restaurants like 6 St James Bistro, things are certainly looking up! Good value, pleasant service and friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunny dorset
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a cracking place, we had already eaten here the previous evening and had a lovely meal, so came back for sunday roast.. me and hubby opted for the smaller version, but even that was enough.. roast chicken, Yorkshire pudding roast potoes new potatoes stuffing parsnip apple sauce, with picked red cabbage and carrots and cabbage and green beans for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed 6 St. James Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing