We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tipsy Laird

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pub, Family Fare, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
68 High St, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
+44 1540 661334
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A newly renovated, traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm...
A newly renovated, traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park with a great range of local Malt Whiskies & Cask Ales, and a fantastic bar menu, with daily specials. The Tipsy Laird boasts a stunning South facing beer garden, perfect for lunch on a weekend or a quiet pint in the evening. Or if you prefer the indoors, we have plenty of seating in the bar & restaurant areas, with a roaring fire for the winter months. The Tipsy Laird is family & dog friendly, although please note persons under the age of 18 (this includes babies) are not permitted on the premises after 8pm unless consuming a meal.
read more
Good for:
Large groups

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 180 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 64
    Excellent
  • 85
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Best Pub in Kingussie

Good Honest Pub Food. We were in town for a few nights and found the Tipsy Laird after looking around. Externally needs a lick of paint but inside is warm and comfy. Food was hot and tasty and in the evenings the craic is good with happy customers well served by Helen and John, who apparently took... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 18, 2015
Kandersteg
,
Scotland
Good for:
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Good Honest Pub Food. We were in town for a few nights and found the Tipsy Laird after looking around. Externally needs a lick of paint but inside is warm and comfy. Food was hot and tasty and in the evenings the craic is good with happy customers well served by Helen and John, who apparently took over a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Arrived at 5.30pm after 17 miles of the East Highland Way to find out that the new owners since February 2015 had no idea that 4 of us ( The Ayrshire Waysters ) had been booked to stay at the bunkhouse at the rear of the pub since October 2014. Previous owners had left no information of advance bookings. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fort William, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We called in here for a meal while on holiday here in Kingussie.The frontage of the establishment looks slightly dated,don't let that put you off.As soon as we entered we received a lovely welcome,made us feel totally at home right away. the staff were super,couldn't do enough for us,and were so nice to the grandchildren. The food was lovely,good choices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ross and Cromarty, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Very slow service considering we were the only table. Food basic - just OK. Was asked whether I wanted salad or chips with my Chilli. Came without either but waitress took my plate back and salad (although questionable calling a few lettuce leaves a salad ) was added. Then, presumably the manageress, arrived at table and very curtly remarked that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

I sorry you were disappointed with your meal and your service. The waitress made an error regarding what came with your home made chilli, she was made aware of this and this has now been sorted. IF a customer wants something that is not on the menu we do where possible try and accommodated them. However chilli does NOT come... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Dont normaly do reviews but didnt like reading all the negative rubbish on here it does make you wonder whoe writes the reviews. We visited a few weeks ago and our impressions were that it was a nice pub nice staff and good beer. We both had the Steak pie which was very tasty my only moan is put some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

A short walk from the fabulous B&B made The Tipsy Laird a welcome location. We loved eating with locals and people watching! Service was friendly and food delicious. Stop in for a pint!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Evening get together with wife's brother and partner. Arrived 1830 Sunday 5th April. Ordered some "wildcat" Ales and wine "Hectors Pie" sounded so good on the menu that all four of us decided to have it, 2 with mash, two with chips. Pies arrived in a reasonable time. Pies were piping hot, but veg was stone cold. Highlighted this to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

I can only apologise for your food being cold, as stated on the night we had technical problem with our oven and hot cupboard which resulted in some of your food coming out cold. In regards to your bill being wrong 3 times, I apologise for this but these things do happen from time to time. I would like to... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We stopped off on our way back to Dundee from the Highland Wildlife Park when we saw the sign for home cooked food. After eventually getting served, I was presented with Lasagne with looked like it was out of a packet and reheated (badly), about a dozen small chips and the worse side salad I've ever had put down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you appear to not have enjoyed your meals, but would it not have been more productive to mention this to staff on the day of your visit in order we could have addressed the issues you appear to have had with your definitely home cooked meal... More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Stopped in Kingussie for something to eat on my way home from Inverness, menu was very disappointing, only 4 main meals!! And at that not all 4 of them were available, soup was ok, fish looked and tasted like a frozen fish portion from your local supermarket!! Chips were tasteless and scampi wasn't great either. The meals were not worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meal last night, or the well advertised live music. However it would have more prudent to mention this at the time in order that your problem could be rectified. Regarding your comment about there only being 4 main courses, as head chef I am rather confused by this as there actually 14, and... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This bar is under new management which is genuinely not a bad thing, its an honest salt of the earth and good old fashioned pub. Very family friendly which is a nice change of pace for the area, and the new owners seem to have good experience of catering to a mixed clientèle. i wonder if other reviewers are maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Tipsy Laird also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Tipsy Laird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 68 High St, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Aviemore and the Cairngorms  >  Kingussie
  • Phone Number: +44 1540 661334

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 23
  • Cuisine: Pub, Family Fare, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

A newly renovated, traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park with a great range of local Malt Whiskies & Cask Ales, and a fantastic bar menu, with daily specials. The Tipsy Laird boasts a stunning South facing beer garden, perfect for lunch on a weekend or a quiet pint in the evening. Or if you prefer the indoors, we have plenty of seating in the bar & restaurant areas, with a roaring fire for the winter months. The Tipsy Laird is family & dog friendly, although please note persons under the age of 18 (this includes babies) are not permitted on the premises after 8pm unless consuming a meal.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tipsy Laird staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?