We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tipsy Laird

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
68 High St, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
+44 1540 661334
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A newly renovated, traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm...
A newly renovated, traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park with a great range of local Malt Whiskies & Cask Ales, and a fantastic bar menu, with daily specials. The Tipsy Laird boasts a stunning South facing beer garden, perfect for lunch on a weekend or a quiet pint in the evening. Or if you prefer the indoors, we have plenty of seating in the bar & restaurant areas, with a roaring fire for the winter months. The Tipsy Laird is family & dog friendly, although please note persons under the age of 18 (this includes babies) are not permitted on the premises after 8pm unless consuming a meal.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 195 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 69
    Excellent
  • 87
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Scots Pub

It is all you would expect from a scottisch pub with a good local brew, friendly bar staff , we even had live singing from local talent. Good pub atmosphere, where we weren't stared at by the locals!

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 26, 2015
Bonglabongla
Good for:
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Unfortunately, when we went to go there, we discovered it had closed down. I don't know if it has re-opened at all under new ownership.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Very friendly and welcoming to all of us and our dog. Food was fantastic, I would recommend the pie and my son would recommend the venison burger. Water bowl given to our dog as well. We will be going back there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kendal, United Kingdom
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Owners and locals great, food especially Hectors Pie delicious we were told the Tipsy Laird had recently reopened, we wish them every success the effort put in is obvious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Currently closed, unfortunately, as is the nearby Silver Fjord. Was previously a good value, friendly and dog friendly pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

We have now re-opened, same folk! Hope to see you soon! More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

This pub was meant to be a very nice place to have an evening meal but unfortunately at the time of our visit it was shut and removal men were taking the furniture out so it seems that it is currently changing hands although we were told that it was good when it was open.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

All I could taste was bad oil. Was one of the worst meals ever! I scrapped the mash off the top and ate the peas. Expensive for bad food maybe change the oil!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Called in here with partner & our dog on way home after touring Scotland for a few days. Food heaven the Benison, Beef and Pork & Apple burger. Food cooked to order & prompt service. Very friendly welcoming staff. Deffinaly highly recommend!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

It is all you would expect from a scottisch pub with a good local brew, friendly bar staff , we even had live singing from local talent. Good pub atmosphere, where we weren't stared at by the locals!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed yourself. Jon is a great entertainer and singer and most of our customers stayed till closing time, singing and dancing. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Up at kingussie for couple days, we looked forward to a meal at tipsy laird. We here 2-3 times a year and always rate the food as excellent. First impression of new landlord poor. When asked if still serving food we were told " yes, but you 'll have long time to wait" expected dining area to be packed, 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

Re you stating there were only 2 tables in front and you were told there was a long wait. What you were actually told was that we are very busy and you are 4th table in the queue, so there will be a bit of a delay. You were given free drinks at the end of the evening to compensate... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

The place lovely but the food quality is very poor, everything is frozen. Because is not enough staff, you have to wait a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TipsyL61, Owner at The Tipsy Laird, responded to this review

I take issue with your comment that all your food was frozen, \I can assure that it is not as my self and the under chef cook it from scratch ourselves. You had to wait because we were extremely busy and fully booked. You were told there was a delay and were happy to wait. More 

Travelers who viewed The Tipsy Laird also viewed

Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Kingussie, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Tipsy Laird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tipsy Laird

Address: 68 High St, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1540 661334
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Aviemore and the Cairngorms  >  Kingussie
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 6 - 27
Cuisine: British, Pub, Scottish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 68 High St, Kingussie PH21 1HZ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Aviemore and the Cairngorms  >  Kingussie
  • Phone Number: +44 1540 661334

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 27
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

A newly renovated, traditional village pub in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park with a great range of local Malt Whiskies & Cask Ales, and a fantastic bar menu, with daily specials. The Tipsy Laird boasts a stunning South facing beer garden, perfect for lunch on a weekend or a quiet pint in the evening. Or if you prefer the indoors, we have plenty of seating in the bar & restaurant areas, with a roaring fire for the winter months. The Tipsy Laird is family & dog friendly, although please note persons under the age of 18 (this includes babies) are not permitted on the premises after 8pm unless consuming a meal.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tipsy Laird staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?