We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Caulkheads

$$
British, Pub, Gastropub, Pizza
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
42 Avenue Rd, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
+44 1983 405080
Website
Improve this listing
Friday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Tue 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great...
Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 213 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 71
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Isle of Wight

Atmosphere friendly and lovely fire made it perfect. Quiet when we were there (Sunday evening). Food was as we expected for the price. Nicely furnished pub with quiet corners and an area for families away from the main bar.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
dollcups
,
Bristol
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Atmosphere friendly and lovely fire made it perfect. Quiet when we were there (Sunday evening). Food was as we expected for the price. Nicely furnished pub with quiet corners and an area for families away from the main bar.

Helpful?
Thank dollcups
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Sunday evenings are definitely one of the more peaceful times to dine. we hope to see you again soon. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service and meals were lovely,good size and value for money. Two little negatives, one kids area needs to have brighter lighting,two long hair found inside burger bun- my nephew had eaten his chips and beans before noticing and they were happy to replace it and it came out as a whole meal again instead of just the burger 😀... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shcookie
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your visit and review. you will be pleased to hear that the lighting in the kids ball pit has been addressed. I cant comment to much on the burger issue as I cooked your food and dealt with the issue at the bar noticing then that the hair was the same length and colour as the... More 

Guiseley- Leeds
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

This place had attentive staff. Shame that everyone had noisy kids but they do have a ball pool in there. So if you want a quiet pint you should avoid. Food looked good drinks were reasonable. More of a family friendly pub though.

Helpful?
Thank chatbox
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit. unfortunately it can get a little noisy from time to time with the kids. victims of our own success perhaps! Thanks again More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We were recommended by the host of the local B&B and we found the food really delicious. We ordered pizza and roasted duck for the first time and we really enjoyed it a lot. Therefore we went there for a second time and ordered seabass for this time. It didn't disappoint us again. The waiting time is a little long,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viki C
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Glasgow may be a stretch but thanks for the glowing report. Im glad you enjoyed your visits and hope we may see you again in the future. More 

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Food a bit slow arriving but when it did it was worth the wait, play area dark for children. Staff very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Mishcarmarthen
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Im glad you had a pleasant visit. we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Visited The Caulkheads on 2 consecutive nights during a 4 night stay nearby. Found it to be pleasant but busy especially in the rear family area but we were still able to find a suitable table both nights. Our 2 year old loved the indoor safe play area so much we were able to eat our meals, which were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonathanF27
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Im glad you enjoyed your visit. I know what its like to actually get to eat your food when your out with kids! Thanks again More 

Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Have adopted this as our local from a range of places in Sandown for the simple reason that the food is good and reasonable priced. The staff are excellent always friendly and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Guyiow
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Nice to hear. Thanks for your review. we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Southern England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Excellent to take the kids, somewhere indoors for them to play while waiting for the food to arrive.

Helpful?
Thank RorysRavers
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

Was told food would take 25 minutes to arrive, it was closer to an hour and then there was confusion over an order with the waitress being a bit slow on the uptake. Food was average and cold, for example pork was rock hard and chips were cold. The only advantage was the kids' playing area, what kept them occupied... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra M
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. Im sorry to hear that your visit wasn't as it should have been. all feedback is important to us and we will always try to improve in the future More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

We were staying at a b&b in Sandown and this pub was recommended in the guest information. It had a nice atmosphere and staff were friendly. The play place was an added bonus and allowed kids to cope with the really long delay on food. It took close to an hour to get out food and we weren't warned. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank lennyframp
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your food whilst you were with us. I can only apologise about the delay on food. unfortunately, due to the nature of our trade we never no just how busy we will be at any given time so sometimes delays are inevitable. Thanks again More 

Travelers who viewed The Caulkheads also viewed

Brading, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 

Been to The Caulkheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 42 Avenue Rd, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 405080

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 20
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Gastropub, Pizza

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children

Description

Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Caulkheads staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?