We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Seafood, English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
07624 472411
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 9:30 am
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 249 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 171
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Evening Meal

An enjoyable meal with a good variety of fresh fish on the menu. Dessert choice was somewhat limited though and I felt the cheese board was the only option left open to me - nothing else appealed. A small point - the table tops are becoming a little worn and could do with... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 18, 2015
Garricke_12
,
Douglas, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

An enjoyable meal with a good variety of fresh fish on the menu. Dessert choice was somewhat limited though and I felt the cheese board was the only option left open to me - nothing else appealed. A small point - the table tops are becoming a little worn and could do with updating. Nevertheless, a very nice meal with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Man
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Been there on a few occasions. Food always perfect, lovely atmosphere and amazing desserts. A little on then pricey side but in my opinion well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

One of my favourite restaurants, great menu. Mostly freshly caught seafood, including lobster and queenies, but my all time favourite starter is the twice baked goat's cheese souffle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We went midweek without a booking and were fortunate to get a table - the place was near full. I ordered an Indian spiced fish which came with a spinach and chickpea saute and rice. All the individual items were cooked well but personally I prefer some liquid (curry like) with my rice. My wife's cod was well cooked. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

A relaxing restaurant with a excellent choice of seafood with also has a fixed price lunch menu which is good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We went there for my daughter 12 birthday and it was perfect! Service, delicious food, well presented, desserts to day for it, atmosphere! Every little detail! Well done gays! Little bit priceless but worth it !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My boyfriend and I booked a table at Tanroagan over Valentine's weekend. The staff were super friendly and helpful as soon as we arrived, with our waiter recommending some wine and let us try it before deciding which one(s) we wanted. The menu looked good but the specials on the board provided a more extensive range of fish. I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Had a lovely evening and what we had to eat was extremely well prepared and the service was excellent.Well done.keep it going and we will be there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

Dined here with other work colleagues - I eat out most days so I think I have a balanced view of restaurants and rely heavily on TripAdvisor for selecting. I had crab toasties, halibut off the specials list then the chocolate fondant - sublime. I also tried the fish pie that my colleague had.... Amazing. I would have selected it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Went here with my mother recently for lunch and experienced the worst service of our lives. Both waitresses were rude and when they weren't standing at he back of the restaurant with their arms folded, they were giving petulant answers to our questions (we asked 'what is in the fish pie'...answer from waitress 'er fish'). The service was bad from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
UkDora, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to hear that you had a negative experience on your last visit to our restaurant. I am shocked and saddened by the review you have left as it is so uncharacteristic of everything that we are, that we stand for and pride ourselves on. The two waitresses in question have since left Tanroagan, shortly after your... More 

Travelers who viewed Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: 07624 472411

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 78
  • Cuisine: Seafood, English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
9:00 am - 9:30 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?