We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hambrough Restaurant

Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
01983856333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $137
Cuisines: English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough offers award winning dining at the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. Head Chef Darren Beevers is serving locally inspired dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    42
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Chose the taster menu which was plentiful, well spaced out and extremely tasty. The service was excellent and it was gat to have a table in the window overlooking the harbour. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Ventnor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which we have shared with the team. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we do hope to see you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Wilts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We dined here a week ago with friends looking forward to a gastronomic experience and whilst the food was indeed excellent the overall atmosphere was bleak. In addition I had asked when booking (and again on the day) about gluten free alternatives and was reassured this would be addressed. With this in mind, and hoping not to have to continuously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments which we have shared with the team. We apologise for the inconvenience and do hope that you will give us another chance to show you real Hambrough hospitality. Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We have just had lunch at The Hambrough Restaurant using a voucher from TPIW and to be perfectly honest would have paid the full amount for the meal and still been over the moon with the food and service. And the views! We loved it! Every mouthful was delicious but unfortunately being lunchtime, and on call to babysit grand children... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We do hope to see you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Although the Hambrough restaurant does not serve the largest of portions , the meal we had to celebrate our wedding anniversary on 28 Aug 2014 ,, rates amongst the very best meals we have ever experienced .You just cannot fault the food , which rates above everything else. Well done the Hambrough Mike and Lesley

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments.We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food. We do hope to see you back again for your next anniversary! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is lacking a few gems to refine your experience. Firstly a cocktail menu would benefit the bar. Despite the barman kindly trying out our request, I couldn't help but think it would have been far better had he known the recipe or had a bit of experience in making them off a set cocktail menu, not his fault... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we have shared with the team. We have taken all your feedback on board and will review your suggestions. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food. I would please like to explain the "truffle ball" which you write about, as it was the pre-dessert, which traditionally is a smaller portion, as... More

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Booked here, on the recommendation of a work colleague. Whilst we were unable to book a room with a sea view we did have the room at the top of the building overlooking the roof tops of Ventnor and the downs (steep stairs to the room) The room was very comfortable, the only disappointment was that it has a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you back again soon to try our autumn menu. Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Uckfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Due to problems arising in the room we had booked. We were contacted and asked to move to another hotel. Unavoidable in the circumstances. We enjoyed a superb dinner put together most thoughtfully with excellent wines and service. It was great.The dinner at the Hamborough was the very best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We once again apologise for the inconvenience with your room and hope we get the chance to host you with us in the near future. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The team join me in hopes of welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers... More

coventry
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Saturday evening for my Birthday. Our second visit and first since change of chef. The food was excellent ( probably better than before) it certainly wasn't as stuffy as before, however it is fine balance to get friendly service and still maintain that feeling of a special occasion. That said, I would certainly recommend a visit,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments which we have shared with both the kitchen and service team. They join me in thanking you for your kind comments. We hope to see you back again for the next special occasion! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked a dine and stay last weekend for one night with friends,we had rooms 4 & 5 both with great views to the sea. We choose from the a la carte menu, All locally sourced ingredients beautifully cooked and pleasing to the eyes. An extensive wine list to suit all tastes and budgets. Very friendly service from all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which we have shared with the team. They join me in thanking you for your review. We hope to see you back again for some cocktails! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Surrey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was staying at the Hambrough hotel and ate in the restaurant only one night of the four. I wished that we had booked more. The food is so good that it counts amoungst the best I have experienced, including many of the London Michelin star restaurants. The serivice was very attentive with pleasant staff, who were well trained yet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review here on the restaurant side as well! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Travelers who viewed The Hambrough Restaurant also viewed

Bonchurch, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Hambrough Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hambrough Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing