We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Ventnor Restaurants

The Hambrough Restaurant

Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
01983856333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $137
Cuisines: English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Sitting high above the fishing harbour in Ventnor, The Hambrough offers award winning dining at the southern tip of the Isle of Wight. Head Chef Darren Beevers is serving locally inspired dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    42
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 NEW

We have now been to the Hambrough three times, always for lunch, when we have visited the Isle of Wight. The food has always been nice but I find the dining room cold, brown and beige and depressing. The view is wonderful and I am sure the hotel would be great but there needs to be a bit of old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Yes, it is expensive and too often high end restaurants with top prices prove to be underwhelming but this place delivers. The food has the wow factor that you expect at these prices (the crab ice cream in the Ventnor crab salad or the celery sorbet with blue cheese and white chocolate ganache) and all the little details are right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We booked dinner at this restaurant and arrived to find the only menu available was the tasting menu (they were apparently a chef down). We do not normally choose a tasting menu the whole point of eating out is have option and decisions to make. However as it was too late to change plan we chose three courses from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were indeed one chef down the night you joined us for dinner as he was urgently taken into hospital and we thought it would be nicer to offer guests the tasting menu rather than cancel their reservations completely. We called every guest prior to arrival to notify them of the fact that only tasting... More

Bucks
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Chose the taster menu which was plentiful, well spaced out and extremely tasty. The service was excellent and it was gat to have a table in the window overlooking the harbour. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Ventnor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments which we have shared with the team. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we do hope to see you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Wilts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We dined here a week ago with friends looking forward to a gastronomic experience and whilst the food was indeed excellent the overall atmosphere was bleak. In addition I had asked when booking (and again on the day) about gluten free alternatives and was reassured this would be addressed. With this in mind, and hoping not to have to continuously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments which we have shared with the team. We apologise for the inconvenience and do hope that you will give us another chance to show you real Hambrough hospitality. Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We have just had lunch at The Hambrough Restaurant using a voucher from TPIW and to be perfectly honest would have paid the full amount for the meal and still been over the moon with the food and service. And the views! We loved it! Every mouthful was delicious but unfortunately being lunchtime, and on call to babysit grand children... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We do hope to see you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Although the Hambrough restaurant does not serve the largest of portions , the meal we had to celebrate our wedding anniversary on 28 Aug 2014 ,, rates amongst the very best meals we have ever experienced .You just cannot fault the food , which rates above everything else. Well done the Hambrough Mike and Lesley

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments.We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food. We do hope to see you back again for your next anniversary! Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is lacking a few gems to refine your experience. Firstly a cocktail menu would benefit the bar. Despite the barman kindly trying out our request, I couldn't help but think it would have been far better had he known the recipe or had a bit of experience in making them off a set cocktail menu, not his fault... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we have shared with the team. We have taken all your feedback on board and will review your suggestions. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food. I would please like to explain the "truffle ball" which you write about, as it was the pre-dessert, which traditionally is a smaller portion, as... More

Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Booked here, on the recommendation of a work colleague. Whilst we were unable to book a room with a sea view we did have the room at the top of the building overlooking the roof tops of Ventnor and the downs (steep stairs to the room) The room was very comfortable, the only disappointment was that it has a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you back again soon to try our autumn menu. Warm regards, Jo Rogers Operations Manager More

Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Due to problems arising in the room we had booked. We were contacted and asked to move to another hotel. Unavoidable in the circumstances. We enjoyed a superb dinner put together most thoughtfully with excellent wines and service. It was great.The dinner at the Hamborough was the very best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHambrough, Manager at The Hambrough Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We once again apologise for the inconvenience with your room and hope we get the chance to host you with us in the near future. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The team join me in hopes of welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Jo Rogers... More

Travelers who viewed The Hambrough Restaurant also viewed

Bonchurch, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Hambrough Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hambrough Restaurant

Address: Hambrough Road, Ventnor PO38 1SQ, England
Phone Number: 01983856333
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Ventnor
Average Prices: USD 39 - 137
Cuisine: English, French

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing