We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stars

80 High Street | Shanklin's Old Village, Shanklin PO37 6NJ, England
01983-508663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 63 Restaurants in Shanklin
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We serve meals all day from 10.30am 'til late, which include snacks and light bites such as paninis, baguettes, jacket potatoes and breakfasts to full meals, inlcuding locally sourced Isle of Wight steaks and fresh fish. Families are welcome and we have a selection of childen's meals.We pride ourselves on providing good service and freshly prepared food in a relaxed, friendly environment. Reservations welcome
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We serve meals all day from 10.30am 'til late, which include snacks and light bites such as paninis, baguettes, jacket potatoes and breakfasts to full meals, inlcuding locally sourced Isle of Wight steaks and fresh fish. Families are welcome and we have a selection of childen's meals.We pride ourselves on providing good service and freshly prepared food in a relaxed, friendly environment. Reservations welcome
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    57
    25
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Having walked from Shanklin to this restaurants new location in Sandown for an evening drink, we noticed how great the menu looked and really liked the idea of the volcanic rock to cook the steak. So we saved our 'date night,' for the last night of out trip leaving our child with her Grandparents in Shanklin and again walked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Each time we come to the Isle of Wight this place changes it name. Came in May had to wait a while for a table and there is no much room at the bar. Had the fish and chips and i have had better, the staff were running around like headless chickens and the manager had to come down and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

All round good. Went three times on a short break. The manager was very entertaining and the food was good. Going back to the Isle in august .planning to pay a visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Stars for an evening meal and both opted to have the BBQ chicken stack. It was delicious, and we were told it was the chefs own recipe. Fantastic service and lovely atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant to all visitors to the Isle of Wight.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited at 7.45 one evening, the restaurant was empty we were served by a lovely waitress and drinks were brought promptly and our orders taken. My husband had pork chops which were very nice and I had the beer battered fish, this was not hand battered and I suspect frozen which was a little disappointing however it was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to thank you for your kind comments about your waitress and good service. At Stars we serve a full evening menu every day from 5pm and sandwiches and snacks during the day. The meal your husband had was a combo of BBQ ribs and fresh chicken breast marinated in cajun spices... More

essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We travelled to Shanklin from Essex and went into the star for dinner all dressed up as the reviews were good so thought we cant go wrong. Unfortunitly was served by a lady that seem uninterested we ordered what we believed to be home made food to find the chips were frozen type an excuse of a salad on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you were disappointed in your meal at Stars. I would like to respond to some of the points you make in your review. 1. I served you on the evening in question. As the owner of the business I am never disinterested in my customers. I seated you, brought you... More

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had lunch hear the sandwich was fresh and the salad very fresh nice wine and freindly staff we would have tried evening meal as looked very nice but it was our last day and weather was not to good to walk to old village

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A great place to sit, have a drink & watch the world go by... We went twice during our recent stay on IOW & couldn't fault the service or the drinks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Stars. We are always pleased you enjoyed your visits. Thanks again. More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little restaurant, staff were very friendly and although you are supposed to order from the bar, a member of staff came over to take our order. Good variety of drinks, at a reasonable price. Very clean. Good variety on menue. We sat outside, and unfortunately there was no music playing, maybe wouldn't have been a problem but for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vikki F, Manager at Stars, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Stars. We are very pleased you were happy with the welcome, the drinks and the selection on the menu. I am sorry you felt you waited too long for your main course, but we were very busy on the evening you visited and as all our food is cooked to order, it means the... More

banbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Once again we had a fantastic meal here at Stars and we enjoyed ourselves very much. It was the first time ever that I was served my Pimms properly with strawberries and cucumber and mint and it was delicious as were all our meals. It was very busy which was great to see as most places we had been to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vikki F, Owner at Stars, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal again, it's always great to have return custom. Hope to see you again. More

Travelers who viewed Stars also viewed

 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing