We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Shanklin Restaurants

The Waterfront Inn

19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
+44 1983 863023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $30
Hours:
Sun - Thu 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: French, British, Brasserie, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are a free house and offer a wide selection of Isle of Wight ales, lagers, wines & spirits, together with a straightforward, homely menu that features local steaks and seafood in addition to the usual seaside favourites. Why not come and unwind with us - enjoy a leisurely fixed-price meal or just a long cool cocktail in our bar or outside on our sun terrace - all giving panoramic sea views from Shanklin across Sandown bay towards the white cliffs of Culver Down. We offer live music most weekends and also during the week in the summer season.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    157
    54
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Still house hunting, now in shanklin lovely little seafront, with a few bars on it stopped at the waterfront for a bite to eat lovely little place. great view of the beach order taken quickly, food delivered very quickly a bit disappointed with the portion size but i guess you pay for the view, the quality was ok, but nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The waterfront has been renovated to a very high standard. The staff are welcoming and friendly and they take your orders from the table so that you don't have to queue at the bar. I have mainly had morning coffee or lunch and have enjoyed what I ordered. I particularly like the way they have a screen showing pictures of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
waterfrontinniow, Owner at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderfully positive review. It means a lot to all of us that work here. Catherine and David have now sold The Waterfront Inn and we wish the new owners all the best and we are sure that they can only push the business to new heights. Thank you so much to all our lovely... More 

Shanklin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Everything about this place is wonderful. I have been there for an evening meal and for for just a cup of tea (with dog in tow). The staff are so welcoming and accomodating and the food is excellent. Add to this the setting and you can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The Waterfront Inn has excellent service and very good food at very reasonable rates. Even with my restrictive diet, they happily accommodated as if they deal with complicated requests all the time. We were made to feel very welcome. Location is great - just opposite the beach. You can walk there or drive. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Great party and buffet at the waterfront last night, Sharon as always the perfect host. If your coming to the Isle of Wight this is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband and I have been to the Waterfront Inn for lunch or dinner on at least seven occasions this year, sometimes on our own and sometimes with various family members. Each time the experience has been marvellous. Yesterday evening was no exception. The owners and staff were very attentive, but the service was relaxed. The food was lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We got place in a corner table where it is just a crowded clutter, barely enough space to move around or get up for the bathroom. The balcony area outside for a drink on the other hand would seem nice, only that the drinks are horrible. Coffee taste like things you would find in a cheap school cafe. Our fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
waterfrontinniow, Owner at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I suppose that we'll have to take this one on the chin - it seems that your meal was a 'perfect storm' of mistakes, although I would take issue with your use of the word 'horrible'. We certainly apologise unreservedly that you did not like your food or drinks. However, if you had only brought... More 

Sandown, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

just had a super christmas meal with our swimming club ,food was delicious,and service was very good.will be going there again.thanks to everyone....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Made very welcome when we came in and nothing was too much bother. The food was fantastic hot and very tasty. We would highly recommend the waterfront inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Titisee-Neustadt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in November with some friends who stayed just 2 nights. It was by no means the most expensive or best quality hotel we booked during our 10 day holiday but it was BY FAR the BEST hotel we stayed in. The rooms were lovely, beautiful views and despite the terrible weather we had we enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Inn also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Address: 19 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Phone Number: +44 1983 863023
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 6 - 30
Cuisine: French, British, Brasserie, Fish & Chips

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?