We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oldfields Noted Eating House

$$$
British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Claypath, Durham DH1 1RH, England
+44 191 370 9595
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Description: We’re proper cooks, serving real British food, cooked properly. We don’t...
We’re proper cooks, serving real British food, cooked properly. We don’t mess around with our food. We cook it simply, without flashy sauces, so the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves.The ingredients that go into our kitchen come from local farms and suppliers, some of whom we’ve known for years, like Joe Simpson of Cockfield, who rears, slaughters and butchers his own beef, Ian Alexander of Raby Estates with his fantastic venison and Carol Peacock from Sedgefield who makes world-beating blue cheese. Our veg comes from the local markets and our recipes are based on real British dishes with heritage.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 824 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 258
    Excellent
  • 231
    Very good
  • 131
    Average
  • 116
    Poor
  • 88
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Expensive food

I visited here with my husband for our honeymoon we used a wowcher code for a cheaper meal and was abit horrified at the prices we would of had to pay. I found it difficult to choose something I liked from the menu. However after paying extra money for the steak it was nice. The waiting staff were... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
SarahVentura
,
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durham City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had 2 vouchers for a Groupon Meal.....both our meals ..went back...awfull we had 2 vouchers for a Groupon Meal.....both our meals .. went back...awfull

Helpful?
Thank Davy N
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BE WARNED!!! There have recently been Vouchers available via Groupon and possibly others for this establishment. We called early January 2016 to find the place CLOSED, the signage removed and the inside gutted! They have seemingly gone out of business. I could see no notices or whatever on the windows to offer any explanation. If you have purchased Vouchers or... More 

Helpful?
Thank WHarry1
Peter W, Owner at Oldfields Noted Eating House, responded to this review

Hi WHArry1, I'm sorry that you turned up and that we were closed. We've closed down due to the redevelopment of Claypath. We spoke to groupon in advance of closure and they've agreed to refund any unused vouchers in full. As with all groupon deals, the terms and conditions state that booking in advance is required. I hope that helps... More 

Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with my husband for our honeymoon we used a wowcher code for a cheaper meal and was abit horrified at the prices we would of had to pay. I found it difficult to choose something I liked from the menu. However after paying extra money for the steak it was nice. The waiting staff were polite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahVentura
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to Oldfields with a friend for the early evening special which was really good value and very nice. The service was pretty good and we where seated straight away with a choice of seats, we hadn't booked so glad we were able to get in. The food was served promptly after we ordered and was very good. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank DurhamAlibali
Cramlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here and like the restaurant vibe, the way the waitress/waiters dress with the white shirt, tie and apron, the meal was really nice too and the service was spot on. Credit to the the establishment... Would gladly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Lilly B
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food average, struggled to find something I liked to order from the menu. Staff and service was good

Helpful?
Thank Cazzamood
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

We were a large group dining here and it was just so disappointing. Some of our group tried the Sunday roast and they seemed to enjoy it, but for those not ordering that, it was really expensive and the meals were not good. Service was a shocker. Vegetables came out when mains were over half finished. Staff didn't know what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia R
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

my boyfriend and I visited on a Sunday evening having seen the two for one offer on the tastecard app. We had a look at the menu posted in the windows including the 2 courses for £17.95 and 3 courses for £19.95 on Sunday offers so chose to dine in your restaurant. The waitress showed us to a table and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa R
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Booked lunch here as preferred venue couldn't take us.. Staff were welcoming and attentive. The restaurant was perhaps on the chilly side with not much atmosphere. The table d'hote Christmas menu did have 5 choices of starter, main and dessert. However for me it was uninspiring and surprisingly bland. We chose starters and mains but not being particularly impressed we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Meg1046
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

busy when we arrived...But I thought the atmosphere was quiet for the amount of people in there.the choice on the menu was limited and not much choice if you don't like meat.could do with more fish choices on the menu

Helpful?
2 Thank russ c

Travelers who viewed Oldfields Noted Eating House also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Oldfields Noted Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 Claypath, Durham DH1 1RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  County Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 191 370 9595

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 36
  • Cuisine: British, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine

Description

We’re proper cooks, serving real British food, cooked properly. We don’t mess around with our food. We cook it simply, without flashy sauces, so the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves.The ingredients that go into our kitchen come from local farms and suppliers, some of whom we’ve known for years, like Joe Simpson of Cockfield, who rears, slaughters and butchers his own beef, Ian Alexander of Raby Estates with his fantastic venison and Carol Peacock from Sedgefield who makes world-beating blue cheese. Our veg comes from the local markets and our recipes are based on real British dishes with heritage.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Oldfields Noted Eating House and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oldfields Noted Eating House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?