We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 256 Durham Restaurants

Oldfields Noted Eating House

18 Claypath, Durham DH1 1RH, England
+44 191 370 9595
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #83 of 256 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $15 - $38
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: English, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We’re proper cooks, serving real British food, cooked properly. We don’t mess around with our food. We cook it simply, without flashy sauces, so the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves.The ingredients that go into our kitchen come from local farms and suppliers, some of whom we’ve known for years, like Joe Simpson of Cockfield, who rears, slaughters and butchers his own beef, Ian Alexander of Raby Estates with his fantastic venison and Carol Peacock from Sedgefield who makes world-beating blue cheese. Our veg comes from the local markets and our recipes are based on real British dishes with heritage.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    192
    102
    93
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Ate here on Monday as a group of 4 using a groupon voucher. As it was a Monday it was quiet but the staff were attentive and friendly in the right measures. The food was well presented and cooked. Menu prices a little high without voucher for me to make it a regular casual dining experience. Would definitely return for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eaglescliffe
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

We went early to Durham to see Chris Bonnington and do some shopping in Durham. We had planned in eating late afternoon but the place didn't open for meals until 5:30, snacks were available. The food was nice and the service efficient, we would come back agin

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW via mobile

My husband and I ate here using a Groupon voucher on Friday evening. Our waiters were lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed all our meal including a gorgeous desert each.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

Wow, I really hope we caught them on a bad night. I took a party of 4 and we all felt ill afterwards. I have eaten in a variety of venues from pubs to expensive restaurants..... i have no idea where to place this one. I disliked the evening that much I can only say (without knowing the background)... it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Very disappointed - 2 small sandwiches , 2 cakes and a scone - left hungry and ended up eating somewhere else a few hours later !! Most afternoon teas in the area you come away feeling satisfied and we came away disappointed. Also we were sat next to a cupboard and the staff kept on needing to get into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Waited 2 hours for food to arrive whilst watching everyone around us being served, two bowls of bread as an apology didn't really make up for the wait. Manager finally gave us our drinks free but as it was probably 4 bottles of wine at a cost of 4 quid each, not a big loss to the restaurant. Food ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy J, Customer Liaison Manager at Oldfields Noted Eating House, responded to this review

I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us on Friday evening. However, only 7 of your party arrived and you were unsure if your other 3 guests were arriving. You'd ordered a couple of rounds of drinks while waiting for your other guests to arrive before deciding to go ahead to order without them. By then the... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We booked at table at Oldfields on the 19th January, I’ve eaten here several times before, the food and service is excellent. Often things take time, but so they should, the food is fresh, locally sourced and beautifully presented. We had the 2 course offer from Groupon – superb value for money and a real treat! A real find in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy J, Customer Liaison Manager at Oldfields Noted Eating House, responded to this review

Thanks for you lovely feedback, we appreciate it! The Groupon deal has been SO popular, keep your eye out for other offers! Hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Amy More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I have visited Oldfields twice in one week as we have had two birthdays this week. We were a table of 4 each time. We dined from the specials menu and there was plenty of choice to eat twice. There were many interesting meals such as chicken and sweet corn chowder, ham hock fritters etc and our friends who like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy J, Customer Liaison Manager at Oldfields Noted Eating House, responded to this review

Hey Lorraine, Thanks for your lovely review and kind comments, it was great to serve your table the other evening. The chicken and sweetcorn chowder is my personal favourite this month. I hope to see you all again at Oldfields very soon! Kind regards, Amy More 

stockton on tees england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

bought voucher before christmas, and booked for last night. it was a cold night but looked forward as we had eaten there previously. waiter apologised for any delay as we arrived. upgraded to bottle of red wine from two glass option with starters and mains. yes there was a delay but nothing too long. i had ham hock fritters which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Great food although not a huge menu. Local produce which is important and service very good and atmosphere buzzing.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Oldfields Noted Eating House also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Oldfields Noted Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields Noted Eating House

Address: 18 Claypath, Durham DH1 1RH, England
Phone Number: +44 191 370 9595
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  County Durham  >  Durham
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 15 - 38
Cuisine: English, Scottish, British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oldfields Noted Eating House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?