We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Court Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Court Lane, Durham DH1 3AW, England
+44 191 384 7350
Website
Add hours for Court Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a Classic English Pub/restaurant in the Heart of Durham City...
We are a Classic English Pub/restaurant in the Heart of Durham City, serving classic English food with a twist, using the finest locally sourced ingredients and first class service every time. We have a large selection of spirits and 8 hand pulls with local beer everyday
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 267 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 106
    Excellent
  • 82
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 29
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Brilliant!

I was here last night with a small group of friends and it was lovely. The staff were very pleasant and the food was great! I will definitely be returning here again

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 1, 2015
NikkiLowerson
,
County Durham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 NEW

Ordered a steak. £18:50 sirloin med/rare, First one was cooked through... Waitress mistake. Second was ordered and it came like a flat frying steak. Very disappointed. Don't think I'll be ordering that in the future. You can expect that at weatherspoons and the like, even that was a nicer steak on steak night. £5:75. Sorry..

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 NEW

I was here last night with a small group of friends and it was lovely. The staff were very pleasant and the food was great! I will definitely be returning here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

Visited this pub on Saturday with family and what a cracking pub it was. Food excellent and service was first class. Certainly will be returning in future

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor D, Owner at Court Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again. More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

we will definitely be returning to the court inn! we had a fantastic family meal here a couple of nights ago and I muss stress! TRY THE STEAK AND ALE PIE. all of our family had a brilliant meal. staff were amazing too! just wonderful! ps; the deserts...... WOW

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trevor D, Owner at Court Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and look forward to seeing you again More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

After seeing amazing reviews of this place we decided to visit and have a carvery for my mums birthday. The meat was bland and you did not get allot of it. The vegetables were absolutely horrible with no taste at all and the staff where not good. They where all over the place and very confused. The desserts took along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 NEW

Having visited this pub on many occasions, I can honestly say I will not be returning. We turned up at 8 pm this Saturday and were surprised to find only a few tables in the restaurant occupied. On every other occasion we have been the place has been really full so not sure what has happened there. For starters we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Called as a family after hearing great reviews of the court inn. Sadly we shall not be returning in a hurry. The food was very disappointing, meat was chewy, veg overcooked and tasteless, Yorkshire puds were hard and tasteless and the gravy was awful. Wasn't a cheap day and the service was not great, when the plates were collected nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Trevor D, Owner at Court Inn, responded to this review

We are very surprised you didn't enjoy your carvery as always there's not a lot we can do if nothing is said at the time. As for you comments about food being left on the plate it is a help yourself carvery so we can never tell if customers have too much or too little on their plate. It is... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Very disappointed as this pub used to serve excellent food. I thought menu was way overpriced for what was on offer and the food we were served was awful . I ordered pull pork bap which was a hideous red colour shaped into a beef burger and tasted of saccharin - inedible! Wife had corned beef pie - came with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Trevor D, Owner at Court Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us but as you didn't bring this to our attention on the day this is the first we have heard about it. However we must correct you on some facts. The pulled pork is made with Bbq sauce served on a round sour dough bun hence the sweet taste of the... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Very good food and service in here. Its often busy but you can catch quieter periods if you go. Good local pub with planty of good ales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Went here as had read good reviews in advance. Website regular specials said Thursday was Steak Night but on arrival was told in no uncertain terms it was no longer on

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Court Inn also viewed

Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Court Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Inn

Address: Court Lane, Durham DH1 3AW, England
Phone Number: +44 191 384 7350
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  County Durham  >  Durham
Average Prices: USD $5 to $31
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Court Lane, Durham DH1 3AW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  County Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 191 384 7350

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $5 to $31
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

We are a Classic English Pub/restaurant in the Heart of Durham City, serving classic English food with a twist, using the finest locally sourced ingredients and first class service every time. We have a large selection of spirits and 8 hand pulls with local beer everyday

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Court Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?