We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 253 Durham Restaurants

Castle Eden Inn

Stockton Road | Castle Eden, Durham TS27 4SD, England
01429 835137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 253 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Newly refurbished coaching inn fantastic british Gastro/Pub
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    41
    24
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Unfortunately, Sunday Lunch at Castle Eden Inn wasn't up to the standard we have been used to. We have always recommended this place to friends in the past but I'm afraid the last couple of times have not been true to form. I will concede that generally It is my wife who has been dissatisfied and myself very happy, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gavin L, Operations Manager at Castle Eden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Clivealiveo. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Castle Eden Inn, I am very sorry that your Sunday Lunch was not to our usual standard. I will pass on your comments regarding the pork and roast potatoes to our chef and hopefully avoid this happening again. Once again I thank you for writing your... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We have had sunday lunch here on many occasions and it never disappoints.Three of us had starters of mackerel, bacon and black pudding salad and mushrooms.All were very tasty. Roasts were beautifully cooked with plenty of seasonal veg. The two desserts of sticky toffee pud and treacle tart were also very good. The only negatives were that the two pork... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin L, Operations Manager at Castle Eden Inn, responded to this review

Dear lynn s. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Castle Eden Inn, I was very pleased to read your lovely comments. I will speak to our chef with regards to the amount of crackling given on the pork dishes and I will also speak to the waiting staff about the heating. Many thanks again... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Was up visiting family for the weekend and my sister had booked a table a couple of weeks in advance for 9 of us. Arrival good and choice of drinks good also. Sat down at just after 7.30 and received food closer to 10pm. Several attempts to find out what the delay was were met with "the delay is due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin L, Operations Manager at Castle Eden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark H. Thank you for your review of the Castle Eden Inn. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the service that your table received. I have spoken to our kitchen and service team with regards to this so that we can hopefully avoid this in the future. Kind regards, Gavin More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I ate here on a week night and had sausage and mash which was very good. I returned with sone friends a couple of days later for Sunday lunch and was extremely disappointed. The chicken was dry and flavourless, the potatoes were hard, the vegetables were cold and furry and the cauliflower cheese had no flavour to it, either. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin L, Operations Manager at Castle Eden Inn, responded to this review

Dear yevalnud. Thank you for writing a review on the Castle Eden Inn. I am sorry that you were no happy with the quality of your food, I have passed on your comments to our chef so that he can address them in the future. I was pleased to read that your previous visit was very good and have also... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch before starting a long journey back to Brighton & The Castle Eden Inn didn't disappoint. Great service, great food & very generous portion sizes. Definitely deserves it's place in the Michelin Guide!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gavin L, Operations Manager at Castle Eden Inn, responded to this review

Dear KerriMaher. Thank you for your review of the Castle Eden Inn. I was very pleased to read your kind words and have passed them on to our staff and management. Kind regards, Gavin More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Why is there no option for no stars? We had a table booked for my mother's birthday which was meant to be a celebration, instead I have to admit it was a disaster. We had our table booked for 8 o'clock. We began to receive our starters from around 9 o'clock however some received them upto twenty minutes after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gavin L, Operations Manager at Castle Eden Inn, responded to this review

Dear annmarie s. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Castle Eden Inn, please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not satisfactory. I have taken all of your comments on board and spoken to the kitchen team with regards to the waiting time and quality of your food to avoid this occurrence in... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Popped in after visiting friends locally.. Pub was very well presented and we were greeted with smiles from the staff. Was spoilt for choice with the menu. And didn't disappoint on arrival.. Great food, worth every penny. Only disappointment was as soon as our food was delivered we were forgotten about. Understand if it was busy, but it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartlepool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Was very much looking forward to Sunday lunch, we googled numerous local places but decided on the castle eden inn as I had been lots of times in the past and it was always good. We were seated but were ignored for around 20 minutes before we got a menu. The menu on paper sounds lovely, but I didn't feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Booked a table the previous day, however on arrival the reservation was missing. However we were still offered a table, after a short wait in the bar. Once seated and having perused the menu, it took 30 minutes for the order to be take, so long that free drinks were offered. The starter eventually arrived, the poached hens egg was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

Went here last Saturday got a taxi pretty busy tried ordering food was told they wernt serving anymore as restaurant busy said we were happy to eat in lounge said they wernt serving any food at all it was only 8 o,clock had to call a taxi go elsewhere won't b back !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Castle Eden Inn also viewed

 
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Castle Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Eden Inn

Address: Stockton Road | Castle Eden, Durham TS27 4SD, England
Phone Number: 01429 835137
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  County Durham  >  Durham
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing