We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Wetherby Restaurants

The Scotts Arms

Sicklinghall, Wetherby LS22 4BD, England
01937 582 100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 57 Restaurants in Wetherby
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    52
    23
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We went to the Scott's arms on a Sunday evening. It was packed with people eating but the friendly staff managed to find us a table. The food was superb as was the service and staff. Would definitely eat there again if we are in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Can here with two friends to celebrate a birthday. Menu descriptions all sounded lovely as did food on the specials board. Sadly what was brought to the table was not that good, overcooked swordfish and a tough steak pie. Portions were overly large. Would have preferred higher quality food and smaller plates. Shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your meals, I am shocked to hear that your pie was tough as it was the only issue we had had that day with over 30 of them sold. so a huge apology for that. I am disappointed that none of these issues were brought to my attention at... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Have been to the Scotts Arms over many years but feel that standards are beginning to slip. Food quite expensive and service not as good as it used to be. Visited recently on a Sunday to find that three of the main items on the menu (including fish and chips) were not available. Hope it can get back to where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

I apologise that you think that our standards are slipping, however you have visited on a Sunday (our busiest day) which was exceptionally busy that particular Sunday, as you Will have witnessed. Our menu consists of freshly prepared home cooked food, therefore we cannot guarantee that some days specific meals will sell more than others (especially at busy times) and... More

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The food here is excellent and the surroundings atmospheric but the prices have gone up greatly over the last few years. I used to come here weekly but now it is an occasional treat

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us a d we look forward to see you again soon. Thanks More

leeds
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We went out of way to go to the scotts arms as we had been years ago and remembered it being really good. The food was fine nothing spectacular a bit good although I would say that the kids portions are far too big and all piled up on a small plate so quite hard to get too... In 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for coming to visit us at what sounds like a busy time, as you have stated we were very busy I can only apologise for the service being slow, unfortunately we cannot anticipate an extra busy day and I am confident in saying it our team will have being working flat out. Our Childrens portions I'm afraid... More

Bridlington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Visited with my wife for dinner.This is a beautifully appointed country pub where the elegant dining area was complimented by candle lit tables. I ordered the steak and ale pie, served with mash and vegetables and a jug of gravy.This was probably the most sumptuous, delectable steak and ale pie I have ever tasted, the steak melted in your mouth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed our steak and ale pie it is definitely a favourite amongst our customers. We do serve both 'frozen chips' and homemade twice fried chips on our menu. We have both of these options as we have Hundereds of customers come to us each week that all have different preferences, which is why we have a... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Excellent food, great mix of restaurant-style service with a country pub feel. It was busy but still the food arrived promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for coming, hope to see you again soon. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Why must Restaurants which serve otherwise good food have to spoil it by cutting corners by using Re-hydrated potatoes and reconstituted babyfood style "apple sauce.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

booked in for a table for six 1 in a wheelchair, wheelchair access was through a back door but doable everyone enjoyed their choice of meal my steak was great and the chef sliced mine to help me friendly service lovely staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us and I am happy to hear that the staff were helpful and that you enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Thank you again More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We visited as a family. The place was very busy as expected and the menu choices good. We hadn't reserved a table so ended up in the extended bottom room which seems to be where younger families go (we have children but well behaved). The only negative was the one family that thought it was fine to allow their younger... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much first of all for choosing to dine with us. You will be pleased to hear that our booking policy is currently being reviewed, we are working towards lowering the minimum table booking to a 6! As for the children disturbing your evening we apologise on their behalf, we do try and advise strongly for families to... More

Travelers who viewed The Scotts Arms also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Scotts Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotts Arms

Address: Sicklinghall, Wetherby LS22 4BD, England
Phone Number: 01937 582 100
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wetherby
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing