We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scotts Arms

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Sicklinghall, Wetherby LS22 4BD, England
01937 582 100
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 180 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good Meal with not so good service

Couldn't book a table as they just don't do it. We were told to order at the bar, personally prefer to have order taken at the table but this seemed pointless when a waitress then came over to ask if we could confirm what we had ordered. we had already decided because of this we would not give the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 28, 2015
StormyLeeds
,
Leeds
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 NEW

Couldn't book a table as they just don't do it. We were told to order at the bar, personally prefer to have order taken at the table but this seemed pointless when a waitress then came over to ask if we could confirm what we had ordered. we had already decided because of this we would not give the normal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 NEW

The Scotts Arms has built up a justifiable local following for excellent food that unless you arrive early you may struggle to get a table. Always busy, the pub offers a wide range of food, displayed on blackboards around the walls. All are freshly cooked to order, are "healthy" portions and very good value for money. Sunday lunches are particularly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Really disappointing meal. Quite expensive for what it was. The steak and ale pie looked like it had either been reheated, as it was very brown and crusty .... Or simply cooked too long. The veg was soft, and the mashed potato looked a bit grey. I did ask whether I could have some chips and mash, rather than all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Manager at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

We are sorry you have felt it necessary to complain on this website, on the night you told me your food was great, just a little too much for your friend. Our pies are baked fresh daily and our vegetables are steam cooked, our most popular dish on our menu! The coffee, which I removed from your bill due to... More 

Key West, FL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Although this was just drinks and a pub meal, it was impossible to fault it. We made substitutions and changes to both the appetizer and one main course, which were accepted with good grace and a smile and done correctly too. What a change from the thinly veiled irritation encountered at some other places when changes are requested. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We are frequent Sunday visitors to this pub as we like its charm. As a vegetarian I have become disillusioned by the same item on the menu so today opted for a salad minus the panchetta. It was my decision to remove the pancetta for from the dish but I was astonished with what was produced. A small salad which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRvZ v, Owner at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

In reply, we use local suppliers for all our ingredients, vegetables and salads, it's all washed and prepared by hand, we would never use pre packaged imported salad leaf where the £1 cost probably reflects the quality. We are in business and our profit margins are no different to any of our like for like competitors in the area. Although... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We visited this pub on Saturday night with the parents after being told it was a must by a work colleague. We tried to book a table beforehand but were told they just do walk ins. On arrival we were worried we wouldn't get seated but this was not necessary as the dining area is deceivingly big. Although there wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

A favorite of ours and we are never disappointed! Lovely atmosphere, food, wine selections and service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

This pub is excellent. It is a great local village pub where you meet all your neighbours in a lovely Yorkshire pub setting. It is also a destination restaurant for families and couples alike. The food is consistently good, with the odd "wrong" dish that doesn't work, like the Linguine, but for the most part the food is excellent. Ted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Went on lunchtime with family and after half an hour driving to get there, I've been welcome at 2.15 from the waitress with a warm "Are you having lunch? - yes- We stop serving food at 2.30. The menu is on the table..." This is the first time we had a close look to her in the 45 minutes we've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRvZ v, Owner at The Scotts Arms, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for driving out to us for a late lunch. However as you have stated you were greeted in a friendly manor to inform you that food finished at 2:30 although the pub stays open all day every day. I cannot understand what your fascination was with the member of my staff, whom fully entitled to take a... More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We visited this pub on a Friday evening as many people had recommended it & reviews we're good. Sadly it was very disappointing. Having been shown where our table was, we sat down & waited to be served for 20 minutes as we had not been told we had to order at the bar. Several waitresses walked passed our table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Scotts Arms also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Scotts Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotts Arms

Address: Sicklinghall, Wetherby LS22 4BD, England
Phone Number: 01937 582 100
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wetherby
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Sicklinghall, Wetherby LS22 4BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wetherby
  • Phone Number: 01937 582 100

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Scotts Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?