We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mallams Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Seafood, British, International, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Trinity Road | The Old Harbour, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
+44 1305 776757
Website
Improve this listing
Today
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since...
Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the hands on owners make this a venue to remember. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 498 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 324
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Dinner

Great setting by the Harbourside. Good choice of cocktails, wine and desert wines. Good food and service. Have eaten here several times when visiting Weymouth

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Emma G
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great setting by the Harbourside. Good choice of cocktails, wine and desert wines. Good food and service. Have eaten here several times when visiting Weymouth

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, wonderful service and we'll definitely recommend and return 😀 The hake and the fish stew were marvellous, looking forward to trying more from the menu.

Helpful?
Thank TradHenderson
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed our food and service and look forward to welcoming you back, our new spring menu will be launched soon and we hope you will be able to come and sample some of the exciting new dishes. More 

South Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

visited on the night they re-opened and after the other reports I was looking forward to some great food. to be fair the scallops were exceptional, sweet and tender, perfectly cooked.for my main course though I tried the bass fillets which were a bit of a let down. the skin was not crisp it was still limp so ended up... More 

Helpful?
Thank rockhall1
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that your evening didn't live up to your expectation. We are glad that you enjoyed your scallops, we are every fortunate to get great seafood locally. We do not generally crisp the skin on the bass dish but if that is how you like it we would have been very happy... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We went as a couple and had a very pleasant evening meal, the food was very high quality and very tasty. The staff were great. We would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Adamwallis
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

As with the previous reviewer we also booked several months before and were surprised to be shown to a table " in the naughty room"! - featureless room at the back!. The restaurant being fully booked out with a large party we were surprised that this was not brought to our attention as we would have definitely re booked to... More 

Helpful?
Thank W0mbat
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you think our rear seating area is featureless. We have some rather nice pictures in there, some antique bookplates of cakes and pastries, some line drawings of the harbour side buildings and some collages. It is different to the front area but we hope people find it attractive. We did indeed have... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Booked about a month prior to our stay in Weymouth to guarantee a table after visiting Weymouth previously but not being able to get in. Sadly disappointed with our dining experience. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and we felt rushed to choose what wanted to eat, I am guessing because they wanted to get us eating before the big party arrived.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank staro710
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

We are as disappointed as you that you did not enjoy your evening. We would have been happy to discuss any issues you had with the quality of the food and drinks at the time and then we could have rectified any problems or replaced the things you were not happy with. Despite going back through our records we cannot... More 

Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Having heard about Mallams we booked dinner for my birthday, a week ago. I do like tablecloths rather than hard surfaces and we had one of the covered tables in the restaurant. Knowing that it was my birthday they had sprinkled silver "Happy Birthday" and cake, labels? on the white tablecloth, which was a nice touch. The dining experience is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manor80
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your positive review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your evening. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

We booked our Christmas works dinner here. A great set menu for the group. The food is very good, tasty and varied with a good choice of wines to accompany dinner along with a great menu of pre dinner cocktails. Surprisingly no butter is provided with cheese and biscuits? Service is good and swift with the location right on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julesmar
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Mallams for your staff function, we are really pleased that you all enjoyed it and hope to see you again next year. We don't serve butter with the cheese board but would have been more than happy to have brought some to you if you had requested it, it would have been no problem. Have a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

If you are in Weymouth and looking for a more sophisticated evening then look to further - we have been here for just 4 days and this was one of the most memorable experiences. Service was a bit funny at times but the food totally made for it - the courses were simple but very well executes with no faults... More 

Helpful?
Thank dim4iks
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the food and overall experience here at Mallams. If you could ring us and elaborate on what issues you had with the service we would be very grateful, we are always striving to improve what we do and any information you can give us would be most appreciated. More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

We went here on a Tuesday night on a visit to the town and had a lovely meal with very good service then returned again on Thursday and the service was slightly poorer but the food was not any where near as good! The steak was sinewy and the chips seemed frozen!! Not a £20.00 steak, while there one couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank gayj67
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for visiting us twice in one week, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much on Tuesday that you booked again for Thursday. I checked with our supervisor who told me that you didn't voice any comments about the food last night, we wish you had told us you were not happy we would have... More 

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 5 Trinity Road | The Old Harbour, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Weymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 776757

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 23 - 57
  • Cuisine: Seafood, British, International, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic

Description

Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the hands on owners make this a venue to remember. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Open Hours
Sunday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mallams Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?