We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nothe Tavern

Barrack Road, Weymouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    147
    70
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 NEW

We'd never have found this pub without tripadvisor, but we're glad we did. It's a bit off the beaten track - but all the better for that - away from the bustle and tourist traps and with views over the harbour. It was very quiet when we went on a Monday lunchtime and the terrace would have benefitted from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to us and your review, it's brilliant that you took the time to come and find us based on the strength of our customers reviews on trip advisor, yes the terrace area does need a face lift, well finishing of at least ! the job was started a few weeks ago and we were... More

Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

My Wife and I have had Lunch in the Nothe Tavern several times now when we visit Weymouth, and we have always had a very enjoyable meal. It can get very busy in the Nothe, so it is a good idea to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions on several visits you have had with us whilst in Weymouth, I am glad that you find us consistent with our food standards enabling you to enjoy revisiting us with confidence. As several other trip advisor reviews have pointed out, yes it is best to book where possible,... More

London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

Came to this place for pre-dinner drinks. Literally stumbled upon this place, as we were heading towards the relatively nearby Crab Shack Cafe for dinner. We wanted to catch the final sun and the beautifully positioned Beer garden did the trick with aplomb. What a view down to the Harbour! Plenty of seating and it's open aspect make this a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely descriptive review of your visit, it's always helpful for potential visitors to read enabling them to make informed choices prior to a visit. We are very lucky we have a beautiful view from our patio garden of the harbour and the surrounding bay, and lucky enough that it... More

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

This was a trip to do suss out for a future trip, we took the ferry across the harbour and decided we would have some lunch and we went into the Tavern. We ordered a ploughmans lunch and it was really bit, it had ham, cheese, baguette, salad and I think homemade pickle. It was I thought a little bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for your review, It's always a fun way to get to us using the rowing boat to come across the harbour, a very quirky unique service. I'm glad that you felt that our ploughman's is fairly priced, it is a very popular dish especially during the summer months, all our produce is locally sourced and all... More

Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have been sailing into Weymouth on holiday for many years, mooring up In The Cove. Last year we chanced on the Nothe Tavern after a walk over the Nothe and were impressed by the quality of food and service on offer This year we mad a point of returning, and were not disappointed. Delicious pork, beautifully tender. Smiling service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your custom and your review, I'm glad that your visit last year prompted your return visit to us this year and that you found our standards of food and staff to be as you expected, the pork belly is one of our top selling dishes people come in especially to have this, as you mentioned it a... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

On our first night in Weymouth we hunted down this pub as we wanted to sit outside. We found a table right at the edge of the terrace, overlooking the Harbour, with the sun just starting to set. The food was divine. The pork belly absolutely beautiful, melt in the mouth tender with a delicious sauce. The steak and ale... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to hunt us down and I'm so glad we lived up to your expectations, The view overlooking the harbour is beautiful this time of year especially with the lovely weather we have been benefitting from. I will pass your compliments on to the kitchen team and front of house staff, its always so lovely... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Phoned up and booked a table for four was so pleased to get a table as know very popular arrived to find table was in the bar area which was not told to us when we booked so not a good start as had people knocking us as we sat as was quite busy ordered and one of us had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

I would like to open my response with a massive thank you to all our team for their help and support to us and each other, last weekend saw one of the biggest influxes of visitors to attend the seafood festival the town has ever seen, tens of thousands of people came to Weymouth to visit one of the country’s... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We've walked past this pub several times over the past 4 years whilst in Weymouth whilst on holiday, not realizing that the exterior image does not reflect the interior! Much bigger inside and with a beer garden with a lovely view. Lovely staff serving gorgeous and plentiful home cooked food. We've just visited for the first time - it's Sunday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, I'm glad you made the effort to come and find us and we did not disappoint, we are a bit tricky to get to, following signage to the nothe fort is the best way as its all brown sign posted and takes you to our door. Sunday carvery... More

daventry
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Paid my annual visit and had a very good meal. Too much for me to eat. Got to meet minimum number of characters, hence this added nonsense.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review I'm glad you enjoyed your annual visit again with us this year, and that you found things to be of the standard you have come to expect, we look forward to welcoming you back again next time, Kind Regards, Caroline More

Somerset
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We found this place on TripAdvisor and we're so glad we did! We turned up on spec - the restaurant was full but luckily there were spare tables in the bar. It was a miserable evening, really wet, so I opted for the soup of the day, which was a really delicious mushroom soup. My husband chose the seafood platter.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and reviewing your visit, I'm glad that you trusted our customers reviews on trip advisor and sought us out, it seems you were really happy with everything you had, this is always lovely for us to hear. we look forward to visiting you next time you are in Weymouth. Kind Regards, Caroline More

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nothe Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing