We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nothe Tavern

Barrack Road, Weymouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 205 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    74
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

We returned to weymouth a couple of weeks ago headed straight back to the Nothe Tavern for a meal as good as we remembered from last year Try the chicken & Ham Pie also the Belly pork amazing. Although the opening times did tend to vary closed some lunch times just a board outside closed for passing trade on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

I'm sat in the Nothe tavern writing this review, I was visiting Portland and was looking for a Sunday carvery, so I Googled and read reviews on here and decided to give it a go. I certainly wasn't disappointed, when I arrived early evening it was very busy but they found a table quickly for me and it wasn't long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Dorset
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

A wonderful meal in a fabulous setting! I cannot fault the meal or the service we were given. As it was a booking for my birthday the staff had decorated the table with balloons and a banner which was such a lovely surprise. I had duck from the specials board which was delicious and my husband had an excellent mixed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Called in to the Nothe Tavern on the off chance with two hungry, thirsty children and despite the restaurant being obviously busy that evening the staff couldn't have been more helpful. After ordering some much needed drinks, intending to just take them into the garden at the rear maybe even treat them to a bag of crisps.... those dreaded words... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Terrible experience, after reading mixed reviews on this establishment we decided to take a risk due to it being close to our home. Worst mistake we ever made. Tables squashed in like sardines. Staff knowledge on drink and food was minimal. Food itself was okay, nothing special. Staff rude and unwelcoming. No check back on food was done. Will never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

this email is from the same group/ family as the one below, I will not be dragged into what ever this campaign seems to be ? your direct emails you have sent to me have been forwarded to trip advisor. More

Dorset, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We saw so many good reviews for the Nothe Tavern and were looking forward to the meal. We live close by but have not been there for several years. We were disappointed. We got off to a bad start as no one welcomed or greeted us properly. When asked what beers were on offer, the waitress told us it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

To give some reassurance for future customers who may be reading trip advisor, last week we served over 1000 meals, reviews on forums such as these form a very small percent of our customers opinions, last week we received 3 reviews forming 0.3 % of our customers feedback for last week, trip advisor does have an online tool allowing business’s... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Good selection of food on the set menu and Specials Board. Service acceptable. Varied selection of real ales

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us, I'm glad that you found we had a great core menu selection and were happy with the specials board and the selection of real ales on offer, I hope you take the tome to visit us again, Kind Regards, Caroline More

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

We paid the Nothe Tavern a visit on the 1st of September. This pub might not look the best but all 6 in our party (including 2 children) were all very impressed with their meal. The pies were great, as was the Chilli, and the Sea bass special was lovely. Great homemade food with portions big enough to satisfy the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your visit with us, I'm so pleased that all members of your party from children to adults had an enjoyable time with us. All our food is freshly cooked here by us, so its always a pleasure to read such complimentary reviews, I'm glad we were able to assist with some local knowledge... More

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We visited The Nothe Tavern twice while on holiday in Weymouth. Once as a group of 14 & then as a family of 4. Excellent service getting 14 meals out at the same time. Everyone enjoyed the food they had & were surprised by the size of the portions. I thoroughly recommend the stirfry & my husband loved the belly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Gerihen. Thank you for you review of 2 visits you recently had with us, its always great to get feedback and reassurance from our customers that our quality and standards is maintainable for small and large group sizes, I'm glad you all had a lovely time on both occasions, we hope to welcome you back again soon, Kind Regards,... More

south wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I booked a table here for Sunday Evening carvery based on good trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. There was Pork, Beef and Gammon available or you could also order a chicken breast, Plenty of fresh veg and roast parsnips, pigs in blankets, stuffing and Yorkshire puddings. The roast beef was tender and the portions were large ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Carrie, Thank you for taking the time to visit us prompted by a recommendation on trip adviser, I'm grateful you took the time to review your visit for us, Sunday is a very busy day with our ever popular carvery, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your food and time with us as much as you did. Midweek carvery... More

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nothe Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing