We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nothe Tavern

Barrack Road, Weymouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 205 restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    154
    72
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

Visited the Nothe Tavern during a mid week break in Weymouth and was delighted with the quality of the food. I had Cod and Chips and Mushy Peas and it was just lovely. Nice friendly staff and I will make a point of visiting again next time I'm in Weymouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
birmingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

This is a great Pub/ Restaurant. Book a table ahead so as not to be disappointed as it is very popular. the Carvery is great but the main menu is also very good I reccomend this

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had previously visited this pub a few times just for a drink on their terrace, it is a must visit in Weymouth for a stunning view over the harbour and beach. This was the first time I had eaten there, I knew it had a good reputation and was a bit more restauranty that other pubs so I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited The Nothe Tavern on recommendation from other holidaymakers I'd spoken to. Delicious pub-restaurant food which I chose to eat outdoors, on the terrace, overlooking (in between houses fronting the harbourside) the harbour and the sea. Very tasty, well-presented food, and in a great location, whether you've been to the Nothe Fort, Nothe Gardens or have just strolled up from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We prebooked a table due to all the good reviews however we still had a very long wait for our food. One of our dishes contained a hair in it, the staff seemed uninterested although did refund us this meal off our bill. The fish pie was dry and the meals was based on quantity rather than quality! The best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit, I'm sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I am pleased that any problems you had were dealt with and resolved quickly but I'm sorry you felt that not enough attention was given to you issues, I have spoken with the lady who served you and she... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked a table at the Nothe Tavern based upon the the positive comments and ended up being very disappointed. We ordered starters; The mezze was unimaginative- the potato skins were actually potato wedges that came smothered in so much cheese that you couldn't tell what was underneath and this came with a bread roll. Our main courses were disappointing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
middlesex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We pre booked as advised by other reviewers and were glad we did as it was fully booked when we arrived at 1pm. The pub appears rather dated but the staff were lovely and welcoming and we had a very friendly young waitress. Most of us chose the carvery option and we had a long wait until the other main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to the northe tavern on Saturday evening we got told to wait for 45 minutes then turnt out to wait for 1 hour we finally got our food and when my daughter was eating her food she manage to find moth in her chicken and bacon pasta they kindly took it away they offered new food for her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your visit, for the benefit of potential and existing customers I will add in the particular points that that seem have been missed out of this review. On Saturday night all customers ordering food were informed there could be a delay of up to an hour but hopeful that food may reach you sooner... More

somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We arrived on a Friday tea time having not booked but the happy , smiley staff were very helpful in accommodating us . The waitress took our order for drinks and then food and within 20 mins our meals were there , superb meal , very tasty , good quantities at a reasonable price . The food was excellent ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you brilliant review we are all really pleased that you had such a lovely time with us, we are incredibly lucky all our team are very happy and naturally obliging, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your meals so much and I will of course pass your compliments on to the Stuart & James, thank... More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I went to the Nothe Tavern recently for an evening meal and I can honestly say its now one of my favourite restaurants in Weymouth, and defiantly my favourite pub/traditional English restaurant. I had the chicken burger which was absolutely lovely. juicy chicken breast with plenty of chips and salad. All the others in my group said their food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolineandJames, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for your review it was such a pleasure to read, I'm so please that all of your group shared your opinions and enjoyed there evening with us. I'm happy we were able to cater for your deviations from the menu to allow for dietary requirements and individual tastes/preferences. All of our team are very happy and... More

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nothe Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing