We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose and Crown

Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
0870 330 5189
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Rose and Crown and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 310 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 98
    Excellent
  • 114
    Very good
  • 49
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
No complaints good food

Had lunch here. Weather was good and so we sat outside. The gardens are well laid out although there was some traffic noise where we sat. Staff were helpful and friendly. Enjoyed my Scampi and chips, the salad dressing was perfect. Worth another visit

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 21, 2015
KiwiJohn01
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

As we were staying at hollands wood campsite, you have to visit this pub. We last visited in April and it's still the same, lovely pub, friendly staff, great menu and reasonably priced. If the suns out then it's lovely to sit in the garden. Will visited again next time were in the new forest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a beautiful review and we are glad you had some time to enjoy our beautiful garden. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Had lunch here. Weather was good and so we sat outside. The gardens are well laid out although there was some traffic noise where we sat. Staff were helpful and friendly. Enjoyed my Scampi and chips, the salad dressing was perfect. Worth another visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on the business we are glad you had a great experience and that you have recommended us to all. We look forward to welcome you again. More 

Heybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Visited for an evening meal with two preteen kids, found enough on the menu to keep them happy. Shared starters were OK, a collection of fried stuff - Brie (nice enough), mushrooms (not much flavour) stuffed jalapeños (no heat, not much to shout about) and Nachos Special of crab & egg salad was off so had Mexican burger, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a nice time in our beautiful garden. We try to accommodate all tastes with our main menu and then our locally sourced specials boards from Local Venison to Sway butcher sausages, pulled pork, Lyburn farm cheese and our traditional fish and chips, scampi, steak pie and much more to... More 

Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

As we were staying in the area for a couple of nights, we drove around looking for a nice country pub for an evening bite to eat. Came upon the Rose & Crown, and decided to stop off. Very helpful barmaid told us of the format for ordering etc, and we readily found a table (inside) to sit at. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are very pleased you had a great experience and enjoyed our food and sitting in the restaurant over looking the garden area on such a busy evening. We would gladly welcome you back with the same great service. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

I had the pleasure of finding this gem on route back from a day in the new forest. The food was good staff helpful although very busy at times. The garden area was very nice and made a pleasant end to a nice day! Certainly worth a re visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing the review and we are glad you had a great experience and yes we do get very busy and all the staff work extremely hard and it' s a great pleasure to receive a review like this acknowledging their hard work and giving them the reward for such good service so we thank you for this. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Never expect too much from a carvery but have to say my beef was perfectly cooked - nice and pink, with a good choice of vegetables. Staff were friendly and the wine we choose was also good. Sat outside as it was a lovely day and waiting staff kept everything under control.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you and we appreciate your comments on our carvery, as the chef's puts great effort to deliver fresh seasonal vegetables and bakes with delicious gravies every Sunday. Our waiting team work long hours and always delivers great service with a smile and it's rewarding for them to receive great comments like yours. We do hope you will visit us... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Great setting, friendly helpful staff, the food is outstanding and reasonably priced, would definitely recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the business and we appreciate your beautiful comments on our food and service, we are please you had such a great visit and we look forward to welcome you soon again. More 

Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Visited on a Sunday evening in July. The garden is large and perfect for children who aren't very good at sitting still as there is plenty of room to run around! On the inside, there wasn't much of an atmosphere - just one big dining room. Menu was pretty much typical pub fare - scampi, lasagne, sausages etc. Meals were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and we are glad you had a nice time in our garden, to compliment our traditional pub menu we have our locally sourced specials board with local Lymington Crab, Venison and Lyburn Farm peppered Goats cheese with many more delicious specials to enhance the pub menu. We do... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Stayed at the B&B on a Friday night for one nights stay, went for dinner about 8pm and the place was absolutely packed (which I anticipated as it's summer holidays) Luckily managed to get a table but then had to go up and queue for 50 minutes just to order our food. I think it would be sensible to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for saying we do amazing food and you enjoyed it. Now with reference to the service and staff can I assure you we work as a very close team who work hard on a daily basis as a team and they are lead my us from been in the business 7 days per week during this busy... More 

New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We came here for a family meal a few weeks ago. When we took our seats a waitress told us there was a 45min wait which was fine as it was very busy. However we queued for 50 mins just to order our food as there was one person on the bar taking food orders and doing drinks. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and we are very please you said our food was wonderful. We do apologise for the queue but we do have 400 covers and with all full on a daily and nightly basis we are sorry you had to wait so long. I was horrified to hear the word rude staff as we get complimented... More 

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Brockenhurst
  • Phone Number: 0870 330 5189

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rose and Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?