We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose and Crown

Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
0870 330 5189
Website
Add hours for Rose and Crown and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 272 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 96
    Very good
  • 44
    Average
  • 28
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Lovely garden, good food, good wine

Enjoyed this pub. We couldn't book and when we arrived some people were kicking off about meals coming through at different times and the wait for the food but we had no problems. The staff did a good job handling some really unpleasant customers. We ordered at the bar and had a delicious baked... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 30, 2015
Philippa S
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

Enjoyed this pub. We couldn't book and when we arrived some people were kicking off about meals coming through at different times and the wait for the food but we had no problems. The staff did a good job handling some really unpleasant customers. We ordered at the bar and had a delicious baked camenbert followed by steak and ale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful garden, food and service. We would like to say a special thank you for commenting on the customers who were so rude to the very hard working friendly staff on such a busy day... More 

Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 NEW

All the restaurants and pubs in the village are busy on a Saturday evening, you need to book. This place was the only one that had tables available... We now realise why. 30 minute queue to order food, wine that was off and then tried to be replaced with more wine from the same bottle?!?!! I had to point out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for the review 1st I would like to say that "we are not a restaurant" as they have in the village a maximum of 40 covers in the restaurants and we have 500 covers so of course we would have an odd table as we did on Saturday evening and I say an odd table hence the 30... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 NEW

We were all made very welcome, the staff were extremely polite and very helpful. You had excellent choices of menus. The food was excellent, clean and tidy, it has outside dining too. We visited a few times last year. Excellent prices, would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for the beautiful review and we are very pleased you had such a great time and enjoyed you time with us and we look forward to welcome you back when you are next in our area. More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We have eaten in this restaurant when on our annual visit to the NewForest for the last seven years, it is consistent although not exceptional, the service is always good as is the menu and food. There is a reasonable selection of dishes and I have never had a reason to fault any we have chosen. There is a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for visiting us on so many occasions and we are glad you continue to choose us each time you visit the New Forest. Next time you visit we hope you will give us a 5* review as we are not a restaurant but a great British pub serving great British food with great service.... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Accommodated four of us plus two dogs inside as the evening had got chilly. Food ok and acceptable for the price- lovely gardens which we came back to the next day for a drink in the sunshine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, we do hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

Visited whilst staying in the area. The pub's atmosphere was nice and staff were very friendly. The beer was good too. The only thing that really ruined the visit was the food sadly. We ordered the nachos to start and then the sirloin steak and the salmon and crab fishcake. Nachos were ok nothing special. The steak was ordered rare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on the atmosphere and service you received, may I just say that regarding the fishcakes they are made on site from local Lymington Crab and are not a frozen bought in product and we have traceability to this effect, as for the chips we serve only a gastro quality chip and not an oven... More 

Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Called in on Monday Bank Holiday with friends ( We were a party of 8) & staff willingly put 2 tables together for us. The service was excellent as was the food.We were made to feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble.The wait was not too long either ( very important when you have two hungry 12 year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a lovely review for us and we are delighted you had a great time, yes we were extremely busy for the entire Bank Holiday but are so pleased you gave us such great comments as we strive to give great service and food even when we are so busy. We look forward to welcome you again... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

This is not a 'gastro-pub' but they serve great beer and have exceptionally friendly and conscientious staff. We had a couple of meals here whilst we were camping up the road. One night we overheard a particularly difficult customer and the waiting staff dealt with them brilliantly. I would give them 5/5 for their hospitality and very prompt service. However... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

We would like to express our sincere thank you for writing a review for us and are glad you had a great time, we shall take on board your comments and with the kitchen team we shall explore our locally sourced ingredients and work with new ideas, and when you return do hope you will sample our new dishes. We... More 

Sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Popped in here a couple of times over the bank holiday weekend and the place was very busy, despite that the experience was very good. The local ale on tap was kept and poured perfectly and the food arrived in good time and tasted good (you can't beat bangers and mash). Inside was very hot - almost too much, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of the business on a Bank Holiday weekend, as you said busy but able well we were extremely busy all day every day and it's great to get the recognition from people like yourselves who appreciate when we are busy we can still deliver great food and great local... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Walked in around 14:00, at the end of a lovely long family walk and made a reservation for Sunday dinner, 4 adults and 3 children for 6pm. Arrived on time. The pub and restaurant were rammed, long queues at the bar and carvery counter, frazzled staff unable to seat a table of 8 (mainly) residents of the hotel who had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and may we say as you stated we were Rammed your words,and we recall your table and you did not wait very long for to be seated. Yes of course we had a queue as you said we were Rammed but we are humans serving and I believe there was not one member of the... More 

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Phone Number: 0870 330 5189
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Brockenhurst
Cuisine: Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Brockenhurst
  • Phone Number: 0870 330 5189

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rose and Crown staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?