We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urchins

$$
Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Vegetarian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 Princes Street, Bude EX23 9TE, England
441288352783
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The restautant is a Bistro, so different types of food there. Very...
The restautant is a Bistro, so different types of food there. Very welcoming place, staff grand, Food wonderful
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 406 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 242
    Excellent
  • 85
    Very good
  • 34
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good food and open Sunday

We had intended to go for a Pizza, but the restaurant was closed and we were fortunate to find this place. We all enjoyed our meals. The Creole fish dish was fantastic.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 24, 2015
Steve P
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

We were going to write this review last year but never got round to it. As a family we went back this year and the food was as great, in fact even better than last year. My wife recommends the onion rings and I personally loved the mushrooms in a garlic and blue cheese sauce. Our children loved the chunky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

We saved eating at Urchins for the last night of our holiday as it looked like a great menu...well, that was a mistake. The staff were lovely..but the food was not. The garlic bread was the cheap pre sliced stuff you can get at any supermarket and the kids pasta was overcooked vegetables with a sauce less overcooked spaghetti. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Urchins1, Owner at Urchins, responded to this review

Hi many thanks for the review and Im sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. Im pleased you liked the staff they work hard and its good to hear they are getting it right. We use fresh fish, meat and vegetables all sourced locally so im sorry you didn't enjoy your food I wish you had said so... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

Ate at this bistro last night and although I generally don't buy into these reviews I felt this place warranted the effort. A truly splendid experience was had by my wife and I and our 11 year old daughter. Efficient pleasant service, marvellous food and a very reasonable cost. You really would be missing out if you pass this venue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

My dad found this place by luck because they do gluten free food. They were very accommodating, friendly and helpful! Best meal I had in Bude :) I managed to get a gluten free starter, main and dessert (that wasn't just ice cream!). Even if your not gluten free the rest of my family said the food was delicious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

The four of us wanted to sit at a table where the fourth chair was missing. It wasn't easy to take a fourth chair from another table, the waitress first had to ask permission. She did not really seemed interested and service took quite a while. Staff lacked teamwork and had no positive contribution to the atmosphere. A mistake was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

We were on holiday in bude with our 3 children (ages 11,7 and 2). We visited this restaurant and would highly recommend it to anyone. We had excellent customer service and delicious food. My youngest made quite a mess with his pasta but we weren't made to feel uncomfortable like other small establishments sometimes do when confronted with small children.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We ate here as a extended family (me, wife, kids, sister-in-law and mother-in-law), and we couldn't fault it. The staff serving were lovely, the food was freshly prepared and piping hot, everyone enjoyed what they had, and it was just easy, relaxed dining. Would recommend giving it a go...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

We had intended to go for a Pizza, but the restaurant was closed and we were fortunate to find this place. We all enjoyed our meals. The Creole fish dish was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Called in on the Saturday teatime,greeted well,professional waiters charming,taking orders,food hot and well cooked,I had beef lasagne,my partner had fish n chips peas,lovely,lovely ,no complaints whatsoever,and very reasonably priced.good night out all round.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Disappointing breakfast - we waited almost 40 minutes (without any explanation or apology from the staff) for our food to arrive and when my poached eggs on toast did eventually arrive the food was sub standard quality and poorly presented. This seemed to be a busy little cafe which was popular with the locals so perhaps we experienced Urchins on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Urchins1, Manager at Urchins, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and Im sorry we didn't get it right for you. As I recall we actually only had 1 table left when you arrived which was a table for 6 so we split it and you were seated. We were extremely busy when you arrived as you could see so... More 

Travelers who viewed Urchins also viewed

 
Bude, Cornwall
 

Been to Urchins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 Princes Street, Bude EX23 9TE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Bude
  • Phone Number: 441288352783

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 22
  • Cuisine: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Vegetarian

Description

The restautant is a Bistro, so different types of food there. Very welcoming place, staff grand, Food wonderful
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Urchins staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?