We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
01202 477283
Website
Today
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 7:30 am - 12:00 am
Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 106 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Ahh now we're talking!

pulled in on the way back from mudeford. Awkward spot to get into actually as its right at a place where road splits and you need to look and decide kinda quickly- but its WORTH IT Lots of choice and the people around seemed to be enjoying their as well. Only peckish, I chose the baked cheese... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 14, 2015
sheilah m
,
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015 NEW

3rd time to the Fishermans Haunt and gets better by the visit. I had pork belly, which was so tender and high in flavour, and smooth light sauce to complement, my wife had roast beef, carved warm it was "gorgeous" generous serving of vegetable, cauli cheese, carrot and swede mash and mixed cabbage. Giant Yorkshire puddings and extra gravy boat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 NEW

This was my first visit to the fisherman's haunt and after looking at their menu on their website I had high expectations. The menu is very fancy and sounded good but the food doesn't match. I had belly pork which had a tiny piece of crackling, a flavourless sauce and absolutely tones of unessecary cabbage. My father had a 'linguine'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Rose_P88 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fisherman's Haunt. I was with surprise that I read your comments in particular about the pasta dish as we don't have any linguine or penne dishes on the menu. We pride ourselves in always using seasonal fresh ingredients where ever possible and provide a fast... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

The Fishermans Haunt used to be somewhere you could get a good pub meal at a reasonable price, but they now seem to be trying to move up market with a fancy menu and inflated prices, we took a visitor there for dinner a few days ago and were very disappointed. The lemon sole off the specials board was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear PrimroseB94 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fisherman's Haunt. I was sad to read that you didn't enjoy your visit as we would have hoped and wish that you had told us of your disappointment before finalising your table bill. We pride ourselves in sourcing fresh seasonal food and where possible from... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

pulled in on the way back from mudeford. Awkward spot to get into actually as its right at a place where road splits and you need to look and decide kinda quickly- but its WORTH IT Lots of choice and the people around seemed to be enjoying their as well. Only peckish, I chose the baked cheese sandwich on granary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear sheilah m Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent visit to us. Lauren has had a beaming smile since reading it. We do hope that you will visit us again very soon. Kindest regards Chris More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

The welcome was very good , meal quite expensive,as had to pay for extras with meal as not included. very bad down side was when walking into resteraunt people were smoking in the entrances, therefore you had to walk past them to get in to the place.even though there was a smoking area else where, Not very impressed with that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Peter D Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fisherman's Haunt. We really value your opinions. With our menu being created by our team of talented chef's we are able to offer a selection of locally produced seasonal food, meaning low food miles, whilst supporting local businesses & employers. I'm sure you will... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I have stayed here a couple of times when visiting the area on business and have had a good experience each time. The accommodation is is a separate building with access either directly from outside or via a communal staircase. The food in the restaurant is very good and very well presented, the staff are efficient and welcoming. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear MGHUK Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Fisherman's Haunt to Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you recommend us to others, for our warm welcome, delicious food & a wonderful countryside location just a few miles from the centre of Christchurch. We hope that you will choose us again, when next visiting this beautiful... More 

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The friendly welcome and comfy bed would encourage me to go back. We had 4 lovely days, the meals were really nice, breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend this Inn and if you have dogs its not a problem, they are very dog friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Lindy K We were all delighted to read you review, and sincerely thank you for posting it to Tripadvisor. We hope that you will visit us again very soon to enjoy the local beaches, New Forest walks & of course our hospitality. Kindest regards Chris More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Visited here on the 15/4/15, my fiancé and I were warmly greeted by the staff. Service was good and prompt. I had the homemade pie and my fiancé had the pork burritos. We shared the chocolate marquise pudding, followed by coffee. All of the food was excellent, with a good selection of dishes on the menu to choose from. Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Davidbolderstone Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the locally sourced home-cooked food. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Many thanks Chris More 

UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We went here for lunch the other day , first visit but definitely not the last! The pub is very nice inside , feels like a proper pub not a big chain, at the same time it's clean and modern. The service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and all of our food and drink was brought out quickly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisnSoph, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear sonofcod Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your visit to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the friendly welcoming service along with the locally sourced home-cooked food. We are always looking to improve our offer & thank you for your comments. See you again soon Chris More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

A party of us descended on the Fisherman's Haunt the day after a wedding, and overall they did themselves proud. The food was delicious, with a cracking specials board , the booze was great, and the service was superb. The kitchen and the restaurant staff did an incredible job of catering for our presumably unexpected large party, and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Dan W, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Glad you enjoyed our locally sourced specials and the service the team provided for you and your party during your visit. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Many thanks, Lauren More 

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Haunt also viewed

Sopley, Hampshire
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Bransgore, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Fishermans Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: 01202 477283

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, European, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fishermans Haunt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?