We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
01202 477283
Website
Today
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 7:30 am - 12:00 am
Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 115 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 46
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great base

We stayed here for one night while working in the area. It was a comfortable base; the food was good and all staff were welcoming and incredibly pleasant. The room had all the facilities you need, including fresh milk, real coffee and bottles of water. The bar of Cadbury's milk chocolate was a nice... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 15, 2015
Ian W
,
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Add Photo

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 NEW

Visited whilst on holiday. Was a great little pub. Happy it was dog friendly. A good seletion of specials. The food was ok if not slightly expensive for portion size. We sat in the restaurant side which the staff kindly allowed us to do. Normally we wouldn't have been allowed here due to having the dog. A nice selection of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

If you look at our review of the Lamb you will see that we had a lucky escape when we were turned away 4 minutes after service ended. We went straight to the Fisherman's Haunt, a place we haven't eaten in for a long time, but what a joy. We were welcomed by staff eager to do all they could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

A pleasant place. The staff were polite. The meal was nice. No draught coke which was disappointing so we were advised to buy two singles instead of the pint we wanted, which proved expensive for the one doing the driving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We stayed here for one night while working in the area. It was a comfortable base; the food was good and all staff were welcoming and incredibly pleasant. The room had all the facilities you need, including fresh milk, real coffee and bottles of water. The bar of Cadbury's milk chocolate was a nice touch. The only negative was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Went for a late Saturday lunch and was very pleased with excellent friendly service. Having just returned from the states I was particularly struck with the high level of good service definitely far above the regular uk levels. Also the menus were very varied and imaginative definitely well above your average 'pub grub' fare. Not the cheapest but who actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Why the manager cant speak to customers is beyond me. Food was below average and overcharging going on. The Manager was far too busy it seems. Wont be going again for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear jooopla Your review confuses us here at the Fisherman's Haunt, myself & the management team are always available to all of our guests. We have all of our prices readily displayed to all of our guests both inside & outside of the premises and in addition on our website, we have no 'hidden charges', so I would hope that... More 

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Met an old friend for dinner, we booked as we had a small dog, she was allowed inside which was the plus point. The pub needs decorating and freshening up. The food was average nothing to praise, the service was friendly again nothing exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine W Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Fisherman's Haunt. I was a disappointed to read that we hadn't lived up to your expectations as we always to meet and exceed the expectations of our valued visitors through our friendly attentive service and our selection of freshly prepared seasonal produce served... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

5th visit - different food - same excellent level of service. There is always new things to try on the menu and the food always seems to be of top quality. I've yet to be disappointed by the food or friendly staff. Went last Sunday (7th June) after a lovely day at Boscombe - my partner had ham hock for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear ClaireFBSouthampton Thank you for writing such a great review, we are all so delighted that you have taken the time to tell others of your experiences with us. The whole team look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards Chris More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

As we were staying here for the night, we thought we would book a table in the restaurant. We were well taken care of by the girls who were waiting on us, they did an excellent job. As for the food, it was lovely, the Tagine Mutton with Apricots was yummy also the Fisherman's Pie and Gammon looked rather tasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte B Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Fisherman's Haunt, were all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, along with the service and our fresh food. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon to have another portion of our sticky toffee pudding. Best... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

3rd time to the Fishermans Haunt and gets better by the visit. I had pork belly, which was so tender and high in flavour, and smooth light sauce to complement, my wife had roast beef, carved warm it was "gorgeous" generous serving of vegetable, cauli cheese, carrot and swede mash and mixed cabbage. Giant Yorkshire puddings and extra gravy boat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisnSoph, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Dear traveller87HR Thank you very much for such a kind review, we all hope that you will be back again soon to enjoy another visit. Kindest regards Chris More 

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Haunt also viewed

Sopley, Hampshire
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Bransgore, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Fishermans Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishermans Haunt

Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number: 01202 477283
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
Open Hours:
Sunday 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: Seafood, European, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: 01202 477283

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, European, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fishermans Haunt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?