We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
lyndhurst rd | hinton, Christchurch, England
01425 277006
Website
Add hours for The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 67 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good venue.

Celebration of friends life on 6th July. Although overflow parking not well signed - not a real issue - venue lovely. Cups very badly tea stained - was surprised at how such a well run venue could put out cups that are so badly stained - not just one or two either. Can I suggest that even... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 17, 2015
questionerSomresetuk
,
somresetuk
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We had an afternoon tea yesterday for my Mum's birthday and it was absolutely brilliant. There were about 30 of us and the food was brilliant and the staff were absolutely excellent. It is set in beautiful grounds and would be the ideal place to have a wedding. Could not fault it

Was this review helpful? Yes
somresetuk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Celebration of friends life on 6th July. Although overflow parking not well signed - not a real issue - venue lovely. Cups very badly tea stained - was surprised at how such a well run venue could put out cups that are so badly stained - not just one or two either. Can I suggest that even with fine china... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The Old Vicarage provides guests with excellent accommodation and a fabulous breakfast. The staff are very attentive and the rooms are excellent . I loved my stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My fiance and I are getting married here next year and we decided to dine in the restaurant as a valentines treat. We were blown away by the quality of food and can honestly say it was one of the best meals out we have ever had. We cannot wait for the wedding and I think we will be making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We celebrated our Daughter and Son in Law's wedding at the Old Vicarage last week. We worked closely with Julie our wedding coordinator and were very happy with the way the whole day went. They were able to tailor things to our requirements and they accommodated all our requests. It is a lovely venue and particularly nice to have sole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I know everybody says this but I have to start by saying I'm not the kind of person who usually writes reviews but just had to in this instance! We had our wedding day here in September and Laura, Julie and the team were so helpful and accommodating. I had visions of my perfect wedding and wasn't at all disappointed!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Lovely private room, service excellent, food all home baked lots of it and of high quality. Delightful afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The food was terrible and very plain, customer service extremely poor. The two ladies who were in charge of the venue were very snooty and up themselves. Drink prices an absolute rip off, trying to get as much money as possible "Money Grabbing Business". Overall poor experience and will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheOldVicarageHinton, Manager at The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am surprised to read of your disappointment in your review. This does not correlate with the general good feedback we receive. It seems that you have an issue with just about everything. I fail to see how the staff could be "snooty & up themselves" and the "customer service poor". We are a family-run business, priding ourselves... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We were lucky enough to spend our wedding day here in Late August. The day was perfect from start to finish. The food was great, the venue looked amazing (luckily the weather held out for us), and the staff were outstanding. Special thanks to Laura, Julie & Josie and the rest of the staff who were professional, friendly and made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had our wedding here in March '14 and it was a beautiful day. Staff so very friendly and helpful and they are very accommodating. We had a winter package so it was a great price for what we got, food was amazing and the whole day flowed really well thanks to the staffs great organisation. Very comfortable and clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: lyndhurst rd | hinton, Christchurch, England
Phone Number: 01425 277006
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: lyndhurst rd | hinton, Christchurch, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: 01425 277006

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?