We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 131 Christchurch Restaurants

The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant

lyndhurst rd | hinton, Christchurch, England
01425 277006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 131 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We celebrated our Daughter and Son in Law's wedding at the Old Vicarage last week. We worked closely with Julie our wedding coordinator and were very happy with the way the whole day went. They were able to tailor things to our requirements and they accommodated all our requests. It is a lovely venue and particularly nice to have sole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I know everybody says this but I have to start by saying I'm not the kind of person who usually writes reviews but just had to in this instance! We had our wedding day here in September and Laura, Julie and the team were so helpful and accommodating. I had visions of my perfect wedding and wasn't at all disappointed!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Lovely private room, service excellent, food all home baked lots of it and of high quality. Delightful afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The food was terrible and very plain, customer service extremely poor. The two ladies who were in charge of the venue were very snooty and up themselves. Drink prices an absolute rip off, trying to get as much money as possible "Money Grabbing Business". Overall poor experience and will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheOldVicarageHinton, Manager at The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am surprised to read of your disappointment in your review. This does not correlate with the general good feedback we receive. It seems that you have an issue with just about everything. I fail to see how the staff could be "snooty & up themselves" and the "customer service poor". We are a family-run business, priding ourselves... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We were lucky enough to spend our wedding day here in Late August. The day was perfect from start to finish. The food was great, the venue looked amazing (luckily the weather held out for us), and the staff were outstanding. Special thanks to Laura, Julie & Josie and the rest of the staff who were professional, friendly and made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had our wedding here in March '14 and it was a beautiful day. Staff so very friendly and helpful and they are very accommodating. We had a winter package so it was a great price for what we got, food was amazing and the whole day flowed really well thanks to the staffs great organisation. Very comfortable and clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went on the off chance and was delighted with the rare roast beef selected. Not very busy for Sunday lunch but good value at £25 or thereabouts for three courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Everyone had a lovely time at the Old Vicarage. Ideal for us as the whole venue is hired out exclusively for your party. This event was for the wake after my mother-in-laws funeral. The owner and staff could not have been more helpful. We arrived the day before to set up a tribute. Buffet food was of good quality and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Overall, my wedding day at The Old Vicarage was amazing. The venue is stunning however considering we paid the best part of £7000 for our day, there were a few areas that I felt could have been dealt with better. Firstly, they took over an hour to serve all 100 guests with a hog roast - two people serving would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheOldVicarageHinton, Manager at The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for your kind e-mail following your Wedding day: Quote: "Firstly, just a quick note to say thank you to all the staff for a lovely day on Saturday. We had an amazing time and all of our guests did also. The venue looked beautiful and the food... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What can we say - We had our wedding at the Old Vicarage and from the moment we saw the venue and met the team we have been treated to the most amazing service. Nothing has ever been too much trouble, the staff are absolutely brilliant and helped make the day the stress free event that we wanted. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: lyndhurst rd | hinton, Christchurch, England
Phone Number: 01425 277006
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Vicarage Country House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?