We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde George Inn

2A Castle Street, Christchurch, England
01202 479383
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 127 restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
21 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    38
    40
    12
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff and good selection of ales. The food was good and was also good value. The only downside was that there were only two other people in the pub and this made for a lack of atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch and was so disappointed. The standard was very poor.....vegetables over cooked and almost inedible Yorkshire pudding dreadful! Lovely setting in old converted barn (the pub has so much charm) shame about the standard of food. We are locals and will NOT be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This has always been a good pub with brilliant selection of drinks however, the last month the pulled pints have had issues, flat lagers and cloudy ales. We go here weekly as a group but if they don't sort it out they'll lose our custom. We do take 'faulty' pints back and the staff are always apologetic and will change... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great little pub with typical pub food. the oldest pub around, so the roof is low! we had the fish and chips and scampi, both were great. prices are very good, proably the best cost around for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

With a very old worlde feel this place is a must on any pub crawl within the centre of Christchurch. With an array of local craft beers of offer and reasonable bar food, though it does not really excel with anything, it is ok for a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linslade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Exploring the town, we were looking for refreshment and a sit-down on a busy bank-holiday Monday lunch-time, and fell into this establishment. The courtyard was at capacity so we found a table to the side of the bar; despite the numbers, staff coped well with orders with, to my surprise, customers forming an orderly queue for service. We ordered from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have been visiting christchurch and the george for 20 years but never again had a burger that was not cooked red raw inside left it walked out and had a nice meal at the ship in the high st .such a shame to see a one great pub decline so much

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James V, Manager at Ye Olde George Inn, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for your review . I am very sad that you were not as pleased with your experience at Yogi as we hope for all our customers. We served over 200 meals a day this holiday period without any complaints. Why did you not talk to us about your issues to do with the quality of the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went in The George last night £4.70 for a pint of Estrella Damm, over the road in the Arcado Lounge £3.95. That really is taking the PIDDLE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went to the George twice over the week end and was well fed and watered,the menu is fair and offer a good selection for all. The pub also offers a god selection of real ales and beer but could improve on the selection of red wine,that said if you are in Christchurch it is worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Friendly bar staff, great time had by all. We will be back next time we are in the area. We didn't sample the food but it looks appetising.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde George Inn also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Ye Olde George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing