We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde George Inn

2A Castle Street, Christchurch, England
01202 479383
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 126 restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
21 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    37
    40
    13
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we decided to have a few pints before a indian, the pub is oldy worldy with great staff and a handy courtyard when the weather is good.cider was lovely but unfortunately the cask beer was cloudy and according to a few experts amongst us said it was off ??.staff didn't respond to the request to change it at first saying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Attempted dinner here last night and wish we hadn't bothered. Wetherspoons standard cuisine at very inflated prices. Staff are friendly but unprofessional. The real ale (for which this venue is noted by CAMRA) was cloudy, flat and warm. Take your money and hopes for a good all round pub experience elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff and good selection of ales. The food was good and was also good value. The only downside was that there were only two other people in the pub and this made for a lack of atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch and was so disappointed. The standard was very poor.....vegetables over cooked and almost inedible Yorkshire pudding dreadful! Lovely setting in old converted barn (the pub has so much charm) shame about the standard of food. We are locals and will NOT be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This has always been a good pub with brilliant selection of drinks however, the last month the pulled pints have had issues, flat lagers and cloudy ales. We go here weekly as a group but if they don't sort it out they'll lose our custom. We do take 'faulty' pints back and the staff are always apologetic and will change... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great little pub with typical pub food. the oldest pub around, so the roof is low! we had the fish and chips and scampi, both were great. prices are very good, proably the best cost around for what you get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

With a very old worlde feel this place is a must on any pub crawl within the centre of Christchurch. With an array of local craft beers of offer and reasonable bar food, though it does not really excel with anything, it is ok for a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linslade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Exploring the town, we were looking for refreshment and a sit-down on a busy bank-holiday Monday lunch-time, and fell into this establishment. The courtyard was at capacity so we found a table to the side of the bar; despite the numbers, staff coped well with orders with, to my surprise, customers forming an orderly queue for service. We ordered from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have been visiting christchurch and the george for 20 years but never again had a burger that was not cooked red raw inside left it walked out and had a nice meal at the ship in the high st .such a shame to see a one great pub decline so much

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James V, Manager at Ye Olde George Inn, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for your review . I am very sad that you were not as pleased with your experience at Yogi as we hope for all our customers. We served over 200 meals a day this holiday period without any complaints. Why did you not talk to us about your issues to do with the quality of the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went in The George last night £4.70 for a pint of Estrella Damm, over the road in the Arcado Lounge £3.95. That really is taking the PIDDLE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde George Inn also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset

Been to Ye Olde George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing