We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lounge

$$$
British, Wine Bar
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England
+44 1784 220999
Website
Add hours for The Lounge and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the...
Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 19 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Nice for a snack

When we arrived we were tired and hungry. we asked for a table for 10 the lady seemed overwhelmed and stood staring at a table for 10 with one man and his laptop. She redeemed herself and suggested sitting outside. My chicken and chorizo sandwich was lovely but the sharing platter that the rest... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 26, 2015
Babesb79
,
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

When we arrived we were tired and hungry. we asked for a table for 10 the lady seemed overwhelmed and stood staring at a table for 10 with one man and his laptop. She redeemed herself and suggested sitting outside. My chicken and chorizo sandwich was lovely but the sharing platter that the rest of my family had was stunning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback and I am delighted that after her initial hesitation my colleague was able to arrange a table for the ten of you outside on the terrace overlooking the river Thames. I am delighted that you enjoyed your sandwich and that the rest of your party thought the sharing platters were stunning. We look forward... More 

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

I have been to this place so many times either for Spa treatments or Lunch/Dinner. This time i was really disappointed, the quality of the food served was not up to standard respect to the rest of the quality they generally served. Staff seems a bit disorganised but welcoming and smiling, even if we felt like "this is your tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you have visited the Spa many times and enjoy the food in the restaurants. I am however, sorry that the offering at afternoon tea was not up to your expectations and the service a little lacking. I have passed your feedback onto the Lounge Manager for him to review with... More 

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

What a lovely way to spend a Monday afternoon, walking along the towpath followed by afternoon tea at a lovely venue. The sandwiches were excellent - great assortment, plenty of them and fresh bread. The scones unfortunately left a lot to be desired, being tasteless, dry and minimal sultanas. Good selection of cakes, and endless teas and coffees. Did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the riverside walk along the towpath before enjoying afternoon tea in the conservatory overlooking the river. I am, however, sorry that that the scones were not to your liking so we have passed your comments onto the Pastry chef so he... More 

London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Have not used at the weekends for sometime but use regularly during the week for business. The lounge is always busy - a testament to its location just off the M25. The service is always good, the food pretty decent sandwiches, wraps etc. During the summer doors open onto a nice river setting. As a place to do work away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you like the lounge overlooking the river Thames and close to the M25 to be the perfect location for your meetings away from the office. I am also glad you find the service good and the food decent. I have passed your comments onto the... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I booked for afternoon tea here for myself and my sister as a birthday treat. We were there for over half an hour before we were spoken to. Our tea order was wrong, it took forever to get some butter for our scones and despite asking for a plain scone in my booking email, I had to ask twice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Afternoon tea in the Lounge. I am pleased that you found the food delicious. However, I am sorry that the service was not up to the standard that we pride ourselves on at the runnymede. I have passed on your comments to the Lounge Manager so he can revisit any training that needs to... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Sat close to the lobby but quiet, looking out of the windows at the river. Lovely. Food was very good although service just a touch slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lounge at the runnymede. I am pleased that you enjoyed the views over the river and that you thought the food was good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a rip off this place is!! Having paid £100.00 for afternoon tea for our party of 4 you would have thought that you would get a tea to remember? Well we did but for the wrong reason, we asked if we could have some more sandwiches? Yes said the very courteous waiter but it will be another £10.00 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience and that you found our afternoon tea to be too expensive for you. We regularly conduct reviews in the area and our afternoon tea is very competitive especially as you are given a glass of champagne as well included in the price of £25.00 per person. The cakes are all... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I frequent this place regularly due to the proximity to my office and bring colleagues, clients and customers to the restaurant Our company even utilizes the hotel for both accommodation and it's function rooms So, how disappointed was I when I took my team and a corporate visitor for dinner there last night (29th Jan 2014) Firstly, sat in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Lounge and I am so sorry that the service you encountered was not to the standard you quite rightly expect from us nor to the standard we aim to provide for our guests. Our Bar Manager is revisiting the training given to the team and I am sorry for this lapse in our... More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Pestered as soon as we arrived - 'Are you ready to order ?' ( within 3 mins of sitting down ), 'have you decided what you're having ?' ( 2 mins later ) etc etc. When we finally agreed to 'order' we were met with a series of negative responses e.g. - 'No, you can't have a plain chicken sandwich.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therunnymede, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am pleased that the sandwiches you ordered were tasty. I am, however, sorry that you felt pressurised into ordering the standard items from the menu as we are always happy to provide other alternatives if requested and a plain chicken sandwich is certainly an item we should... More 

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner had a drink in 'The lounge' bar during our stay at the hotel. Early afternoon the bar was full of business people working on there laptops and taking up many of the tables and chairs, ignorant of hotel guests. Having found somewhere to sit we waited some time for table service before giving up and venturing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am disappointed that despite my answering this reviewer previously, the reviewer has made the decision to put a second negative review on a different page which I feel is a pity for the team here. As I have already responded, I do not believe a more in depth second response will be viewed any more favourably. My genuine apologies... More 

Travelers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

 
Egham, Surrey
Egham, Surrey
 

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lounge

Address: The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England
Phone Number: +44 1784 220999
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
Average Prices: USD 16 - 39
Cuisine: British, Wine Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
  • Phone Number: +44 1784 220999

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 39
  • Cuisine: British, Wine Bar

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?