We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lounge

The Runnymede-On-Thames | Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
+44 1784 220999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 45 restaurants in Egham
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: British
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    5
    1
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a rip off this place is!! Having paid £100.00 for afternoon tea for our party of 4 you would have thought that you would get a tea to remember? Well we did but for the wrong reason, we asked if we could have some more sandwiches? Yes said the very courteous waiter but it will be another £10.00 per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience and that you found our afternoon tea to be too expensive for you. We regularly conduct reviews in the area and our afternoon tea is very competitive especially as you are given a glass of champagne as well included in the price of £25.00 per person. The cakes are all... More

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I frequent this place regularly due to the proximity to my office and bring colleagues, clients and customers to the restaurant Our company even utilizes the hotel for both accommodation and it's function rooms So, how disappointed was I when I took my team and a corporate visitor for dinner there last night (29th Jan 2014) Firstly, sat in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Lounge and I am so sorry that the service you encountered was not to the standard you quite rightly expect from us nor to the standard we aim to provide for our guests. Our Bar Manager is revisiting the training given to the team and I am sorry for this lapse in our... More

Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Pestered as soon as we arrived - 'Are you ready to order ?' ( within 3 mins of sitting down ), 'have you decided what you're having ?' ( 2 mins later ) etc etc. When we finally agreed to 'order' we were met with a series of negative responses e.g. - 'No, you can't have a plain chicken sandwich.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
therunnymede, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am pleased that the sandwiches you ordered were tasty. I am, however, sorry that you felt pressurised into ordering the standard items from the menu as we are always happy to provide other alternatives if requested and a plain chicken sandwich is certainly an item we should... More

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner had a drink in 'The lounge' bar during our stay at the hotel. Early afternoon the bar was full of business people working on there laptops and taking up many of the tables and chairs, ignorant of hotel guests. Having found somewhere to sit we waited some time for table service before giving up and venturing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am disappointed that despite my answering this reviewer previously, the reviewer has made the decision to put a second negative review on a different page which I feel is a pity for the team here. As I have already responded, I do not believe a more in depth second response will be viewed any more favourably. My genuine apologies... More

Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a really good quality afternoon tea here, 2 people for £30 including as much tea and coffee as you can drink. We sat outside and place was very clean and well maintained with good service. I will definitely return for this offer in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you liked our afternoon tea offer for £30.00 for two people and that you were able to sit outside and enjoy the riverside setting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I attended an afternoon tea with some family members, having previously been to Claridges & Browns in London, I am aware of how an Afternoon Tea should be. I have to say I was very disappointed in the one offered to me at the Runnymede-on-Thames. The service was very slow & the set menu was very muddled. We were told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our afternoon tea but I am sorry that your experience was not to your expectations. Our lounge area can get busy especially if the weather doesn’t allow us to open the terraces and although I understand you have experienced afternoon tea at Claridges and ‘are aware of how afternoon tea should be’, we are... More

Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lots of choice very helpful staff very well prepared and well presented foo and drinks interesting decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you find our food to be well prepared and presented. I have passed your kind comments onto all the team so they are aware how much their efforts are appreciated. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More

Walton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Fabulous cream tea....just make sure you book in advance to get the best time slot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The atmosphere was that of a family one on a busy Saturday afternoon. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were all very friendly and attentive. The only downside is that they are on the more expensive side from a pricing perspective. Our meal in the Lounge for 3 adults and a 4 year old was £40.00

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

On both days we ordered soup which was cooked from scratch; large steaming bowl of soup presented with fresh cut bread on the side; on the first day leek and potatoe and the second, carrot and coriander followed by a freshly baked loaf cake - mmm yummy then cafetiere coffee and a mocha. The seating was very comfortable; we sat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

 
Egham, Surrey
Egham, Surrey

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing