We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Egham Restaurants

The Lounge

The Runnymede-On-Thames | Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
+44 1784 220999
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #33 of 43 Restaurants in Egham
Price range: $39 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I booked for afternoon tea here for myself and my sister as a birthday treat. We were there for over half an hour before we were spoken to. Our tea order was wrong, it took forever to get some butter for our scones and despite asking for a plain scone in my booking email, I had to ask twice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Afternoon tea in the Lounge. I am pleased that you found the food delicious. However, I am sorry that the service was not up to the standard that we pride ourselves on at the runnymede. I have passed on your comments to the Lounge Manager so he can revisit any training that needs to... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Sat close to the lobby but quiet, looking out of the windows at the river. Lovely. Food was very good although service just a touch slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lounge at the runnymede. I am pleased that you enjoyed the views over the river and that you thought the food was good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a rip off this place is!! Having paid £100.00 for afternoon tea for our party of 4 you would have thought that you would get a tea to remember? Well we did but for the wrong reason, we asked if we could have some more sandwiches? Yes said the very courteous waiter but it will be another £10.00 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience and that you found our afternoon tea to be too expensive for you. We regularly conduct reviews in the area and our afternoon tea is very competitive especially as you are given a glass of champagne as well included in the price of £25.00 per person. The cakes are all... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I frequent this place regularly due to the proximity to my office and bring colleagues, clients and customers to the restaurant Our company even utilizes the hotel for both accommodation and it's function rooms So, how disappointed was I when I took my team and a corporate visitor for dinner there last night (29th Jan 2014) Firstly, sat in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Lounge and I am so sorry that the service you encountered was not to the standard you quite rightly expect from us nor to the standard we aim to provide for our guests. Our Bar Manager is revisiting the training given to the team and I am sorry for this lapse in our... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Pestered as soon as we arrived - 'Are you ready to order ?' ( within 3 mins of sitting down ), 'have you decided what you're having ?' ( 2 mins later ) etc etc. When we finally agreed to 'order' we were met with a series of negative responses e.g. - 'No, you can't have a plain chicken sandwich.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therunnymede, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am pleased that the sandwiches you ordered were tasty. I am, however, sorry that you felt pressurised into ordering the standard items from the menu as we are always happy to provide other alternatives if requested and a plain chicken sandwich is certainly an item we should... More 

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner had a drink in 'The lounge' bar during our stay at the hotel. Early afternoon the bar was full of business people working on there laptops and taking up many of the tables and chairs, ignorant of hotel guests. Having found somewhere to sit we waited some time for table service before giving up and venturing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am disappointed that despite my answering this reviewer previously, the reviewer has made the decision to put a second negative review on a different page which I feel is a pity for the team here. As I have already responded, I do not believe a more in depth second response will be viewed any more favourably. My genuine apologies... More 

Surrey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a really good quality afternoon tea here, 2 people for £30 including as much tea and coffee as you can drink. We sat outside and place was very clean and well maintained with good service. I will definitely return for this offer in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you liked our afternoon tea offer for £30.00 for two people and that you were able to sit outside and enjoy the riverside setting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I attended an afternoon tea with some family members, having previously been to Claridges & Browns in London, I am aware of how an Afternoon Tea should be. I have to say I was very disappointed in the one offered to me at the Runnymede-on-Thames. The service was very slow & the set menu was very muddled. We were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our afternoon tea but I am sorry that your experience was not to your expectations. Our lounge area can get busy especially if the weather doesn’t allow us to open the terraces and although I understand you have experienced afternoon tea at Claridges and ‘are aware of how afternoon tea should be’, we are... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lots of choice very helpful staff very well prepared and well presented foo and drinks interesting decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you find our food to be well prepared and presented. I have passed your kind comments onto all the team so they are aware how much their efforts are appreciated. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Walton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Fabulous cream tea....just make sure you book in advance to get the best time slot.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

 
Egham, Surrey
 

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lounge

Address: The Runnymede-On-Thames | Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number: +44 1784 220999
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
Average Prices: USD 39 - 39
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?