We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lounge

$$$
British, Wine Bar, Tea Room
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England
+44 1784 220999
Website
Add hours for The Lounge and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the...
Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 17 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
A must for afternoon tea

What a lovely way to spend a Monday afternoon, walking along the towpath followed by afternoon tea at a lovely venue. The sandwiches were excellent - great assortment, plenty of them and fresh bread. The scones unfortunately left a lot to be desired, being tasteless, dry and minimal sultanas. Good... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
Eric960
,
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

What a lovely way to spend a Monday afternoon, walking along the towpath followed by afternoon tea at a lovely venue. The sandwiches were excellent - great assortment, plenty of them and fresh bread. The scones unfortunately left a lot to be desired, being tasteless, dry and minimal sultanas. Good selection of cakes, and endless teas and coffees. Did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the riverside walk along the towpath before enjoying afternoon tea in the conservatory overlooking the river. I am, however, sorry that that the scones were not to your liking so we have passed your comments onto the Pastry chef so he... More 

London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Have not used at the weekends for sometime but use regularly during the week for business. The lounge is always busy - a testament to its location just off the M25. The service is always good, the food pretty decent sandwiches, wraps etc. During the summer doors open onto a nice river setting. As a place to do work away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of the runnymede and I am so pleased that you like the lounge overlooking the river Thames and close to the M25 to be the perfect location for your meetings away from the office. I am also glad you find the service good and the food decent. I have passed your comments onto the... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I booked for afternoon tea here for myself and my sister as a birthday treat. We were there for over half an hour before we were spoken to. Our tea order was wrong, it took forever to get some butter for our scones and despite asking for a plain scone in my booking email, I had to ask twice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Afternoon tea in the Lounge. I am pleased that you found the food delicious. However, I am sorry that the service was not up to the standard that we pride ourselves on at the runnymede. I have passed on your comments to the Lounge Manager so he can revisit any training that needs to... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Sat close to the lobby but quiet, looking out of the windows at the river. Lovely. Food was very good although service just a touch slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lounge at the runnymede. I am pleased that you enjoyed the views over the river and that you thought the food was good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

What a rip off this place is!! Having paid £100.00 for afternoon tea for our party of 4 you would have thought that you would get a tea to remember? Well we did but for the wrong reason, we asked if we could have some more sandwiches? Yes said the very courteous waiter but it will be another £10.00 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience and that you found our afternoon tea to be too expensive for you. We regularly conduct reviews in the area and our afternoon tea is very competitive especially as you are given a glass of champagne as well included in the price of £25.00 per person. The cakes are all... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I frequent this place regularly due to the proximity to my office and bring colleagues, clients and customers to the restaurant Our company even utilizes the hotel for both accommodation and it's function rooms So, how disappointed was I when I took my team and a corporate visitor for dinner there last night (29th Jan 2014) Firstly, sat in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Lounge and I am so sorry that the service you encountered was not to the standard you quite rightly expect from us nor to the standard we aim to provide for our guests. Our Bar Manager is revisiting the training given to the team and I am sorry for this lapse in our... More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Pestered as soon as we arrived - 'Are you ready to order ?' ( within 3 mins of sitting down ), 'have you decided what you're having ?' ( 2 mins later ) etc etc. When we finally agreed to 'order' we were met with a series of negative responses e.g. - 'No, you can't have a plain chicken sandwich.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
therunnymede, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am pleased that the sandwiches you ordered were tasty. I am, however, sorry that you felt pressurised into ordering the standard items from the menu as we are always happy to provide other alternatives if requested and a plain chicken sandwich is certainly an item we should... More 

Hawarden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner had a drink in 'The lounge' bar during our stay at the hotel. Early afternoon the bar was full of business people working on there laptops and taking up many of the tables and chairs, ignorant of hotel guests. Having found somewhere to sit we waited some time for table service before giving up and venturing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

I am disappointed that despite my answering this reviewer previously, the reviewer has made the decision to put a second negative review on a different page which I feel is a pity for the team here. As I have already responded, I do not believe a more in depth second response will be viewed any more favourably. My genuine apologies... More 

Surrey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a really good quality afternoon tea here, 2 people for £30 including as much tea and coffee as you can drink. We sat outside and place was very clean and well maintained with good service. I will definitely return for this offer in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you liked our afternoon tea offer for £30.00 for two people and that you were able to sit outside and enjoy the riverside setting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I attended an afternoon tea with some family members, having previously been to Claridges & Browns in London, I am aware of how an Afternoon Tea should be. I have to say I was very disappointed in the one offered to me at the Runnymede-on-Thames. The service was very slow & the set menu was very muddled. We were told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our afternoon tea but I am sorry that your experience was not to your expectations. Our lounge area can get busy especially if the weather doesn’t allow us to open the terraces and although I understand you have experienced afternoon tea at Claridges and ‘are aware of how afternoon tea should be’, we are... More 

Travelers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
  • Phone Number: +44 1784 220999

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 38
  • Cuisine: British, Wine Bar, Tea Room

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?