We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Swayfield

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
27 High Street | Swayfield, Grantham NG33 4LL, England
+44 1476 550415
Website
Add hours for The Royal Oak Swayfield and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 146 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 109
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
ladies that lunch

I have just been to The Royal Oak for a sandwich at lunch time with friends. Its a lovely warm welcoming pub and the food was delicious. I had a steak and stilton sandwich which was really tasty and came with a generous side salad and crisps. Would certainly call back again.

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 23, 2014
elaine r
,
Bourne, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have just been to The Royal Oak for a sandwich at lunch time with friends. Its a lovely warm welcoming pub and the food was delicious. I had a steak and stilton sandwich which was really tasty and came with a generous side salad and crisps. Would certainly call back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are local and had food in the Royal Oak (under the new management) several times by now. Management, food and atmosphere are brilliant! The Christmas lunch was a delight, very well chosen food, very well cooked and presented. All the other meals we had at the Royal Oak were a delight too. Can't praise the Management and the Chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Well, I dont think I have ever been to such a lovely, bustling little village pub before. Granted it was the opening night, but the new management are friendly and accommodating and look forward to booking a meal there based on the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew L, Owner at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I know it is difficult to kick off again at what was once a good restaurant but tonight shows maybe they were not quite ready to kick off. I was disappointed not to be in a restaurant but in the bar area which although there were not many people in the noise was off putting. I have no issue with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew L, Manager at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Sirs, Thank you very much for your review. We have taken on board your comments and are looking to make changes based on your views. It is difficult starting out a new venture in an establishment that has a long history. We very much hope to see you again in the future and the changes that have been made improve... More 

Grantham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Booked here for 10 people because we had heard it was reopening and thought we would see how good it was on their first weekend. Happy to say the meal was excellent with clean plates all round, the service was also very good you would never have guessed they had just re-opened with no teething problems at all. They have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew L, Manager at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful furnished , traditional country pub. Friendly staff and people alike. Food was delightfully fresh and very well presented. Recently taken over by new management and its already got that great comfy inviting atmosphere. I would whole heartedly recommend The Royal Oak to anyone. The Christmas decorations and open fire were nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew L, Manager at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the re-opening evening of the Royal oak, Swayfield which is now under management :) Wonderful buffet and great choice of beers. Lovely atmosphere and place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew L, Owner at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked a night here for 27th July. They took our deposit on 4th June. Wrote to us on 4th July that they had ceased trading and "we have been unable to provide you a refund".

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
simon l, Manager at The Royal Oak Swayfield, responded to this review

We regret to say as per our letter that we have ceased trading We have informed trip advisor, however they cannot remove us from there website??! We do apologise to all, we can only advise for guests to pursue their card provider for a refund, as we have ceased to trade and we are insolvent More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

A very cosy setting. Lovely, friendly staff. Delicious food! Fantastic! A real treat is the fillet steak cooked on hot stones; gorgeous! I'd go back every weekend if it was more local.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hockley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a booking for rooms here only 2 days away- emailed them to book a table only to be told they have gone bust and tough we have taken your money. If I hadn't e mailed them for sinner we would have turned up from 100 miles away with nowhere to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 8

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Swayfield also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Colsterworth, Grantham
 

Been to The Royal Oak Swayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 27 High Street | Swayfield, Grantham NG33 4LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Grantham
  • Phone Number: +44 1476 550415

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 21
  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Royal Oak Swayfield and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Barleythorpe, United Kingdom
Nottinghamshire

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak Swayfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?