We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at Holdsworth House

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Holdsworth | Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
+44 1422 240024
Website
Add hours for Restaurant at Holdsworth House and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 109 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 17
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
April easter break 2015

We had a great meal with good company for a wedding engagement. The ancient house, staff, setting and food were all very good. The food especially the starters salmon/ lentil soup and the salmon for the mains was pretty delcious. Had to wait a fairly long period for the dessert. Despite the niggle... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 8, 2015
y0rkshire_0wl
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

My wife and I dined at the Holdsworth House Hotel restaurant on the night we arrived in Halifax. We are very pleased we

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW

As a special treat for my sons birthday, my daughter in law booked this for 4 adults and 2 children., 3 and 4 yrs. Told on booking children would be half price. Arrived on time but waited 25 minutes for food which consisted of finger sandwiches, cake and a scone each. Presentation was ok but my doubts began when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We had a great meal with good company for a wedding engagement. The ancient house, staff, setting and food were all very good. The food especially the starters salmon/ lentil soup and the salmon for the mains was pretty delcious. Had to wait a fairly long period for the dessert. Despite the niggle, we enjoyed the meal and made to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear y0rkshire_Owl thank you for dining at Holdsworth House, we are very pleased that the flavours and menu did not disappoint. We hope to see you here again soon. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My wife and I took our son and daughter-in-law for on overnight stay with dinner as they were great fans of "Last tango in Halfax". We were unable to dine until 8.30pm so pre-ordered in the bar to ensure quick service but it was still 55 minutes before our food arrived. Portions were quite small and the food was over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Patrick B thank you for trying the restaurant at Holdsworth House. We are disappinted to receive such a review for the date you dined. It is regrettable that we did not received a table reservation request, we can only assume it was a communication fault with your booking agent. Consequently you were seated as quickly as possible but the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Having been to Holdsworth house before the experience was not new, but this was the first for afternoon tea. There were more than enough sandwiches, cakes, scones and hot cross buns for the three of us + creams and preserves. The service was good, with prompt attention, no rush, little waiting. The location has a not overly large garden and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Thank you Philip P for your review of the restaurant at Holdsworth House. We are peased that you had a lovely afternoon tea and hope that you will return if in the country/area again, particularly as the gardens begin to bloom in summer. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My Mother loves Last Tango so we as a family took her to this Hotel. What a dissapointment. After being asked to wait with no real explanation we were eventually shown to a table which was a thoroughfare to the other rooms - not ideal. Tea and coffee arrived which was luke warm. 2 double portions of sandwiches and cakes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Thank you Peter G for your review, we note that your partner has submitted a similar review and we have responded accordingly. We are sorry that you felt let down but we feel that our attempts to rectify the situation on the day were made with the best effort and intent. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We were really looking forward to this visit as this was a belated Mothers Day treat for my mum, who loved Last Tango In Halifax. Which is why we picked this venue. The priced charged for afternoon tea was similar to other 4 and 5 star venues, however I'm afraid this venue did not measure up. Firstly we felt as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Helenmacgill thank you for trying Holdsworth House we are sorry you felt let down on this occasion. We note that your party was moved to an alternative table but are very sorry that your first batch of tea and coffee was not suitable, our records show this was served too weak (not too cold) and we happily replaced it... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Had a lovely meal at Holdsworth. it's not the cheapest place but your pay for the whole experience. Would recommend going for a special occasion

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Anna S thank you for sharing your review of Holdsworth House with others. We appreciate your custom at the restaurant and hope that you will return again for another special occasion. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Took my parents for the (Travelzoo) Rib-eye steak and wine lunch over Mother's Day weekend and had a very enjoyable meal with good company for an excellent price. The ambience, staff, setting and food were all very good. The deal was only for the one course and the steak was large and cooked to perfection. There was so much of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear yorkyld thank you for choosing the restaurant at Holdsworth House. We are very pleased that you had an excellent experience and hope that you will return soon. Keep an eye on our website for the latest dining deals. More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very professional and friendly. We expected to receive excellent food for our Mothers Day lunch however the reality was that the food was extremely poor. I have eaten at the hotel on many occasions in the past and received excellent food so it was a surprise to receive such poor quality food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Thank you nicolanoel for your repeat custom. We are sorry that you felt let down on this occasion. We shall report your experience to our Food and Beverge team so that we can assess what can be impproved. We invite you to get in touch direct so that we can assess exactly what you were disappointed with since many guests... More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Holdsworth House also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at Holdsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Holdsworth | Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Halifax
  • Phone Number: +44 1422 240024

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 23 - 53
  • Cuisine: European

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant at Holdsworth House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?