We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at Holdsworth House

Holdsworth | Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
+44 1422 240024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 231 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $57
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    12
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Attended on a Saturday night for a special birthday meal on 23 August. It was a shambles from our arrival. Car park was full, bar was full, reception area was a squash. We were shown some seats but then left for a good while before drinks orders were taken. These then arrived a good 15 mins later. Although we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We live locally and Holdsworth House has always been a 'mystery' establishment because we have never actually set foot in the place until a few months ago. We put off reviewing it because after our experience we didn't want to waste any more time on it. Not that we couldn't afford it, but we always assumed Holdsworth House caters for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Thank you Fuzzbot2014 for visiting Holdsworth House, we are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you expected and that your welcome was indifferent, that is certainly not guests' usual experiences. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss it with you personally and would be glad for you to call us on 01422 240024 to discuss your experience... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Me and 10 other members of my family had Sunday lunch here yesterday , for what I call expensive the lunch was poor we waited over three quarters of an hour for our starters then another 25 mins for the main . One piece of beef each and a Yorkshire pudd about 4 roast spuds and a small potion of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Booked an afternoon tea. Was warmly greeted and shown into one of the lovely rooms,. Very attentive staff took our order, all three wanted a different tea, but the waitress didn't blink an eye. The drinks arrived and whenever we needed either hot water or more tea.. No problem. The three tired stand arrived with a variety of sandwiches, cakes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Andrew5061 thank you for sharing your experience of afternoon tea at Holdsworth House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you got chance to explore the house and grounds - do come back in autumn to see the changing colours in the gardens. More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went for a meal with family, we were the only people in the restaurant, there was a wedding on, which took over the rest of the place! The dining room we were in was in a corner, but we felt to be looked at by people trying to find there way too and from the wedding and the toilets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Jane&matthew, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience of Holdsworth House Hotel. Primarily may I say how sorry we are that you were not fully satisfied with your visit. We take all your feedback on board and will look to enhance our offering for future guests so that expectations are met or exceeded. I... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have taken mum for afternoon tea today for her birthday.... Our table was in what can only be described as the hallway everyone there today betwean 3 o'clock and 4.30 would of passed us.... The service can only be described as awful....it took 15 mins to be asked if we wanted tea/ coffee and another 15 mins after said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Heather J, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review your recent experience of Holdsworth House Hotel, I am sorry that you were disappointed especially considering the special nature of your visit. I do wish you had given us the opportunity to rectify this at the time by telling a team member about your dissatisfaction, as we... More

Chessington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

food in the restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner. the sirloin steak I had was one of the best ever. Lovely surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Janice6958, Thank you so much for sharing your experience of Holdsworth House Hotel, we really do appropriate you taking the time out of your day to do so. Great food and service in beautiful surroundings is exactly what we aim for, and we do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to enjoy more of the same.... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A small but excellent menu. Four different starters and four different main courses all excellent. The pork cheeks were mouth watering. Friendly caring service and great Jacobean atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Will_Of_The_North, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holdsworth house. Thank you for your excellent comments and be assured that these are always passed onto our team who are always pleased to get positive customer comments. I am sorry you had trouble with your TV and housekeeping has subsequently resolved the issue in the room you stayed in.... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Holdsworth house is a lovely place and we chose it for a treat cream tea. Unfortunately it was very disappointing - slightly stale cake and bread with tea bags instead of proper loose tea! However the scones & cream/jam were of a great standard, let down by the rest of the tea, particularly for £15.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, Thank you for visiting Holdsworth House Hotel and for your review. I am sorry that the cream tea was not up to our usual standard, I have today discussed your feedback with the Head Chef who joins me in apologising for the shortfalls. We do have loose leaf tea on our afternoon tea menu and available, this... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to Holdsworth House on Saturday evening, there were 4 in our party. Service was terrible in the bar area, before our meal. Starters were ok we had Smoked Goats Cheese Mousse and pea and mint soup, nothing to write home about. The waitress was very nice and polite but needed training on the menu I asked for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review

Dear Soniaburrows, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at Holdsworth House Hotel. Primarily may I say how sorry I was that you did not enjoy your dinner. On 1st June we launch our new A La Carte menu which is on our Facebook page. Using the feedback you have given us we will look... More

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Holdsworth House also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at Holdsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Holdsworth House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing