We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn on the Beach Restaurant

97 Sea Front, PO11 0AS, England
023 9246 0043
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
10 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    64
    73
    39
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

The Inn on the Beach is situated on the seafront of Hayling Island and would be suitable for lunch, dinner or even just drinks. The staff are friendly and helpful and the menu was varied and really reasonable. I was really pleasantly surprised as the quality of the food as well as the portion sizes. I went for a starter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

We go here every time we come to Hayling island. Never been disappointed with the food or the service. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 NEW

Great views across the Solent, and lovely sunsets, also nice place to watch the cruise liners going off to there destination in the other parts of the world

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is excellant, friendly staff, lovely views from outside seating area. Good food, will be visiting again in September.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went for lunch on Saturday, 9th August. Our daughter is a regular customer as she surfs nearby .Found driving there very suburban but was worth it as the views of the solent and Isle of Wight fantastic. I had crab salad, not cheap, but plenty of dark and light meat. I was very satisfied. The others had pie of day,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carole M, Owner at Inn on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review. A mixed bag experience but glad you enjoyed most of your visit. Our calamari should never be rubbery! We will feed all this back to the chef here. More

Bucks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We visited this restaurant yesterday lunch time, the weather had been terrible and after being indoors all morning we decided to go out for lunch. We were quite early about 12.30pm and in fact were on our way to another place on the Island, when I suggested to my Husband we called in at the Inn on the Beach to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carole M, Owner at Inn on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

This is not how we aim to run our business and although a table was reserved, there is no excuse for impolite service and we are very sorry that this was your experience. August is a very busy time and whilst service levels should never change, in this one instance they clearly did for which we apologise. More

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are quite local and visit regularly throughout the year, sometimes as a couple and sometimes with the family. We have never had a bad meal either at lunch time or of an evening. The portions are always generous and the food delicious. The only point I would mention is that during August they need more staff behind the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carole M, Owner at Inn on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to leave this review. We serve many hundreds/thousand people a week and quite often only the negative leave reviews on Tripadvisor so we are absolutely delighted to receive your kind words. Very glad you love what we are doing here, consistently, which is our aim always. The staff will be so happy to... More

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's a lovely location where the inn on the beach sits. the views over the Solent are fantastic with an ever changing marine traffic. Watching the ferries and cruise ships whilst enjoying one of their well stocked bar items is great. The foot is well cooked, good portions and although not michelin star standard, goes down a treat. Well worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carole M, Owner at Inn on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Great to hear that you love it here as much as we do! Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and we are very glad that we are doing all the right things. The stunning views are the icing on the cake we get given every day. We are very lucky. More

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Me and my partner ate here at the weekend. We weren't expecting much from a pub lunch. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was absolutely delicious, the staff were friendly, attentive and all ridiculously good looking. The views of the ocean topped it off and made it a perfect lunch. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carole M, Owner at Inn on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

What a truly lovely review - thank you so much. "The food was absolutely delicious, the staff were friendly, attentive and all ridiculously good looking. The views of the ocean topped it off and made it a perfect lunch." This is EXACTLY what we are aiming for each and every time (although we don't positively recruit good looking staff, we... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Recently visited for lunch after coming off the beach, you really need to sort out your baguettes they were like bricks! I would have complained but nobody had come to see if we were enjoying our lunch. let me know when you get them in fresh and might give you another go!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carole M, Owner at Inn on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

So sorry that you didnt get the experience and food you hoped for. 95% of all our food is fresh and made on site so we have passed the feedback to the chef as we never serve anything but delightfully fresh bread! Hope you'll come back and we'll do better. Email carole@innonthebeach.co.uk if you're coming and we'll make sure its... More

Travelers who viewed Inn on the Beach Restaurant also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Inn on the Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing