We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

Edinburgh Gate | Edinburgh Way, Harlow CM20 2JE, England
+44 1279 442151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 90 Restaurants in Harlow
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Harlow. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Essex’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    40
    57
    40
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

We had hard potatoes and veg, the Yorkshires could not bite into. Cheap and nasty. Bad service - too many people for staff to manage

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely pub which we visited as it was next to the Travelodge we were staying in. Friendly staff, good food (carvery...what's not to like), excellent value and a nice beer garden if you get the weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great food,well cooked and great service and if your up early try the buffet breakfast fantastic value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Toby Carvery in Harlow, location is very easy to find ( Near the train station ) You will normally have to wait for a table, due to being busy.The food is always very good for the amount they are catering for. Staff always polite & kept very busy, a great place to go with family & friends. After your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again soon :) More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Visited many of these establishments over the United Kingdom. Can't really go wrong with a Carvery always good meat on choice throw in some potatoes & vegetables. Great value at £6.95 save some room for dessert thou

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

What can I say..it's a carvery and a good one. As a couple of seniors we normally like more fine dining, but when you are out with two grandchildren this place is ideal. Lots of families with children, so quite noisy and "busy" with little people being catered for. If we were on our own we would avoid, so it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

First ever visit, first impression nice inside layout good but it wad cold had to keep cost on. Food ok but very mean on meat, vegetables were not hot only lukewarm, if it were mot for the fact i had just landed from holiday and wad hungry i would have walked out

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support Team at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter. More

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Popped in here today because I was working in Harlow. Ive been to the Ipswich Toby a few times and really enjoyed it each time. When we first arrived we stood waiting to be seated where a member of staff ignored us totally whilst trying to figure out what her password or user name was for some sort of "tablet".... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Support Team at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Your review is very helpful, and we will take note of the points you made following your visit to Toby Harlow. We do hope you'll join us again when you're next in the area and please accept our apologies for the mash. More

Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went on a Saturday evening with a friend. They were busy but we were seated within 10 minutes. Got our drinks and we went up to get our food. Brilliant food and the staff were friendly too. Would definitely go to again. Great value for money too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went on a Wednesday night. Got a table straight away in a fairly busy area. Waiter,Josh, was really friendly. My husband had the carvery and I had a soup. Very nice and rose wine a reasonable price. Slightly odd that after we'd ordered and been served our drinks our waiter moved over to another section. Next waitress wasn't even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing