We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

$$
English, British, Pub, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Edinburgh Gate | Edinburgh Way, Harlow CM20 2JE, England
+44 1279 442151
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Harlow. When it comes to roast dinners, we...
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Harlow. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Essex’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
read more
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 219 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 53
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 49
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 23
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good value for family roast Dinner

It's nice atmosphere for family roast Dinner, very good value. The breakfast is so much more choice since it's open for breakfast last year, and it's very good value for money as well.

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2015
psands66
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

It's nice atmosphere for family roast Dinner, very good value. The breakfast is so much more choice since it's open for breakfast last year, and it's very good value for money as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Have been to the Carvery many times as the food is very good, Service is excellent and staff always pleasant and friendly. The prices are extremely good, hence value for money. I would recommend it to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Public Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that you're such a fan of our team at Harlow. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us and look forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Food ok cheap you get what you pay for . Cooked in bulk kept warm on trays under warming lamps not gourmet food but fills the spot for a quick breakfast or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Have been here quite a lot but last few times it has gone done hill..the meat is chewy,brussels so hard u would think they were frozen and the roast potatoes were hard as bullets you couldn't cut them,we got a free round of drinks in compensation for a bad meal..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We're sorry we didn't make a good impression at Harlow on this visit. We've emailed you for a few more details. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stopped for lunch at Toby, Harlow. It is difficult tosee how one stands out from another. This one was good - the portions of meat - and well cooked beef with a nice bit of fat - were more generous. Service was good and staff seemed happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you do enjoy your visits to us at Toby and particularly here at Harlow. We do hope to see you again soon. More 

Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We arrived at the toby about 7.30. We was shown to our seat prompt without any problems. The waitress took our drinks order and they arrived prompt. Went and had a carvery meal, plenty of meat, veg etc could not fault the service given. Will go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

It's good to hear both the service and food impressed on your visit here. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know and would hope to see you again in the future. More 

Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Never disappointed at Toby Carvery, great food, staff, venue, amazing value for money. Can't wait to visit again without burning a hole in my pocket. Thank You

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We're glad to hear we continually impress in Harlow for you. Thanks for your review. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Just got in to the Toby at 11.02 Breakfast finishes at 11 and lunch starts at 12 we were too late and they were clearing away....But the manager allowed us to select our food from the buffet and let us have toast etc the normal breakfast This was excellent customer service considering how busy they were and the short turn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear how well you were looked after on your visit for breakfast. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Had a family get together today so went to the toby for dinner. We have been several times before and its always been good. we were told on arrival to expect an hour wait which was fine as in no rush. We were however quickly seated with in 45 minutes. when I went up to get my dinner I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We like to hear when we've done well - thank you for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit. Apologies about the turkey wings. Should you wish to discuss anything with a member of our management team on a future visit, always ask. They'll be happy to advise you further. More 

London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Lovely staff very helpful and attentive. Gorgeous meal. Very clean.Always a pleasure to eat here. Nothing is too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We love to hear when we do well :-) Thanks for the lovely review and we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Edinburgh Gate | Edinburgh Way, Harlow CM20 2JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Harlow
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 442151

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 18
  • Cuisine: English, British, Pub, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Welcome to the Toby Carvery Harlow. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Essex’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Toby Carvery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?