We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Seafood, British, Healthy, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Opposite St Magnus Cathedral at 25 Broad Street | Orkney Islands, Kirkwall KW15 1DH, Scotland
+44 1856 874225
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children
Description: Our Real Food Cafe/'Restaurant is situated in the Judith Glue Shop opposite...
Our Real Food Cafe/'Restaurant is situated in the Judith Glue Shop opposite St Magnus Cathedral in the heart of Kirkwall, Orkney's main town. We are open Monday-Saturday 9am - 10pm and Sundays 10am - 8pm during June, July and August the rest of the year we are open Mon -Sat 9am -6pm and Sunday 11am - 6pm We specialize in home cooked local Orkney Produce cooked in front of you in our open kitchen, our restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere and welcomes all ages. We are licenced and offer a good selection of wines,spirits, local beers and whiskies. Children are very welcome at any time of the day and table reservations are accepted in the evenings after 5.30Pm. Our shop is also open at the same time so there is a chance to browse and shop till you drop as well. Join our Facebook page or visit our website to find out all about us!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 270 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 130
    Excellent
  • 96
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Hidden Gem

We actually went into the Judith Glue shop for a look at their sale enroute to somewhere else for lunch. Realised the cafe was there, and went no further! Great local food, reasonably priced

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 9, 2016
Tink802
,
Perth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

We actually went into the Judith Glue shop for a look at their sale enroute to somewhere else for lunch. Realised the cafe was there, and went no further! Great local food, reasonably priced

Helpful?
Thank Tink802
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our food - we try and source as much as possible locally and it is prepared on the premises in our open kitchen - hope you come back and pay us another visit sometime soon ! More 

Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Since I am gluten-free, eating out can present problems, but there were available options here when we decided to lunch in Kirkwall. The position is very convenient, opposite St. Magnus' Cathedral, and the food did not disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank Gill T
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

We always try to have some gluten free and Vegetarian options and are always happy to change anything to suit our customers. We are glad we didnt disappoint and you enjoyed your visit More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

I was recently attending some business workshops in the near by St. Magnus Centre a was recommended this cafe for lunch and I was not disappointed. There is a wide ranging menu, all promoting fresh local produce. I decided as I was tight for time to have a only grabbed a cheese and chutney sandwich, but it was blooming brilliant!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
OrkneyJudith, Manager at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

l will let our hard working Kitchen team know about your lovely comments thank you for giving us a top review ! More 

South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Had a lovely snack here but it was a bit pricey. Set within the retail shop which stocks many Scottish made crafts.

Helpful?
Thank Umgababa
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

All our food is bought locally and prepared in our small kitchen by our dedicated Kitchen team. Thank you for giving us 5 stars even although you thought we were a bit pricey ! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

Three of us popped in for a quick lunch and ordered sandwiches. The bread was thick cut and very fresh. The various fillings are sourced locally and everyone was pleased with their choice.

Helpful?
Thank hev_p611
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit we only use fresh local produce and make our own fillings we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Thank you for your positive review. More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Very good selection of food , dishes all made to order so don't be in a hurry. But local produce used to full effect, well presented. You find it at the back of a shop selling gifts and clothes etc. Most enjoyable, reasonable mid range prices.

Helpful?
Thank eunice h
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

Its always great to receive a 5 star review and our staff really appreciate it. As you mention we do not do fast food as dishes are made to order. Thank you very again for your very positive comments. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Four of us went to The Real Food Café and Restaurant for lunch at 12.45pm, after our visit to St Magnus Cathedral After going through the menu, I ordered the Orkney prime burger and tea at the counter. The prime burger was quite good, better than most burgers that I have tasted in the UK. Service was a little slow.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nelumbo-Nucifera
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very sorry you felt we were slow in serving you - we have a very small kitchen and everything is prepared on the spot so when we are very busy as was the day you visited us it is not always easy to get the food out quick enough. But you do seemed to have enjoyed our food.... More 

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Food generally good but my side salad contained small tree leaves. No question. As an ex chef I know salad from inedible leaves. These were inedible. I raised with the waitress who insisted they were salad leaves. I'm quite sure they were redcurrant bush leaves. Let the place down on this visit.

Helpful?
Thank Revatron
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

Strangely and oddly enough we did seem to receive odd leaves in our salad selections for a few days.l am so sorry the waitress argued the point she should of course apologized straight away to you. l do hope this does not put you off from having a return visit to us. l will certainly bring this up with our... More 

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Visited this cafe twice and got a completely different experience each time. The first time we almost walked out but persevered as we needed a rest and Kirkwall isn't well endowed with cafes. The woman who served us was very impatient and unfriendly. The second time we were served by a lovely young girl who couldn't have been more helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 312mari
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

l am so sorry you did not have a welcoming experience on both occasions and can only apologize unreservedly. l do hope we can be more helpful and patient next time if you decide to revisit us. More 

Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

We came here on three days in a row while we were in Orkney. Twice for lunch - very good soup, nice quiche with wonderful salad and the bere bannock was the best we had on the island - or just for a noughty hot chocolate. Nice place to sit and relax or plan the next trip.

Helpful?
Thank SCO15
OrkneyJudith, Owner at The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 star review it is very heartening for our hard working team to be able to read your positive comments. More 

Travelers who viewed The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Opposite St Magnus Cathedral at 25 Broad Street | Orkney Islands, Kirkwall KW15 1DH, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Orkney Islands  >  Mainland  >  Kirkwall
  • Phone Number: +44 1856 874225

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 17
  • Cuisine: Seafood, British, Healthy, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Our Real Food Cafe/'Restaurant is situated in the Judith Glue Shop opposite St Magnus Cathedral in the heart of Kirkwall, Orkney's main town. We are open Monday-Saturday 9am - 10pm and Sundays 10am - 8pm during June, July and August the rest of the year we are open Mon -Sat 9am -6pm and Sunday 11am - 6pm We specialize in home cooked local Orkney Produce cooked in front of you in our open kitchen, our restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere and welcomes all ages. We are licenced and offer a good selection of wines,spirits, local beers and whiskies. Children are very welcome at any time of the day and table reservations are accepted in the evenings after 5.30Pm. Our shop is also open at the same time so there is a chance to browse and shop till you drop as well. Join our Facebook page or visit our website to find out all about us!
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Real Food Cafe and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?