We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hightae Inn (Restaurant)

High Road | Hightae, Lockerbie, Scotland
+44 1387 811711
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A great little Restaurant with rooms open for Evening Suppers 6 nights a week (closed Mondays) and 5 nights a week in the winter (closed Mondays & Tuesdays, October-February) serving locally sourced home cooked food to order in our cosy lounge bar. As we only have a limited number of covers and the table is yours for the night, booking really is essential.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    48
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

Having worked in Lockerbie for the last couple of months, and mainly eating in my hotel, I decided to check out Tripadvisor, the Hightae Inn had great reviews so off I went, located in the tiny village I was unsure that I had the right place on arrival, a relatively small 'pub' was all that greeted me, but looks can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Thanks for coming over to Hightae and eating with us and so glad you enjoyed our food. Give us a call next time you're planning a trip - delighted to have you back. Cheers M&M More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very overpriced and disappointing! Limited choice and no children's menu! Starter miniscule and the plastic still wrapped around the black pudding. Chicken pie Ok apart from size and pastry burnt. Fillet of Sea Bass was full of bones and a good vet could have got the medium well steak back on its feet. To be fair the owner waived the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

We’re sorry your family didn’t enjoy the experience. Our customer base is such that there has never been a need for a specific children’s menu, however as explained at the time, we are able to offer 3-4 of our main meals on a smaller portion size. Our regulars like the fact that our menu is small but perfectly formed (you’d... More

bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were lucky to be able to get a table on a Saturday night. Not normally being a fan of lamb I was persuaded to try it as it was in season and I was not disappointed, it was the best lamb I've ever tasted. All the dishes were beautifully cooked and presented. The welcome was warm and we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

....How great thou art.........Many thanks for eating with us. M&M More

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a friend staying for the weekend and took her to the Hightae Inn on Saturday 3rd May 2014. The three of us had an excellent meal and having visited this restaurant a few times in the past I'd have to say that the food here is consistently good. We enjoyed a lovely relaxed evening and we will return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Good to see you again Callum and delighted you enjoy the food and surroundings here. Hope to see you again soon. More

Stourbridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were on an overnight stay at another local b&b who managed to book a table here for us on Thursday evening. We were certainly not disappointed. The welcome was really warm and the food was absolutely superb, first class! Sensibly priced sensibly portioned but more than tasty! We will certainly return when we stay with Heather and Martin again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

So glad you made the journey over from Heather & Martin's to eat with us and hope to see you again. More

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great service, husband & wife team are fab. Locally sourced seasonal food so not pages of menu to read, just fantastic cooking. Never taken children, led to believe they will do half portions, as no 'kids menu'. Lovely warm atmosphere, with wood burner and plenty of whiskies to try! Staff knowledgeable about area and where raw ingredients come from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Thanks for discovering us and spreading the word on TripAdvisor - we're so glad you enjoyed the place and the food. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers Morag & Mark, The Hightae Inn. More

Newmilns, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A small but well selected menu. All food is cooked to order by Morag. I had warm Blackpudding and Beetroot salad, followed by the slow cooked Pork and just couldn't say no to a pudding so had Lemon Posset. My husband had the smoked Salmon, followed by Sirloin steak and amazingly also had a pudding of Sticky Toffee pudding. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - it's great that you found us and enjoyed your Evening Supper here in Hightae. Next time you're heading down the A74 give us a call and pop in for some food again. Kind regards Morag & Mark, The Hightae Inn. More

carlisle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Me and my wife ate dinner here Fri 4th April. Mark made us both very welcome and was very attentive and helpful. The food was excellent. I had the 5 hour slow cooked pork and my wife had the Salmon in a coconut milk, mint and coriander sauce. You cannot fault the food or indeed the service. You are not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Extremely happy you enjoyed your evening supper with us - the slow cooked Pork really is a wee bit special. We hope to see you again soon. Morag & Mark Cuthbertson, The Hightae Inn. More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Arrived at restaurant at 6pm with the sign saying this was the time food would be served. The man behind the bar who hardly looked at us said we are fully booked even though there was no one in the place. He then attempted a sarcastic joke along the lines of ,you should have rang ahead so I could tell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to place the review - we're sorry you feel put out. I understand you found us on TripAdvisor and our listing does suggest you phone ahead to book a table as we're just a small eatery with a limited number of tables. We work on the basis that when eating with us, the table is... More

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

food is consistently good, with good service, sometimes portions a bit on small side for some, would go more often if there were special deals or offers as it works out quite expensive for 2/3 courses and drinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
StereoMCs, Owner at The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor - we're really pleased you enjoyed your evening supper here at The Hightae Inn. We source all our meat, fish and veg from local suppliers and never compromise in terms of the quality of food on offer. We're sorry you weren't entirely happy with portion sizes, however our... More

Travelers who viewed The Hightae Inn (Restaurant) also viewed

Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Hightae Inn (Restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hightae Inn (Restaurant), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing