We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mio

2, Station Road, Loughborough LE12 8BS, England
01509 414979
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 169 restaurants in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
11 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    53
    21
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 NEW

After some problems regarding the time of our booking (it had been brought forward by 45 minutes, without telling us until the day before our meal) we were warmly greeted in the bar by three older members of staff; despite our other friends' delay in arriving due to the time being changed last minute, they were very friendly. As a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went for a treat at lunchtime and not disappointed , the ciabattas were wonderful and pudding was yummy ! The waitress was very attentive and all for under £ 30 !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I cannot fault this restaurant. We have been as a couple and also for family birthdays several times. Everytime we have been made to feel special and the food has always been great. My partner and I went in for Lunch recently and I could not fault the food. Usually the 'typical' bolognese in other restaurants is a dollop of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

When we visited this restaurant at the beginning of February 2014, the food was amazing, the place was fully booked. The chef came out for a chat at the end of our meal and was very pleased with our comments. We returned on 5th April knowing the Chef has left & now based at ( we believe) San Carlos in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MioRestaurant, Owner at Mio, responded to this review

Although this review is obviously written by friends of the chef who no longer works at Mio (how else do they know where he is working) they are wrong when they say we have all new chefs. Actually they have all been working for us for several months & were certainly all with us when they came in February. In... More

Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We ended up going here on a very rainy day in Quorn. It was pretty good food... we all had their ciabattas for lunch - although my wife may have had a bad experience with the smoked salmon later that evening (can't be sure though). The look of the restaurant is pretty unexpected from the outside... very cool ambiance. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to Mio's for my daughters 18th Birthday Dinner and I couldn't be more pleased. We were welcomed on arrival, which was jovial and friendly, the excellent service lasted the whole evening. The starters we ordered were lovely and of a generous size, I enjoyed the mussels, and one of the table had the antipasti which was of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Well we enjoyed our evening. It was a busy Saturday night and the place was full, we were made to feel welcome and everything we ate was very tasty. Washed down with some decent wine. No complaints from us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Worse valentines night ever steak terrible medium rare does not mean burnt and crispy rude staff avoid much better places near by

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MioRestaurant, Owner at Mio, responded to this review

I have asked Tripadvisor to remove this review as we do not believe these people were in our restaurant on Valentines night but they say they can't!! so I leave it to our genuine customers & people viewing this review to make their own minds up, who would have ordered a medium rare steak, been given burnt & crispy &... More

Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My partner booked for Valentine's night at least a week before the day. We arrived and said we'd booked for 7pm. The woman looked at her 7pm page and his name wasn't there. He said he had booked and they had taken his credit card details. She said they all say that! She looked further back in the book and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MioRestaurant, Owner at Mio, responded to this review

First of all we agree that your booking had not been transferred on to the sheet, this was the managers responsibility & he got it wrong on this occasion. A lot of our bookings were taken well over 2 weeks prior to Valentines day & the first bookings get priority on seating, not the first people to arrive. We do... More

Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just moved to the area and are still unfamiliar with the surrounding restaurants etc so booked Mio for Valentines Day based on the positive reviews we'd read on Trip Advisor. I can honestly say it was the worst experience I'd ever had at a restaurant and I will be contacting the manager today and asking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MioRestaurant, Owner at Mio, responded to this review

Before I address the points made by this customer I would just like to say that all the staff at Mio worked their socks off on Valentines night as we were extremely busy & to receive a review like this is very demoralising & totally unnecessary. We did 80 covers, 43 of them were steaks, & only had one complaint... More

Travelers who viewed Mio also viewed

Loughborough, Leicestershire
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Quorn, Leicestershire
 

Been to Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing