We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

$$
English, Grill, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Christchurch Rd, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
01590718104
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 115 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Better than expected - worth a visit

Good evening meals all at a fair price with friendly service and some nice beers and wines. Had an excellent mixed grill and chicken special. Very busy on a fri night so book as I sense the pub is back on the local scene. Well done to her new owners a very good experience.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2015
Ian B
,
Fareham, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Good evening meals all at a fair price with friendly service and some nice beers and wines. Had an excellent mixed grill and chicken special. Very busy on a fri night so book as I sense the pub is back on the local scene. Well done to her new owners a very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Popped in yesterday for lunch and was pleasant surprised. The oak has had a few problems with previous owners but these guys seem to be doing something right. The restaurant was full and had a great atmosphere, real fires lit around the place and other happy looking diners. I could tell our waitress was busy but the service didn't suffer,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Over the last 30 years we have frequented the Royal Oak, but in recent years we have visited less often. Today's experience did nothing to encourage us back to eat any time soon. I had phoned in advance to ask about vegetarian roast options and the landlady was very accommodating - apart from not being able to offer what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you were disappointed, and we do value your opinion and will take necessary steps to ensure these issues are addressed. More 

New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We returned out of curiousity having been regular visitors up to three years ago, when all went downhill. It was a very happy return,the welcome, food and service was excellent, it was good to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit. Appreciate you taking the time out to post a review. More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We called in here one lunch time as we were staying nearby on a short break. We were greeted by a very friendly man who checked where we would like to sit and kindly lit the fire for us. My partner had the smoked ham.which he really enjoyed. I was intrigued by the Beer Can Chicken. Our hostess (who was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie M, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

I am very happy you enjoyed your meal, I appreciate the feedback on the Chicken and will endeavor to find out why there was no flavor of the beer. Happy it did not spoil your visit. More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I phoned the RO, at 11:00, to see if they could accommodate us for a birthday meal at 15:00 at first they were unsure if the chef could stay on but when I phoned again about an hour later he had been persuaded. We arrived and were greeted by a friendly waitress who showed us to our table, drink order... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

I am so happy you enjoyed your meal and your visit with us. I apologize for the Lemon Meringue, happy to say it is now in. I look forward to your next visit and the Lemon Meringue pie will be on us. Thanks once more for your review, we truly appreciate any feedback. More 

Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Went for lunch with my husband. The restaurant was very quiet (only two other tables taken) so the service should have been good. The waitress (also owner) was so friendly and charming. Cannot say the same about her husband! He appeared to be disinterested. Shame as they have only just taken the pub over. We shared the starter which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it. I am very sorry about your husbands Steak. I would have been more than happy to cook you a fresh one had I known. I cannot apologize enough, unfortunately we were at the end of a busy shift and are a little short... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We really enjoyed our meal here. Good choice of home cooked food on menu. The new owners gave a warm & friendly welcome and very good service. If you want a good meal at a reasonable price this is the place to go. We will definately be going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie M, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to post it and very happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you More 

Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I have had Carl and Debbie's cooking many times over the years, and as an American Southerner, I can tell you that their BBQ Ribs and Beer Can-Chicken are the real deal! Get in there, grab a pint, and enjoy some finger-lickin' good grub today! Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The new landlady and landlord make a perfect team for this pub which has had a few issues over the last couple of years. With this new blood they have brought the pub back from the brink of extinction. So in summary great staff, great food and one of the welcoming child and dog friendly pubs you are ever likely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing review. We are very committed to the community here and love the feedback. Thanks again for taking the time to review the Royal Oak More 

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park
Lymington, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Christchurch Rd, New Forest National Park, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park  >  Lymington
  • Phone Number: 01590718104

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 18
  • Cuisine: English, Grill, Pub
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Royal Oak and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?