We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
West Beach,, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
+44 1253 739898
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Clifton Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 46 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Afternoon tea

We arrived early,( I must have got the time wrong) and were told by a 'retired' gentleman that afternoon tea doesn't start until 3.30pm...not friendly and a tad surly..anyway, he didn't approach us to see what we wanted to order, so I got up and asked a young man for coffees for us,...these were... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 16, 2015
LancashireQueenbee
,
lancashire
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

We arrived early,( I must have got the time wrong) and were told by a 'retired' gentleman that afternoon tea doesn't start until 3.30pm...not friendly and a tad surly..anyway, he didn't approach us to see what we wanted to order, so I got up and asked a young man for coffees for us,...these were brought promptly by another man, who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear LancashireQueenbee, Thank you for your recent review. I apologise for the unacceptable welcome you received and I have spoken to the person concerned. I'm glad this did not ruin your experience with us and that you found the rest of the team to be friendly and helpful. I'm delighted you enjoyed our popular afternoon tea and we hope to... More 

Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We had a lovely lunch at The Clifton Arms on Saturday, but were quite shocked at the drink prices when the bill came. £6.70 for a malibu and coke and £6.00 for a Gin and tonic seems very steep to me. The restaurant is a perfect location for lunch and the service was excellent, but the drink prices have put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear applecrumble1, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with our drinks prices. I do feel that we are competitive with other establishments in Lytham St Annes and we all have difficulty with constantly increasing prices from our suppliers. I'm delighted that you were impressed with the restaurant food and service though. Kind regards Victoria More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

29th best restaurant in Lytham? There is something fundamentally wrong here. Having eaten in the restaurant fairly regularly over the past few years and having tried out most of the allegedly better 28, I am at a loss. Our last visit was just a week ago and once again the place impressed. If you want a good lunch in Lytham,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear ThePilgrim2014, Thank you for your recent review. We really appreciate the detail you have given and we're delighted that you're so impressed with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Victoria More 

Lancashire England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

For a very civilized and pleasant lunch this is the spot to go. met friends for lunch, and as we ladies do, lunch dragged on a bit but never did we feel anything other than valued customers. we were only on salads an soft drinks but never the less all was perfectly served and much enjoyed. as we finally left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear ChrisB8, Thank you for your recent review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your lunch and we hope to see you again soon for our afternoon tea! Kind regards Victoria More 

England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Can't review the Clifton Arms highly enough - the amount of time I chopped and changed our reservation with Chris the Restaurant Manager was more than most would/could take and yet this was ignored and nothing was too much trouble. When we did eventually make it we were given a super table in a bay window looking out onto the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear S4NT0N, Thank you for your recent review. What fantastic feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed the location, food and service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Victoria More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A party of 6 went for afternoon to celebrate a family birthday. Beautifully refurbished hotel. Staff were very pleasant. The food was lovely, not a crumb left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Plank, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you were so impressed with our afternoon tea. Hopefully you will choose us to celebrate many more special occasions. Kind regards Victoria More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I celebrated my birthday on the 25th April 14, with an amazing meal in the restaurant at the Clifton Arms.... What we can say... It was amazing , from us arriving, to leaving everything was first class, the Gentleman who greeted us and tended to our needs and the waiting on staff, a young lady in particular,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear JillandWarren, Thank you for your recent review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday meal in our 2 AA Rosette restaurant. May I also thank you for choosing us as the place to celebrate your special occasion. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Victoria More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

we found the clifton arms a very warm friendly spacious relaxing place to dine.meals were very nice well presented friendly helpful service good atmosphere nice clean good looking place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear Chrisk552014, Thank you for your recent review. We pride ourselves on providing guests with a 4 star hotel that offers style and comfort, along with our excellent service and quality of food. We're, therefore, delighted with your fantastic feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Victoria More 

North West
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Superb. Very well appointed and comfortable lounge for pre dinner drinks. The service throughout was exceptional. Very pleasant and professional. These people know what they are doing. 4 choices for starters, mains and deserts. All very fresh and excellently presented. This was Sunday lunch and not cheap at £25 a head- but in this case you get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear ErnieTraveller, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you were so impressed with our Sunday lunch for your special occasion. We pride ourselves on the 4 star service and 2 AA Rosette food which our customers receive. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards Victoria More 

Copenhagen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My friend and I were "googling" seeking a restaurant which started serving early, as we were going to a concert at 7.30. This well-known venue has a lovely bar which serves excellent meals, and begins at 6pm. Aside from the good food, it has a superb view across the Ribble estuary. We had, respectively, the fish dish and shepherd's pie.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear Margaret H, Thank you for your recent review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your brasserie meal with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Victoria More 

Travelers who viewed Clifton Arms also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to Clifton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: West Beach,, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lytham St Anne's
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 739898

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clifton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?