We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West Beach,, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
+44 1253 739898
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Clifton Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 52 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Best afternoon tea in fylde

Visited this hotel a few weeks back to try the afternoon tea as it was recommended to us by our friends. Quite honestly it was faultless. It is a little bit on an expensive side but definitely worth every penny. Can't fault food and the service. Will definitely return.

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 2, 2015
lukie4
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Visited this hotel a few weeks back to try the afternoon tea as it was recommended to us by our friends. Quite honestly it was faultless. It is a little bit on an expensive side but definitely worth every penny. Can't fault food and the service. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Been here many times always good ,comfortable rooms pick the directors suite and treat yourself to a fab view !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Afternoon tea is always something special, and as a treat for a very special occasion we were recommended to go to the Clifton Arms. In the beautiful lounge next to the window overlooking the green we had our afternoon treat and what a treat it was. Cake plates laden with dainty sandwiches, amazing scones with jam and cream, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear beaumontwyatt, Thank you for your recent review. Our afternoon tea is extremely popular so I'm delighted you enjoyed the experience and took the time to give such fantastic feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Victoria More 

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Went here for Sunday lunch with my family. The service was excellent with really friendly and efficient staff. The Sunday lunch was excellent. Portions were just right as the lunch includes 3 courses. I would definitely recommend and eat here again myself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear nick045, Thank you for your recent review. We pride ourselves on providing a traditional service with a modern twist so I'm pleased you were impressed with our Sunday lunch. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Victoria More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I took my friend for afternoon tea as a treat as she had been unwell, we thought it was very nice at the time all be it not very much for the price. It wasn't until i went to the Hyatt Regency in Birmingham with my sister did i realise just how little we did have. At the Clifton we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear dave_ness33, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you now feel disappointed with our afternoon tea in comparison to the Hyatt Regency. Our afternoon tea is very popular offering 3 cakes, a scone, selection of sandwiches and tea/coffee per person which we feel is good value for £17.50 per person. Kind regards Victoria More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

After booking for a lunch in the restaurant on Sunday we were EXTREMELY disappointed. Staff were curt and unfriendly- the food was cold, hard and undercooked and the portions were abysmal. When we complained about the food, their reply was simply "Oh, sorry about that". At £25 per person we expected much more. After finishing our meal and paying we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear Nic c, Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I am amazed by your comments but I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention so that we can ensure this does not happen again. Our Sunday Lunch is extremely popular so I would like to think you will return and give us the chance... More 

lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

We arrived early,( I must have got the time wrong) and were told by a 'retired' gentleman that afternoon tea doesn't start until 3.30pm...not friendly and a tad surly..anyway, he didn't approach us to see what we wanted to order, so I got up and asked a young man for coffees for us,...these were brought promptly by another man, who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear LancashireQueenbee, Thank you for your recent review. I apologise for the unacceptable welcome you received and I have spoken to the person concerned. I'm glad this did not ruin your experience with us and that you found the rest of the team to be friendly and helpful. I'm delighted you enjoyed our popular afternoon tea and we hope to... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We had a lovely lunch at The Clifton Arms on Saturday, but were quite shocked at the drink prices when the bill came. £6.70 for a malibu and coke and £6.00 for a Gin and tonic seems very steep to me. The restaurant is a perfect location for lunch and the service was excellent, but the drink prices have put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear applecrumble1, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with our drinks prices. I do feel that we are competitive with other establishments in Lytham St Annes and we all have difficulty with constantly increasing prices from our suppliers. I'm delighted that you were impressed with the restaurant food and service though. Kind regards Victoria More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

29th best restaurant in Lytham? There is something fundamentally wrong here. Having eaten in the restaurant fairly regularly over the past few years and having tried out most of the allegedly better 28, I am at a loss. Our last visit was just a week ago and once again the place impressed. If you want a good lunch in Lytham,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear ThePilgrim2014, Thank you for your recent review. We really appreciate the detail you have given and we're delighted that you're so impressed with us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Victoria More 

Lancashire England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

For a very civilized and pleasant lunch this is the spot to go. met friends for lunch, and as we ladies do, lunch dragged on a bit but never did we feel anything other than valued customers. we were only on salads an soft drinks but never the less all was perfectly served and much enjoyed. as we finally left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms, responded to this review

Dear ChrisB8, Thank you for your recent review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your lunch and we hope to see you again soon for our afternoon tea! Kind regards Victoria More 

Travelers who viewed Clifton Arms also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to Clifton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: West Beach,, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lytham St Anne's
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 739898

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clifton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?