We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 63 Ross-on-Wye Restaurants

The Mill Race

Walford, Ross-on-Wye, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 63 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    72
    24
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW

Travelled from Warwickshire to have Sunday lunch with relatives from South Wales. Very warm welcome with pleasant young staff being appropriately attentive. Cannot understand some of the negative comments - don't recognise them. We all enjoyed ourselves very much. Excellent food prepared just as we asked. My pork loin was especially good. Plenty of vegetables. For a Sunday the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I treated my wife to a meal out at our local pub today. Unfortunately we are restricted in what we would call local pub. So many good family and traditional locals have closed over the past 5 years that we are left with little choice. I found the Mill Race to be way over priced for what they serve. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I am coming back to the Mill Race next weekend and was just checking the reviews, as such I felt compelled to review myself. I have been once before and I totally forgot to review at the time. I had a Duck based meal and a lovely homemade pudding (and lots of great, good priced wine). I can honestly say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Lovely decor, welcoming staff. We enjoyed our food and were impressed with the fact that all food was locally sourced, and could be linked with nearby suppliers. We chose Red Legged Partridge Wellington with Wild Mushrooms, Truffle infused Mashed Potato and Carrots and Turnips and Pressed Middle White Belly Pork and Confit Shoulder with Pomme Anna, Roast Shallot Puree, Roast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! It was a pleasure to have you in. I am really happy that you have enjoyed our locally sourced food. I will share your comments with the team and we looking forward to welcome you again at the Mill Race soon. Regards, ANA DUMITRACHE General manager More

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Had a chance to go back to the Millrace for Sunday lunch and I'm really glad to say that after a slightly below par performance a couple of weeks ago, things were back on track. The menu had changed considerably with great new choices. The smoked salmon wrapped around crayfish tails (so much better than prawns), was lovely, juicy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

we decided to visit the millrace for the first time since moving to the area in november and was sadly disappointed by the specials we had chosen. the size, quality, presentation and standard of the dishes was most unsatisfactory. the venue itself is lovely and welcoming, the service did not match this. our food was literally thrown on the table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We had a last minute reservation for six people a few weeks ago. The staff were a little apologetic because we had to wait for a table but a drink at the bar helped pass the time - which turned out to be very short! The meal was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. As one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warks
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This restaurant was a great surprise. Recommended by local hotelier, we were sceptical and nearly didn't attend. So glad we did, local Herefordshire steak and beautifully cooked belly pork. Staff were courteous and very efficient and attentive. Overall a great visit and would not hesitate to propose this venue when visiting Ross on Wye

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We have been here on a number of occasions. It is in a beautiful setting and the staff are always pleasant and helpful. The choice is pretty limited for vegetarians and if you want to avoid wheat too it is difficult. However, the Head Chef has been very helpful and has encouraged me to ask for what would be suitable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends on a Friday evening. It was busy but not full. Nice ambiance but again stone floors and little soft furnishings make it difficult to talk easily. The menu looked as though they had tried to be different, with the result that not much on it really appealed. Some of the specials were good, I had a squid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

Travelers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Race

Address: Walford, Ross-on-Wye, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing