We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Race

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Walford, Ross-on-Wye, England
Today
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from...
A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
read more
Good for:
Romance
Bar scene
Large groups
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 228 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 103
    Excellent
  • 78
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Disappointing meal

When we got there we were placed on a crammed in table right underneath a distracting bright light which couldn't be turned off. We ordered cocktails; they didn't have the ingredients. We then went on to order our food, they had run out of most of our food choices! When ordering desert came the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2015
sewat
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

When we got there we were placed on a crammed in table right underneath a distracting bright light which couldn't be turned off. We ordered cocktails; they didn't have the ingredients. We then went on to order our food, they had run out of most of our food choices! When ordering desert came the same happened again, so we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience. I would like to apologise for not being able make you a Mojito that night, but unfortunately I wasn't happy with the quality of the mint. We aim to deliver all the best recipes with... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

Marvellous food, good atmosphere. Really interesting menu, the prune tart dessert was amazing! Very patient with the children and they loved the pork with red onion stuffing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We have visited the mill race several times and each time it gets better and better. The service is excellent the food is beautiful and well presented . The restaurant has a lovely welcoming feel to it. I highly recommend the mill race to anyone who is looking For excellent food and excellent service! 10 out of 10 from us!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill Race. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing... More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I would have to agree with the previous review. My partner and I were really looking forward to a celebratory meal at The Mill Race. Firstly we were offered a table right by the doorway when there were other options available but after checking that a nearby table was not reserved they allowed us to move. The menu is fussy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We booked a table for lunch a couple of weeks ago to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary. We arrived for 1pm and being the only customers in the restaurant we eventually left at 3pm - the service was slow and really non existent. My nephew ordered lasagne & when it appeared it was some tiny burnt offering and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More 

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I returned to the Mill Race last week with friends and we enjoyed a relaxed lunch - we stuck to the set lunch which was very reasonably priced and all enjoyed our meals, which were well cooked and presented. The service was attentive and pleasant and we will all return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill Race. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We had a family Christmas day lunch here and we will certainly do it again. Easy going, relaxed and excellent service and cuisine.Why would you want to have dinner at home on Christmas day with all the stress (and washing up) when you can come here. Mick & Carol Cordell

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill Race. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing... More 

Saint Briavels, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My husband and I visited this pub sometime ago and said that we would be back. Well, I am so glad we did. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in. Lovely fire with background music and quite a selection from the menu board and restaurant menu. We visited on a Steak night (tuesday) in which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill Race. It was a pleasure to serve you and I am really happy that you have enjoyed it so much. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. I will share your positive review with the team and we look forward to seeing... More 

Liverpool
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

As two couples staying in the area, we decided to dine at this Inn due to recommendations on TA. We were not disappointed. The food was of a great quality, well presented and providing a wide selection from the menu. There was also a wide selection of wines to be had as well as a good selection of beers. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Your review delighted our entire team when I shared it with them, it is lovely when our guests taste the difference. Sometimes is really hard to get a taxi on a Saturday night but I was really pleased that you accepted me to drive you back. It was a real pleasure to... More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Our second visit to The Mill Race whilst staying with friends in the area. We enjoyed a superb three course Sunday lunch and have to say I couldn't fault the food, staff or surroundings. It ticks all of the boxes as far as vague for money goes as well. Wine recommendations on the menu for each course is another great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you have enjoyed your experience. I will share your comments with the team and we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Mill Race in the near future. Regards, Ana Dumitrache General manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Walford, Ross-on-Wye, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Race staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?