We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Ross-on-Wye Restaurants

The Mill Race

Walford, Ross-on-Wye, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 61 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    71
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

We had a last minute reservation for six people a few weeks ago. The staff were a little apologetic because we had to wait for a table but a drink at the bar helped pass the time - which turned out to be very short! The meal was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. As one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warks
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This restaurant was a great surprise. Recommended by local hotelier, we were sceptical and nearly didn't attend. So glad we did, local Herefordshire steak and beautifully cooked belly pork. Staff were courteous and very efficient and attentive. Overall a great visit and would not hesitate to propose this venue when visiting Ross on Wye

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We have been here on a number of occasions. It is in a beautiful setting and the staff are always pleasant and helpful. The choice is pretty limited for vegetarians and if you want to avoid wheat too it is difficult. However, the Head Chef has been very helpful and has encouraged me to ask for what would be suitable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends on a Friday evening. It was busy but not full. Nice ambiance but again stone floors and little soft furnishings make it difficult to talk easily. The menu looked as though they had tried to be different, with the result that not much on it really appealed. Some of the specials were good, I had a squid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Stayed in the area for 2 nights so came here on the 2nd night (midweek) for dinner based on recommendations- left really disappointed! We arrived without a booking and asked if there were any tables- we were prepared to wait as didn't book but we observed a good few empty tables, the waitress looked in the book, looked up, looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

Shropshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of the B&B where we were staying so had little idea what to expect. Heartened by the chalk-board on the way in showing where the pub's food was sourced (almost all local), we struggled to choose from an imaginative menu where everything sounded great. We started in the end with deep-fried courgette flowers (wonderful),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

Called in here after a recommendation. Excellent, something a little different. Menu was interesting, with lots of seasonal produce, which I like. Desserts were superb and all homemade. Service attentive, despite the fact they were quite busy. They also had a very good range of non alcoholic drinks for the driver, which makes a change. The only drawback were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. We were aware about the potholes in the car park and the problem is been rectified yesterday. Once again thank you for taking the time and effort in reviewing us. ANA DUMITRACHE general manager More

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We've been to The Mill Race several times before and enjoyed the food and ambiance, so this Sunday lunch was a bit of a disappointment. The atmosphere was fine, but the dishes were below par. The squid starter tough - (probably should have expected that) but tasty with the chorizo. Terrine - bland and uninteresting with not enough toast to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food was not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss this situation... More

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have been to the Mill Race a number of times and really like the food and the surroundings, but the manager behind the bar is very surley. I don't feel welcomed by him and actually feel that we are a nuisance and an imposition. Improvement here would make this a 5 star review, but I'm afriad the service is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience at the Mill Race. I am very sorry to hear that your experience at the Mill Race did not exceed your expectations and our high levels of service. Please accept my apologies, I will be speaking to the bartender on duty about your recent visit. We take customer feedback very seriously... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We went at the recommendation of our B&B owner. It was a Sunday evening when the menu is the same as the lunch - just for information. We had an excellent wood pigeon starter and the best tasting beef burger I can remember. No need for any condiments! Service friendly and helpful. Maybe a tad more expensive than many pubs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home made food, especially our delicious burger. It was our pleasure to serve you and I hope we will see you again soon. Regards, Ana Dumitrache General manager More

Travelers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The Mill Race?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing