We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Race

Walford, Ross-on-Wye, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A relaxed, informal village pub set in the Wye Valley just 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye and 6 miles from Monmouth. Owned and managed by people who are passionate about food, nearly all of our produce is sourced from within 30 miles of Walford, some even comes from our very own farm! Being positioned on the borders of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire we are surrounded by wonderful producers. Our regularly changing menus ensure we make the most of local produce with our focus on simple food cooked well.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    70
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We have been here on a number of occasions. It is in a beautiful setting and the staff are always pleasant and helpful. The choice is pretty limited for vegetarians and if you want to avoid wheat too it is difficult. However, the Head Chef has been very helpful and has encouraged me to ask for what would be suitable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW via mobile

Visited with friends on a Friday evening. It was busy but not full. Nice ambiance but again stone floors and little soft furnishings make it difficult to talk easily. The menu looked as though they had tried to be different, with the result that not much on it really appealed. Some of the specials were good, I had a squid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

Stayed in the area for 2 nights so came here on the 2nd night (midweek) for dinner based on recommendations- left really disappointed! We arrived without a booking and asked if there were any tables- we were prepared to wait as didn't book but we observed a good few empty tables, the waitress looked in the book, looked up, looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

Shropshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of the B&B where we were staying so had little idea what to expect. Heartened by the chalk-board on the way in showing where the pub's food was sourced (almost all local), we struggled to choose from an imaginative menu where everything sounded great. We started in the end with deep-fried courgette flowers (wonderful),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

Called in here after a recommendation. Excellent, something a little different. Menu was interesting, with lots of seasonal produce, which I like. Desserts were superb and all homemade. Service attentive, despite the fact they were quite busy. They also had a very good range of non alcoholic drinks for the driver, which makes a change. The only drawback were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. At the Mill Race we are committed to provide the best quality service and food. We were aware about the potholes in the car park and the problem is been rectified yesterday. Once again thank you for taking the time and effort in reviewing us. ANA DUMITRACHE general manager More

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We've been to The Mill Race several times before and enjoyed the food and ambiance, so this Sunday lunch was a bit of a disappointment. The atmosphere was fine, but the dishes were below par. The squid starter tough - (probably should have expected that) but tasty with the chorizo. Terrine - bland and uninteresting with not enough toast to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food was not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss this situation... More

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have been to the Mill Race a number of times and really like the food and the surroundings, but the manager behind the bar is very surley. I don't feel welcomed by him and actually feel that we are a nuisance and an imposition. Improvement here would make this a 5 star review, but I'm afriad the service is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience at the Mill Race. I am very sorry to hear that your experience at the Mill Race did not exceed your expectations and our high levels of service. Please accept my apologies, I will be speaking to the bartender on duty about your recent visit. We take customer feedback very seriously... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We went at the recommendation of our B&B owner. It was a Sunday evening when the menu is the same as the lunch - just for information. We had an excellent wood pigeon starter and the best tasting beef burger I can remember. No need for any condiments! Service friendly and helpful. Maybe a tad more expensive than many pubs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home made food, especially our delicious burger. It was our pleasure to serve you and I hope we will see you again soon. Regards, Ana Dumitrache General manager More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

From start to finish everything spot on,Drinks at the bar real ale at its best we started with smoked salmon ,smoked prawns,followed by grey mullet all cooked to perfection to finish cheese board,also great expresso coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Mill Race is one of only a handful of restaurants open on a Monday night in Ross unless you want a curry. We booked 3 weeks in advance and were advised that this particular Monday was an Italian night, a set menu at £18 a head. We were told at the time of booking we would be seated upstairs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themillrace, General Manager at The Mill Race, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with your experience, and that you felt that the food & service were not up to our usual high standards. If at all possible could you contact me on the below email address so that we may discuss... More

Travelers who viewed The Mill Race also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Mill Race? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Race, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing