We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cross Keys Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Springfield Road | Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JB, England
441600890692
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue - Wed 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 281 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 170
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Birthday meal preferences Xmas

We had a nice pre Christmas meal. Plenty of good food. Nice cosy pub. Good range of drinks, definitely worth a second visit.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Steve P
,
Coleford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice pre Christmas meal. Plenty of good food. Nice cosy pub. Good range of drinks, definitely worth a second visit.

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just eaten the best Sunday lunch ever in The Cross Keys. Travelling past, we decided to stop and we are so glad we did! Delicious food and staff who couldn't do enough! We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank gailandlee
Ross On Wye
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We nipped in for Sunday lunch as we knew the Cross Keys had changed ownership. It was an extremely warm welcome as soon as we walked, getting seated immediately. The meals were well presented, appetising and the taste was superb. Desserts were equally appealing and a very pleasant way to end a lovely meal. We now have a new Sunday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JasonRossOnWye
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just come home after enjoying lunch with fourteen other members of the Goodrich Ladies Guild. We booked in advance after discussing our requirements with the manager, Josh who was very helpful and ensured that we had an interesting variety of dishes from which to make our selections. We were greeted with a complimentary drink and the tables had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hulberthouse
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Stopped for lunch very small portion of soup and roll. Chips ok. Not very welcoming. Staff had their coats on because it was cold inside. Won't be going back

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

The food was pleasant enough, but we had big delays of an hour and a half getting our food. We asked the lady serving us about this and she was very blunt and bordering on rude and we were left feeling like somehow this was our fault that we came on a Saturday night for dinner. We went to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham T
TheCrossKeysInn, Owner at The Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review

Dear Graham, I'm so sorry to hear you didnt have a good experience at The Cross Keys. I was just wondering if you could let me know when you visited? We have recently had a change of staff due to issues like this. My email address is crosskeys@mail.com We strive to provide good customer service and just becasue it is... More 

Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We were staying locally and used the Cross Keys a few times, made extremely welcome every time including Christmas Day. Very friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1947ann
TheCrossKeysInn, Owner at The Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

We hadn't been to the x keys since it changed hands, but weren't disappointed. It was early evening, and wasn't busy. Food was plentiful and freshly prepared, chips were great! drink was also fine. Our hostess was friendly. This place is doing a good job of living up to the predecessors reputation. We didn't go hungry! Only tiny criticism was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony n Carolyn P
TheCrossKeysInn, Owner at The Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review

Im so glad you enjoyed your visit, please come again soon! More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Good food and beer served by helpful friendly staff. Dog friendly in the bar area. Will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
1 Thank K K
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

went there for a family meal . small menu with not all items available. food not good at all . one barman more intrested in keeping the fire going than making sure his guests were happy . some very bad background music maybe they wanted to us to put money in jukebox

Helpful?
2 Thank turfdude66
TheCrossKeysInn, Owner at The Cross Keys Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expections on this visit. We strive to provide a good experience for our customers. As we are a large, old building, we do need to have the fires going all day, but tending to these should not come above customers needs, and we're sorry... More 

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys Inn also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 6 Springfield Road | Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: 441600890692

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cross Keys Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?