We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Wallingford Restaurants

The Old Post Office

St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
01491 836068
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve a Table Online
Find a table
Ranked #21 of 46 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $11 - $37
Hours:
Mon 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    78
    54
    42
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 NEW

It's been some time now since I last ate at the old post office, and have to say that although the staff had changed the food had not, very average and what the menu said was not actually what you got, seafood sharing platter that had no crab claws wfhich was very disappointing, so why say it has when it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We ate here for a family birthday on the strength of an excellent experience at one of their sister restaurants in St. Albans (The Beech House). First impressions were good but we were led to a table right at the back in the dark, near the toilets. We asked to be moved and we were back into the lighter, airier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi MkeMushroom, I’m so sorry that such a wonderful occasion was slightly marred by this unfortunate display, I will definitely make sure that this never happens again. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that this was the case, we really appreciate constructive criticism and it is reviews like this that help us keep developing and getting... More

UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We wanted a beer after walking a chunk of the Thames Path: this place worked very well. Service was good (and they knew the strength of the beers - not as common as it should be). Inside was light and airy but we chose to sit outside: a bit of a basic yard, sadly, but we preferred it to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Ursosarctos, We’re really pleased to hear that your mid-afternoon beer was pleasant. It’s wonderful that in October the weather is still pleasant enough to enjoy some sunshine! We’ll definitely take your comment regarding our outside seating area into consideration and have a think about ways we can improve it. We hope you’ll be back soon to sample some of... More

Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This restaurant has a consistently nice feel to it and good ambience. The rest, however, I have found to be very hit or miss based on a number of visits. Bar- Slow service although not busy. Paid for cocktails in advance....really? We can't be trusted to have our drinks prepared and set on the bar first? Our barmaid could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you providing more detail with this review than your previous. This is extremely useful to us and helps us isolate issues and resolve them. With regards to your cocktail, I am very concerned about this business of payment. It's very strange that a bartender would demand payment upfront before a drink is prepared and not something... More

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We were staying in the area for the night and decided to visit the Old Post Office over another local favourite The Beetle and Wedge. We started with a few drinks which weren't that great but then swiftly moved onto the restaurant. I started with the crispy egg. I have to say this was without a doubt the best egg... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi WesNeal, We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful meal with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review and including your photos! I’ll definitely make sure to pass on your compliments to the kitchen! We’d love to hear how you think we could improve the drinks! If you have any... More

UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Food was fresh and tasty. The side salad garnish came ready dressed (that's usually a good sign), chips were seasoned, battered fish was crispy. It was a bit on the pricey side for fish and chips. Was pretty busy so the room was quite noisy but nice to be able to see the chefs working.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi CaligirlUK, It’s so great to hear that you had a lovely meal with us and I’d like to reassure you that the price of your tasty fish and chips is reflective of the high quality of ingredients. Fresh fish is delivered every day, having been caught the night before. We believe this is what helps make it so delicious,... More

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The food is OK. Nothing special. A good meeting place for a quick bite to eat or cup of coffee. A bit same old for me

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Cookingplumber, I’m sorry to hear that you feel we’re a little bit ‘same old’, if you have any suggestions on how you think we could improve – ideas for the daily specials for example – then we would really love to hear from you! Please get in touch at Damien@oakmaninns.co.uk We hope to hear from you soon, The Old... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Became across the old Post Office while driving through Wallingford on a day out. In need of a coffee we stopped off and decided to sample their cooked breakfast too. Why I have had cheaper cooked breakfasts, I can honestly say that this was one of the nicest I have ever tasted! Everything was cooked to perfection and there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Lulu, We’re so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful breakfast with us – and what a treat that the sun was shining! That always helps! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review, it’s really encouraging for the whole team to hear! We’re looking forward to seeing you soon! The Old Post Office Team More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We had a meal a few Sunday' s ago and found the service good, although took a while for our food order to be taken and the staff were not busy, however we were very disappointed in the vegetables, the carrots were completely raw as was the broccoli, we did manage this at the time although no comment was made,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, it was most definitely not our attention to serve such undercooked vegetables and we’re so sorry that you didn’t raise the issue on the night when we would have been more than happy to sort them out for you! However, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the lamb... More

Crowmarsh Gifford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Quite busy for a Wednesday night service was a little slow to start with. Food was served quickly and was hot and tasty a little over priced but good for a special occasion. Drinks are very pricey especially the wine

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Tonkyks, We’re pleased to hear that your meal on Wednesday night was delicious, I can only apologise that the service was a little slow to start with and I’m very glad that it improved as your meal went on. I’m sorry that you feel our wine is quite pricey – the selection of wines on our menu is chosen... More

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
Phone Number: 01491 836068
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Wallingford
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 11 - 37
Cuisine: Mediterranean

Do you own or manage The Old Post Office?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing