We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office

10 Market Place | Wallingford, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
01491 836068
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 45 restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $11 - $37
Hours:
Mon 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    69
    68
    49
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

£24 for a rib eye steak main course isn't cheap but on reflection it's actually pretty good value. This is a high quality, well aged piece of steak on the bone with a very distinctive meaty flavour that is more aligned to the expensive rare breeds found in the very best steak restaurant in the country (Goodman in London). Like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Mikey, Thanks for the solid praise of the steak. The Josper really adds to what is already a fantastic product and I'm glad that you appreciate the difference! I think that it is something of an industry standard to charge extra for sauces unless specifically stated in the menu description of a dish. While I understand that sauces are... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went here with my family and was quite disappointed. I'm not vegetarian but I ordered the vegetarian roast because it sounded absolutely divine but it was entirely missing the fondue sauce the menu advertised. It was essentially crumble topping on bare vegetables. I really dislike complaining but I thought I would ask about it, however nothing was really done to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I absolutely agree that the Primavera Crumble was lacking in a sauce and, as promised, Chef and I have reviewed the dish. I must respectfully point out, however, that I did indeed offer an alternative. Conscious that the rest of the table were eating their meals, I suggested bringing you a seperate sauce or, should you prefer, cooking... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great Food. Great Cocktails. Decent Real Ale (Loddons) Bar Staff always polite and professional. Can be a little echo e as open plan. Nice to sit outside on the pavement cafe area and watch the world go by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the postive feedback. Warm regards, Damien Hughes The Old Post Office More

Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Recommended by our B&B hosts at The Old School House, we decided to have dinner at The Old Post Office (everything seems to be old in Wallingford) and did not regret for a minute. We were served by an extremely kind waitress coming from Bulgaria and the food was just as mouth-frienly. The outdoor seating at the side can be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Jan, A big thank you from the Team for such a lovely review. Your waitress' name is Kameliya and she will be rewarded for her good work and the personal mention. Warm regards, Damien Hughes The Old Post Offce More

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We order the duck salad, the bar person told us it had slices of Duck, not fried! It arrived promptly, contained mostly rocket, a few sesame seeds, two grapes and a minute portion of warmly heated duck. After complaining our money was returned and we ate elsewhere. Service poor. Tables need a clean and we will not return. Shame as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

This issue was dealt with appropriately in situ and it’s a real shame to see that you have decided to follow through on your threat of Tripadvisor blackmail when because we refused your demands for further freebies. Damien Hughes The Old Post Office More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Worth visiting. The food is really good. The menu is often changed and is rather diverse. They do good cocktails too. It also gets nice and lively in the bar area at the weekend. Nice outside seating area too. Central Wallingford location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Jake, Thank you very much for the great review. If you're a fan of our cocktails, it's worth noting that we are currently running selected cocktails at £4.95 throughout July. There's a great selection on the discounted list and still a good fortnight left to take advantage of the offer! Warm regards, Damien Hughes The Old Post Office More

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I used to go here regularly, but the service and quality dropped. Popped in today after a couple of months to see if it had improved, but was shocked. I asked for a large glass of Chardonnay and was charged £9.75. What a rip off. Won't be returning. I am not prepared to pay that price at a provincial, run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, I'm naturally very concerned to read your belief that our product and service do not match the prices that we charge. However, I must challenge a couple of points in your two reviews. You describe the Old Post Office as "run of the mill" and, in your previous review in March, our food as "basic pub grub". I... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I really enjoyed the meal and the staff were friendly and helpful. Only thing I didn't like was having to pay for side orders. I think they should be included with the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for taking the time to praise our food and service. With regards to your comments on side orders, I would respectfully argue that each of our Main Menu items are designed to be full meals. We don't charge for simply a steak, for example, with the fries, salad, etc coming as additional extra to appear on... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited Wallingford on 30th June and wanted to meet up with some old friends (5 in all) for a meal. We plumped for the Old Post Office and weren't disappointed. We asked when we booked if we could have a round table and were obliged .We also asked for 3 separate invoices and were most pleasantly accommodated and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Robert, A huge thank you for the good feedback! It's always good to receive positive feedback and I appreciate the time you've taken to write this review. Warm regards, Damien Hughes Old Post Office More

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have only visited this place once because I was shocked with the price of their beer and peanuts being sold at almost twice that charged at some local pubs. It has a seating area outside which overlooks the Wallingford market square, but this can be unpleasant at times as it is right next to the bus terminal with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The Team here at The Old Post Office have a passion for quality. We use artisan, award-winning suppliers in both our bar and restaurant - some of which you'd be hard pressed to locate outside of the Capital - and, unfortunately, this does come at a cost. I'm glad that you found a pub closer to your liking... More

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Post Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing