We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office

10 Market Place | Wallingford, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
01491 836068
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $11 - $37
Hours:
Mon 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sun 9:00 am - 10:30 pm
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    52
    41
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Became across the old Post Office while driving through Wallingford on a day out. In need of a coffee we stopped off and decided to sample their cooked breakfast too. Why I have had cheaper cooked breakfasts, I can honestly say that this was one of the nicest I have ever tasted! Everything was cooked to perfection and there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We had a meal a few Sunday' s ago and found the service good, although took a while for our food order to be taken and the staff were not busy, however we were very disappointed in the vegetables, the carrots were completely raw as was the broccoli, we did manage this at the time although no comment was made,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, it was most definitely not our attention to serve such undercooked vegetables and we’re so sorry that you didn’t raise the issue on the night when we would have been more than happy to sort them out for you! However, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the lamb... More

Crowmarsh Gifford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Quite busy for a Wednesday night service was a little slow to start with. Food was served quickly and was hot and tasty a little over priced but good for a special occasion. Drinks are very pricey especially the wine

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Tonkyks, We’re pleased to hear that your meal on Wednesday night was delicious, I can only apologise that the service was a little slow to start with and I’m very glad that it improved as your meal went on. I’m sorry that you feel our wine is quite pricey – the selection of wines on our menu is chosen... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Came here for Sunday lunch a few weeks ago and couldn't fault it. The food was delicious and staff very attentive. We both had the roast but the rest of the menu looked great too. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Krista, I’m delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful Sunday lunch with us. I really hope you’ll be back soon to sample some of our other menus! Or perhaps just for some mid-week cocktails? We’d love to hear what you think! The Old Post Office Team More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Called into the OPO for a coffee and cake - order taken relatively quickly but when waiting outside for my order had to wait for my coffee for about 15 mins, so had nearly eaten my cake by then. Was a little surprised that the storage plate where the cakes were being kept was smeared with cake residue from other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Jackie, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review! Your comment about the timing issue in particular is just the kind of helpful, practical feedback that we’re looking for and we will definitely endeavour to resolve this issue. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your cake and coffee and I’d like to reassure you that the storage plate is... More

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

What a lovely venue with a menu that is varied; I'm sure most people will find something to tempt them; sadly beyond that the rest of the experience was disappointing. This is our second visit as I like to give businesses a fair chance. Unfortunately this was, if anything, less satisfactory than the first. Our problems started with a 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi KernowisHome, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review, we’re always open to constructive criticism as it’s so helpful for us to be able to keep growing and developing. Whilst I’m delighted that you enjoyed the venue and the variation on the menu, I’m obviously very concerned by the rest of your experience with us. I... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Light bright and welcoming with outside seating , comfortable settees inside and a nice division from bar area to restaurant . Staff were helpful but many had English as a second language and struggled with my Scot's accent - possibly more my problem than theirs ! Relaxed comfortable and spacious Toilets are upstairs and ?? accessibility issues though I did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Dahe47, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, it’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do, of course, have downstairs toilets for disabled access – don’t worry! We hope you’ll be back soon to sample some of our delicious food! If you do, we’d love to hear what you think of... More

Roeselare, Belgium
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

When going in, we thought we would be paying the trendy interior, but we were wrong! Excellent food, nice service in a nice restored building. For a reasonable price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Rattenpakker, We’re delighted to hear that you had such a great meal with us, and we’re really pleased that you enjoyed the décor too. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! Not only is it helpful for other Trip Advisor users but it really helps motivate and lift the morale of the whole team. We’re looking forward... More

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lovely lunch...tasty food, fab service and nothing too much trouble. Deserves 5 stars. Only slight niggle I had roast pork for Sunday lunch and it was advertised as crisp crackling - mine was just soggy fat...didn't bother to send back so not fair to mark down. Had a lovely time and will def return. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi BodenMummy, We’re so delighted to hear you had a wonderful Sunday lunch with us! It’s so motivating for everybody involved to get this kind of feedback, and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We’re so sorry about your crackling though, in future please feel free to tell us if you’re unhappy about anything and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Visited last Sat for dinner for 2 - great menu, but be aware not the place for a quiet evening out. Delicious fish from specials menu. Extensive choice of wines by the glass although whites were not quite chilled enough. Good selection for vegetarians and non-drinkers (ice teas, mocktails) so returned last night to celebrate daughters A level results. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Eva, It’s such a huge compliment that you chose to spend two nights with us this week, and we’re especially honoured that we were chosen to celebrate your daughters A Level results – such a special night! We do tend to get very busy at the weekends, but if you’re looking for a more intimate meal for two then... More

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Post Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing