We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 136 Yeovil Restaurants

Pen Mill Hotel

Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
+44 1935 423081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 136 Restaurants in Yeovil
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 10 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Staff rude and atmosphere very clicky " food expensive ping meals " delusional at best .. Drinks are over priced and Christmas is a joke at the pen mill will and never do recomend to friends . We are not as the radio advert States riffraff we are both professional people who had by far greater expectations . Very disappointed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

more of a pub and restaurant than a hotel but they haven't done a bad job with the hotel. Overall a pretty good stay, good size room, comfy bed, tea and biscuits, overall pretty clean but I did find a Spider on the lampshade, I wouldn't usually mind but the lampshade was at head height but above the bed so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us here at the Pen Mill and thank you for your kind review with regards to your recent stay. You are correct in saying that we're not an out and out hotel. This is a term attached to the hotel almost 200 years ago when the hotel was first built and... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Wow! What an experience. We booked a table for 27 family members of 4 generations! There was something for everyone! An amazing selection of drinks and a huge amount of locally sourced and excellently cooked food for every palate! I would highly recommend this place for either a drink after work, a meal for two or the whole family. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the very kind review that you posted with regards to your recent celebration here at the Pen Mill. Large parties are very important to us and whilst we do ask the customer to gather a lot of information with regards to their party, this is reflected in the level of service and quality you will receive from... More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Went for lunch with friends . The service was very good . The ambience is average . Food presentation and taste is good. Only thing I would agree from other reviews is the price of drinks . It's so expensive 1 small glass of Pepsi cost £ 2.60 I think I wouldn't mind if it is a large glass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review for a recent visit to the Pen Mill. I'm so glad you have enjoyed your food with us here at the Pen Mill and even more so that you have appreciated the service that our staff have given you, not a one off I can assure you. I suspect that you have seen the review... More

London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We had book this meal as a birthday meal for my daughter. We were greeted by friendly staff, who proceed to show us to our seats. The mood was very good, and relaxed. The other diners there looked like they were enjoying their food. We were given menus (and asked about drinks) which offered a good selection for any palate-including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that it appears that I have taken so long to respond to this review but for some strange reason TripAdvisor rejected my last response! I'm so glad your daughter's birthday celebration was enjoyed by all that attended, you certainly helped to build the atmosphere in the restaurant that night that you kindly commented on. Our chef's have... More

Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Food good but expensive which is Ok but to charge £2.10 for a small diet coke, not a can or bottle is a disgrace. Will not go there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write review and I'm glad you enjoyed your food. I'm sorry that you find our prices on the high side. If I start with the food (although I don't know specifically what you had on your visit), it is locally sourced meats and produce etc. This I'm sure are aware is a little... More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I eat here a lot. The food is very good and the service is very good. A genuine service, not fake, you feel like nothing is too much hassle. I would say its restaurant food for pub prices. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that it appears that I have taken so long to respond to this review but for some strange reason TripAdvisor rejected my last response! It's nice to see regularly returning customers leaving reviews for the Pen Mill. It's truly satisfying to recognise returning customers coming through the door, assuring us that we are doing things right. I... More

Sherborne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We all enjoyed our meal here yesterday. The staff were really pleasant and helpful. Even though it was quite late (8.00 o'clock) on a Bank Holiday Sunday there was only one thing not available on the big menu including the 'specials'. The meals were big and not expensive. The drinks too were acceptably priced. The Pen Mill has a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'd like to thank you for you for taking the time to write such a kind review for us. We are one of the few, non chain/independent establishments in the Yeovil and surrounding areas that actually services food on a Sunday evening and so, I'm really happy that you enjoyed your meal so much. We do try and price ourselves... More

Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Have been to the Pen Mill a few times recently. The first thing you notice is the service. You are made to feel really special by the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is really friendly. Food never disappoints. Big portions, hot and great taste. Carvery is good, you get served plenty of meat and the potatoes are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Stop it or I'll blush!!!!! Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. A lot of time and hard work goes into training our staff (which I believe are the best in Yeovil and surrounding areas) and it is nice that people appreciate the hard work and the attention to detail that our... More

Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Booked carvery for family Sunday lunch and were not disappointed. Pleasant and helpful staff, table with reservation card printed with our name. We had the carvery with selection of meats along with trimmings and a range of well presented vegetables. Plates were hot and we were served by a jolly lady who carved to order. The food tasted as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

If I'm not mistaken it was I that greeted you upon your arrival at the Pen Mill and it was my pleasure to afford you all of the pleasantries’ of the Pen Mill. The chef is certainly happy you enjoyed his Carvery and desserts as, on a Sunday it is a 6am start in order to have everything ready for... More

Travelers who viewed Pen Mill Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mill Hotel

Address: Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
Phone Number: +44 1935 423081
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Things to do Nearby

Enlarge Map