We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pen Mill Hotel

Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
+44 1935 423081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 133 restaurants in Yeovil
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 10 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    22
    12
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Have been to the Pen Mill a few times recently. The first thing you notice is the service. You are made to feel really special by the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is really friendly. Food never disappoints. Big portions, hot and great taste. Carvery is good, you get served plenty of meat and the potatoes are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Booked carvery for family Sunday lunch and were not disappointed. Pleasant and helpful staff, table with reservation card printed with our name. We had the carvery with selection of meats along with trimmings and a range of well presented vegetables. Plates were hot and we were served by a jolly lady who carved to order. The food tasted as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First time in a very long time that I've visited this pub/restaurant/hotel close to Pen Mill Station in Yeovil. I have to say we were very pleased with our meals. Pleasant setting, lots of helpful staff, good service. I had the Sunday carvery which was very generous on the meat - more so than some - with a good choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review on the Pen Mill. Our Sunday Carvery (also available on Weds & Fri evenings) is probably the most popular in Yeovil, indeed the most popular in the surraounding area. I think this is down to the quality of produce we use. I'm also pleased to hear... More

Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We called in on a Friday evening fairly late. The restaurant was busy but hey still manged to find room for us. The food arrived in good time and was freshly cooked, hot and very enjoyable. Never had a bad meal in this place. Well worth a trip! I had steak and it beautifully cooked and very tender.

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. I'm glad you've tried one of our steaks, these are all locally supplied and are of the utmost quality. The range of steaks has actually been increased on our new menu (launched 5/8/14). I hope to see you in the near future to... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I never been some where worst in my life like this pub. Last time I just got off from Yeovil pen mill Train station ,on the way back because we went to Weymouth and so hot me and my boyfriend just fancy a fews drink coz it's so hot ,the staff not even let us in because we got off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Well....... it does appaer my last response to this review was not to everyone's taste and TripAdvisor in their infinate wisdom decided to remove it, although it was 100% accurate! So let me tell everybody and TripAdvisor where I stand. Anyone returning from Weymouth, 'especially' on the late Saturday evening trains WILL NOT be permitted entry in to the Pen... More

Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Called in on spec one lunchtime recently and although it's hard to find any significant negatives, it's equally difficult to find any significant positives either. The atmosphere was a little flat despite there being several in the dining area, the food was OK and the prices again pretty much par for the course. So....as this reviews title suggests, acceptable, nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. However, I am a little sad that you did not have a more pleasurable experience. You mention in your review a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant, I do feel that this is a little unfair. We do play background music but unfortunately the remainder of the atmosphere must come... More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited yesterday for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. Three of us had lobster / crab burgers and I had chicken enchilladas which quite spicy. Overall the food was very good for pub grub and the service was very good and quick. We would certainly visit again. We cannot comment about the accommodation although the hotel looked quite nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Shaun for taking the time to write your kind review. I'm please to hear that you were 'pleasently supprised' by the dishes you ordered and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Both of these dishes are now available on our new menu. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Owner More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We often go to the Pen Mill in Yeovil as its so nice there. The setting is stylish, modern and warm. The staff are really lovely, friendly, polite and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is absolutely delicious! Every meal I have eaten there is perfect. Good size portions too. Toilets clean. Family friendly. I recently enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Well thank you very much Kelly for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a warm review. We do pride ourselves on our helpful and friendly staff, as we pride ourselves with our food quality and presentation. Just last month we retained our 5* Hygiene rating. We are always looking for new ways of keeping ahead... More

martock
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I popped in here at 6 this evening for a bite to eat. The carvery was still on so we gave it a go. Only 2 meats were still on. I guess that's ok as it was late. Was wasn't ok was the fact that the potatoes and Yorkshire puddings were dried out and inedible. The deserts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that your experience here was not a good one and that you felt let down by the service you received. We do try and pride ourselves on quality and service but obviously on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I think you'd probably have to agree that on the whole, people who write TA reviews... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were greeted warmly by the gentleman owner and quickly found a table despite it being busy and have not booked. The choice of meats was good and there was every accompaniment and side we could have wished for. All served by a very polite young woman. All staff were smiley and helpful and the food was delicious. Ticked every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Well thank you for a great heading, 'Best Sunday Carvery in Yeovil' and for the proceeding comments. We do work very hard to try and 'tick all of the boxes' for our customer's and this builds on everybody's moral when we pass on the comments like your's to the staff. We sincerely hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards... More

Travelers who viewed Pen Mill Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing