We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pen Mill Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
+44 1935 423081
Website
Add hours for Pen Mill Hotel and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the...
The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 10 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 85 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 42
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Carvery!

Was in Yeovil and fancied a carvery as it's Sunday. Looked up on good old trip advisor and saw good reviews for the Penn Mill. Arrived about 5.45pm plenty of room to sit inside. Outside was very popular due to the lovely weather . They did have one table left however you sit next to a busy road... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 7, 2015
Masterbottom
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

Was in Yeovil and fancied a carvery as it's Sunday. Looked up on good old trip advisor and saw good reviews for the Penn Mill. Arrived about 5.45pm plenty of room to sit inside. Outside was very popular due to the lovely weather . They did have one table left however you sit next to a busy road which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

Drove past here on a quick visit to Yeovil. As it was lunch time I rang up and booked a table. When we arrived 20 mins early, we decided to sit outside. Al fresco dining in the UK is rare! The manager/owner mentioned that he would keep the table inside free for us for another 15mins if we decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Wow what a place. If your reading this stop and book a table now as for a carvery is fantastic. I found it on line and the virtual tour was fantastic, the staff were superb and friendly. The roast was awesome really was, if I'm being picky I wanted a bigger plate but that was only as the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Our stay at the Pen Mill exceeded our expectations. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean and we were very pleased with the ample tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits, water and the toiletries provided.  We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was very good with generous portions, as was breakfast in the morning.  A carvery is on offer although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Participating in the Tour of Wessex Cyclosportive out of Somerton meant looking further afield for suitable accommodation.. result, the Penn Mill! The welcome was warm , the girls gladly secured our precious bikes in house, and changed our double bed to two twins in a flash ! The rooms were bright and spacious with all that you need for dirty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We were recommended to have a Sunday Carvery at the Pen Mill and booked our table. It may have been that we were one of the first ones to go the counter as the beef was very dry and the turkey was tasteless. The Yorkshire pudding was huge but just a crispy shell! The roast potatoes looked lovely however were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I am bitterly disappointed that you did not enjoy your Sunday Carvery with us recently. However........if all was so bad with your carvery course, why on earth did you NOT SAY ANYTHING ON THE DAY??????????? It is with this in mind that I find this review a little on the suspicious side! You tell me that you were 'one of... More 

Swindon
Level Contributor
285 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Five of us visited the PM for a Saturday lunch in the hope that we would have a good meal, which has been the case in the past. However it was a bit of a mixed bag with my wife's faggots and mash not being very hot, and two who had cottage pie did not enjoy it, having too hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sad that your last visit to the Pen Mill was not an enjoyable one. However, I would personally like to encourage some people to critique an establishment AFTER making your concerns to the owner / management first! I truly hope this doesn’t upset you but..... why o’ why did you not say anything on the day? You reviewed... More 

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

When visiting Yeovil we always look for somewhere to have lunch and more often than not we return to the Pen Mill Hotel. Why? Well the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is first class. The Hotel is very clean and with a large selection of food on the menu we have never been disappointed. The standard has always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I started work at 6am this morning and twelve hours on reading your review has given me a real boost with three to four hours still to go! Thank you so much for your kind words, for all departments, cleaning, customer service and quality of food here at the Pen Mill. This not only builds my moral but that of... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We were visiting Yeovil for a spot of shopping and never really eaten in the area we were looking for a Sunday lunch. We rang the night before and booked a table, good job as they are very busy SO BOOK. Greeted by a charming man and he explained how to order and set us at a great table accompanied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Pen Mill Hotel and even more thanks for writing such a favourable one! You are quite correct; it is very advisable, if not essential to book on a Sunday even later on during the afternoon at 3, 4 or 5 O'clock. Molly and Whizzer (the resident dogs) are always... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

First time going to pen mill hotel after going past many times. Definitely worth a visit the staff very helpful and friendly. The pub is very clean and fresh. The breakfast was good quality and local I would say, the only slightly disappointment would be no toast being part of the breakfast you can off course order separately it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Well........ I'm thinking of asking you to do our marketing for the hotel with compliments and suggestions like that! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for us here at the Pen Mill. You are correct the about the meats being local, from a family, High Street butcher in Wincanton (about 10 miles... More 

Travelers who viewed Pen Mill Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Pen Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mill Hotel

Address: Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
Phone Number: +44 1935 423081
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil
Cuisine: Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Sherborne Rd, Yeovil, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 423081

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Description

The Pen Mill Hotel is a well established business in the area that for the past 10 years under the same family ownership has been fast gaining a reputation for quality food and drink. Using local, independent suppliers wherever possible. In February 2014 we undertook an almost £200,000 refurbishment of the hotel bedrooms. This has now bought us above the local and indeed national average for quality in hotel rooms. Combine this with our ever popular bar and restaurant and you have a quality establishment that unlike many others has a personality with a family atmosphere!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pen Mill Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?