We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Cane

61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
+44 1935 413777
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 133 Restaurants in Yeovil
Price range: $0 - $41
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Sugar Cane with an Englishman, Irishman and a Scotsman .... No joke, we all enjoyed the meal and we were more than please with the food presented to us. I would not say this is the best Chinese food I have eaten but the best I've eaten cost me more than half as much again. Value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My partner and I have literally just got back from what we can only describe as the worst Chinese[or at least that's what they call it!] meals we have ever had. We live in Shaftesbury and decided to come here after reading the good reviews on Trip-Advisor. We got to the restaurant about 9.15pm and should have guessed something was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Your feedback has been acknowleged. Just to address a few of the issues which you have mentioned. We are a family run business in the local area for 30years and we pride ourselves in our service and nature of our food. To discuss the points that you mentioned in your review. 1- We employ local people within our restaurant as... More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Not knowing the area as we were visiting decided we would like a Chinese meal on the Saturday night & we stumbled upon the Sugar Cane - We managed to get a table early evening, which was fine with us - not an over extensive menu to select from but there is plenty still to choose - it was evident... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are always happy to welcome new customers to our establishment. If there is something that you would like that isnt on our menu please ask as we would be more than happy to see if we can accomodate you. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience while dining at our restaurant.... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A wonderful warm friendly greeting will be received when visiting here, Jimmy, the owner & his lovely wife cannot do more to make your evening wonderful. They always go above and beyond to ensure you have a great time, along with great food. The food is tasty, hot, well presented and plentiful. You can choose from the set menu for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your custom. We try to create a warm friendly atmosphere for anyone who visits the restaurant. Please come again soon, we look forward to seeing you. Regards, Gary More

Stourbridge West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I were in the area on business so rather than yet another hotel meal we looked for a local Chinese and what a good choice the Sugar Cane was First the only downside the decor is a bit dated but don't let that pit you off,the menu is varied with plenty of choice and the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We believe our menu is extensive and should cater to the majority of tastes. Please come again soon. Regards, Gary More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you can get past the dated decor then the food is superb. Chicken n sweetcorn soup perfect, lemon chicken was really natural ( no fake colours) and chicken cashewnuts was really tastey!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was tasty and well presented. The resturant was quite empty which was a shame as it deserved to be full. I guess they do well with their take away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Starters OK good sized portions. Crispy duck very poor not crispy,tasted cooked and reheated . Sechzaun prawns not pleasant. Good sized prawns but coated in synthetic sauce. Did not have wine we ordered so they went to Tescos and bought some and still charged us restaurant prices which we declined to pay. Have eaten in much better Chinese . Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to Sugar Cane in Yeovil to celebrate our 39yrs anniversary. What a disaster, we walked in being the only onces in the place, it did start filling up little later. We ordered hot & sour soup which was awful tasted fishy, then came the crispy duck nothing but fat which we sent back and refused to pay for,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We returned to Sugar Cane for a meal after a 10 year absence we were once a regular. Nothing has changed the decor is a bit dated but is made up for by the quality of Chinese food Starters of Lamb chops cooked in spices and a lovely sauce, Crispy coated Ribs and more. Main courses were excellent Crab Claws... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Sugar Cane also viewed

Yeovil, Somerset
Ilchester, Yeovil
 

Been to Sugar Cane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Cane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing