We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Cane

$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
+44 1935 413777
Today
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 44 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
nice food

went there for a dinner . food taste good i would recommend. the only thing you have to remember is that when you are going there as a big group need to pre order or order earlier because we waited for some time to be served . but its worth the wait as the food is nice and portions are... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2015
rosievil
,
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Whilst on holiday with family we looked on Trip Advisor for a recommended Chinese Restaurant close to our location in Yeovil and chose Sugar Cane. When I pulled up outside I thought we might have made a mistake as it was a small place more like a take away. Once inside it was a different story we were made to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

JennyVincent, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We do have a lot of customers who are on holiday who visit us. We are happy to given you a good meal and time in our restaurant. Our orange chicken is made on premises and we use real fresh oranges when making the dish. We hope to see you again... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

went there for a dinner . food taste good i would recommend. the only thing you have to remember is that when you are going there as a big group need to pre order or order earlier because we waited for some time to be served . but its worth the wait as the food is nice and portions are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you Rosievil for you response. We would normally suggest that for larger parties that we have your food pre ordered. This makes it easier for the kitchen to get your food out in a timely manner. We cook the majority of the food fresh on the premises so it will take sometime for the food to the table. Thank... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I have been to this restaurant for many years and the food is always lovely ,Jimmy and Lisa are so welcoming and the service is very friendly by all the waitresses .The capital ribs are the best in yeovil 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Berenice, Thank you so much for your review, it was ,much appreciated. We like to welcome all our customers when they come to our restaurant. We will have been open for 30 years in October this year and are very proud of that fact. I hope to see again soon and appreciate your custom. Regards, More 

Yeovil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Having read previous good reviews my expectations were high for this restaurant. From the time we entered the restaurant we found the service by three young girls to be very amateurish at the very least. Their enthusiasm and willingness to please was good therefore we were left with the distinct impression that they were poorly trained hence it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Thank you for your comments. However you fail to mention what exactly was wrong with the service. You just state: ' From the time we entered the restaurant we found the service by three young girls to be very amateurish at the very least. Their enthusiasm and willingness to please was good therefore we were left with the... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Best Chinese for miles around. Eat in or takeaway, Our whole family would not use any one else for either!! Always treated as friends, rather than customers. Sugar Cane has been open for 25 + years, and long may it continue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and your support over the years. We are very proud that our establishment has been open for over 20 years. Please keep coming to us for your Chinese food for the future, Regards, Gary More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This Chinese is a little treat, lovely food and lovely staff. Went here just before Xmas with three friends (girls xmas get together) really nice food, not a lot to choose from but that sometimes helps. The tables all had xmas crackers on them even though we didn't book for an Xmas party. Food is plentiful and loads of drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you Simo for your kind words about our restaurant. As mentioned in my last response we are in the process of updating our social media so hopefully soon you should see this up on the internet. We try to price our menu competitively to the local market and we also source all of our food locally and cook fresh... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I went here with 3 friends as there's no decent Chinese restaurants in town. This one's just to the size of the Quedam. Nice friendly owner who is generousr. Menu is basic (see photo) but they will cook anything that is not on it. They're not online or even Facebook which is a shame as a bit of advertisement goes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you Vicky for your positive review. We are currently in the process of updating our social media including a twitter,facebook and website. Thank you for coming to the restaurant and I hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gary More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

"You look lost" said the local....i was looking for another restaurant which turned out to be closed 2 years ago! So we were recommended to try the Sugar Cane. & im very glad we were. Service was lovely, ordering something Not on the menu was not an issue. I simply cannot get over how amazing the sauce was that came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and compliments. We cook the majority of our food fresh on the premises and adhere to this standard so that our customers can have the best experience possible. We also source our food locally and where we can from British suppliers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the sauce and your... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I visited the Sugar Cane with an Englishman, Irishman and a Scotsman .... No joke, we all enjoyed the meal and we were more than please with the food presented to us. I would not say this is the best Chinese food I have eaten but the best I've eaten cost me more than half as much again. Value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad and happy that you had a good time at the restaurant. We cater to a lot of tastes so please do not hesitate to ask if there isnt something on the menu. Hope to see you again. Regards, More 

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My partner and I have literally just got back from what we can only describe as the worst Chinese[or at least that's what they call it!] meals we have ever had. We live in Shaftesbury and decided to come here after reading the good reviews on Trip-Advisor. We got to the restaurant about 9.15pm and should have guessed something was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Your feedback has been acknowleged. Just to address a few of the issues which you have mentioned. We are a family run business in the local area for 30years and we pride ourselves in our service and nature of our food. To discuss the points that you mentioned in your review. 1- We employ local people within our restaurant as... More 

Travelers who viewed Sugar Cane also viewed

Yeovil, Somerset
Sherborne, Dorset
 
Ilchester, Yeovil
 

Been to Sugar Cane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 413777

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 38
  • Cuisine: Chinese
Open Hours
Monday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Cane staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?