We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Cane

$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
+44 1935 413777
Today
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations
Good for:
Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 41 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Disappointed

Having read previous good reviews my expectations were high for this restaurant. From the time we entered the restaurant we found the service by three young girls to be very amateurish at the very least. Their enthusiasm and willingness to please was good therefore we were left with the distinct... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2015
Andy H
,
Yeovil
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Having read previous good reviews my expectations were high for this restaurant. From the time we entered the restaurant we found the service by three young girls to be very amateurish at the very least. Their enthusiasm and willingness to please was good therefore we were left with the distinct impression that they were poorly trained hence it was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will review your feedback regarding our staff and give them additional training where needed. I am sure which part of the service you had an issue with. Regards, Gary More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Best Chinese for miles around. Eat in or takeaway, Our whole family would not use any one else for either!! Always treated as friends, rather than customers. Sugar Cane has been open for 25 + years, and long may it continue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and your support over the years. We are very proud that our establishment has been open for over 20 years. Please keep coming to us for your Chinese food for the future, Regards, Gary More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

This Chinese is a little treat, lovely food and lovely staff. Went here just before Xmas with three friends (girls xmas get together) really nice food, not a lot to choose from but that sometimes helps. The tables all had xmas crackers on them even though we didn't book for an Xmas party. Food is plentiful and loads of drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you Simo for your kind words about our restaurant. As mentioned in my last response we are in the process of updating our social media so hopefully soon you should see this up on the internet. We try to price our menu competitively to the local market and we also source all of our food locally and cook fresh... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I went here with 3 friends as there's no decent Chinese restaurants in town. This one's just to the size of the Quedam. Nice friendly owner who is generousr. Menu is basic (see photo) but they will cook anything that is not on it. They're not online or even Facebook which is a shame as a bit of advertisement goes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you Vicky for your positive review. We are currently in the process of updating our social media including a twitter,facebook and website. Thank you for coming to the restaurant and I hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gary More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

"You look lost" said the local....i was looking for another restaurant which turned out to be closed 2 years ago! So we were recommended to try the Sugar Cane. & im very glad we were. Service was lovely, ordering something Not on the menu was not an issue. I simply cannot get over how amazing the sauce was that came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and compliments. We cook the majority of our food fresh on the premises and adhere to this standard so that our customers can have the best experience possible. We also source our food locally and where we can from British suppliers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the sauce and your... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Sugar Cane with an Englishman, Irishman and a Scotsman .... No joke, we all enjoyed the meal and we were more than please with the food presented to us. I would not say this is the best Chinese food I have eaten but the best I've eaten cost me more than half as much again. Value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad and happy that you had a good time at the restaurant. We cater to a lot of tastes so please do not hesitate to ask if there isnt something on the menu. Hope to see you again. Regards, More 

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My partner and I have literally just got back from what we can only describe as the worst Chinese[or at least that's what they call it!] meals we have ever had. We live in Shaftesbury and decided to come here after reading the good reviews on Trip-Advisor. We got to the restaurant about 9.15pm and should have guessed something was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Your feedback has been acknowleged. Just to address a few of the issues which you have mentioned. We are a family run business in the local area for 30years and we pride ourselves in our service and nature of our food. To discuss the points that you mentioned in your review. 1- We employ local people within our restaurant as... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Not knowing the area as we were visiting decided we would like a Chinese meal on the Saturday night & we stumbled upon the Sugar Cane - We managed to get a table early evening, which was fine with us - not an over extensive menu to select from but there is plenty still to choose - it was evident... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are always happy to welcome new customers to our establishment. If there is something that you would like that isnt on our menu please ask as we would be more than happy to see if we can accomodate you. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience while dining at our restaurant.... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A wonderful warm friendly greeting will be received when visiting here, Jimmy, the owner & his lovely wife cannot do more to make your evening wonderful. They always go above and beyond to ensure you have a great time, along with great food. The food is tasty, hot, well presented and plentiful. You can choose from the set menu for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your custom. We try to create a warm friendly atmosphere for anyone who visits the restaurant. Please come again soon, we look forward to seeing you. Regards, Gary More 

Stourbridge West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I were in the area on business so rather than yet another hotel meal we looked for a local Chinese and what a good choice the Sugar Cane was First the only downside the decor is a bit dated but don't let that pit you off,the menu is varied with plenty of choice and the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We believe our menu is extensive and should cater to the majority of tastes. Please come again soon. Regards, Gary More 

Travelers who viewed Sugar Cane also viewed

Yeovil, Somerset
Ilchester, Yeovil
 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to Sugar Cane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil
  • Phone Number: +44 1935 413777

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 39
  • Cuisine: Chinese
Open Hours
Monday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Cane staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?