We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Yeovil Restaurants

Sugar Cane

61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
+44 1935 413777
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 139 Restaurants in Yeovil
Price range: $0 - $39
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

"You look lost" said the local....i was looking for another restaurant which turned out to be closed 2 years ago! So we were recommended to try the Sugar Cane. & im very glad we were. Service was lovely, ordering something Not on the menu was not an issue. I simply cannot get over how amazing the sauce was that came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and compliments. We cook the majority of our food fresh on the premises and adhere to this standard so that our customers can have the best experience possible. We also source our food locally and where we can from British suppliers. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the sauce and your... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Sugar Cane with an Englishman, Irishman and a Scotsman .... No joke, we all enjoyed the meal and we were more than please with the food presented to us. I would not say this is the best Chinese food I have eaten but the best I've eaten cost me more than half as much again. Value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad and happy that you had a good time at the restaurant. We cater to a lot of tastes so please do not hesitate to ask if there isnt something on the menu. Hope to see you again. Regards, More 

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My partner and I have literally just got back from what we can only describe as the worst Chinese[or at least that's what they call it!] meals we have ever had. We live in Shaftesbury and decided to come here after reading the good reviews on Trip-Advisor. We got to the restaurant about 9.15pm and should have guessed something was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Your feedback has been acknowleged. Just to address a few of the issues which you have mentioned. We are a family run business in the local area for 30years and we pride ourselves in our service and nature of our food. To discuss the points that you mentioned in your review. 1- We employ local people within our restaurant as... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Not knowing the area as we were visiting decided we would like a Chinese meal on the Saturday night & we stumbled upon the Sugar Cane - We managed to get a table early evening, which was fine with us - not an over extensive menu to select from but there is plenty still to choose - it was evident... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are always happy to welcome new customers to our establishment. If there is something that you would like that isnt on our menu please ask as we would be more than happy to see if we can accomodate you. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience while dining at our restaurant.... More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A wonderful warm friendly greeting will be received when visiting here, Jimmy, the owner & his lovely wife cannot do more to make your evening wonderful. They always go above and beyond to ensure you have a great time, along with great food. The food is tasty, hot, well presented and plentiful. You can choose from the set menu for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your custom. We try to create a warm friendly atmosphere for anyone who visits the restaurant. Please come again soon, we look forward to seeing you. Regards, Gary More 

Stourbridge West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

A colleague and I were in the area on business so rather than yet another hotel meal we looked for a local Chinese and what a good choice the Sugar Cane was First the only downside the decor is a bit dated but don't let that pit you off,the menu is varied with plenty of choice and the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary O, Manager at Sugar Cane, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We believe our menu is extensive and should cater to the majority of tastes. Please come again soon. Regards, Gary More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you can get past the dated decor then the food is superb. Chicken n sweetcorn soup perfect, lemon chicken was really natural ( no fake colours) and chicken cashewnuts was really tastey!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was tasty and well presented. The resturant was quite empty which was a shame as it deserved to be full. I guess they do well with their take away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Starters OK good sized portions. Crispy duck very poor not crispy,tasted cooked and reheated . Sechzaun prawns not pleasant. Good sized prawns but coated in synthetic sauce. Did not have wine we ordered so they went to Tescos and bought some and still charged us restaurant prices which we declined to pay. Have eaten in much better Chinese . Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to Sugar Cane in Yeovil to celebrate our 39yrs anniversary. What a disaster, we walked in being the only onces in the place, it did start filling up little later. We ordered hot & sour soup which was awful tasted fishy, then came the crispy duck nothing but fat which we sent back and refused to pay for,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers who viewed Sugar Cane also viewed

Yeovil, Somerset
Ilchester, Yeovil
 
Sherborne, Dorset
 

Been to Sugar Cane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane

Address: 61 Earle Street, Yeovil BA20 1JW, England
Phone Number: +44 1935 413777
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Yeovil
Open Hours:
Monday 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 0 - 39
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Cane staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?