We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Bar, British, English, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
+44 1233 840702
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with...
A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards.We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website.
read more
Good for:
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 125 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 83
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Lovely food and great service

Went here with my family to celebrate a birthday. Restaurant was quiter busy even through it was early on a Monday evening, Staff were attentive and helpful. The menu is good no the portions are very generous, unless you are incredibly hungry you would be hard pushed to eat starter and main course... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 3, 2015
Andrew P
,
Ashford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Outdoor seating
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Went here with my family to celebrate a birthday. Restaurant was quiter busy even through it was early on a Monday evening, Staff were attentive and helpful. The menu is good no the portions are very generous, unless you are incredibly hungry you would be hard pushed to eat starter and main course. I had the gastro ribs and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We took an elderly friend to the Swan Inn for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was empty when we arrived with just some staff and locals at the bar. The staff were welcoming leading us directly to a table and explaining the roast options, the specials board and printed menus. There was more than enough choice between these three. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This is our second visit to The Swan but the first since its been under new management...what an amazing transformation!! We were greeted by Jan (who we later found out to be the new owner) on a busy Saturday evening and had drinks at the bar before taking our seats for our meal. We both had the sea food platter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kent, england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

ate over the weekend, crab and scallops not available; ran out of guiness. the food we had was ok. will give it another try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

My family have been many times ,myself once previously and was very impressed ,upon visiting in january we were told that it was under new management and the lady stated the food was much better ;sadly it wasnt the case ,the service was very poor ;got the impression he couldnt be bothered ,loud swearing coming from kitchen ,the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jan G, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lisa P and thank you for your review. I do remember your visit to my pub, not least because I take complaints very seriously, but also because I genuinely do not receive many complaints, my pub being a beautiful country Inn set beside the River Chart, offering excellent service and superb dining to our many customers 7 days a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This is our second visit, it has changed hands since the last time we came and we were not disappointed.The staff were very welcoming , the pub has a warm relaxing feel about it and the food was excellent.We all had the roasts,the meats were cooked to perfection,the roast pots,veg,yorkshire and gravy were all to die for.Although we felt full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Not been here for sometime. I understand that it is under new management and has new chefs. Well I have to say the owner recommended the pork belly and I have to say it was to die for. I had scallops as my starter, and they were as sweet and fresh as you could wish for. I have reviewed many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
littleknox
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Checked in for a pint ended up eating sunday lunch, Beer X L ent. but roast was abit over done. The pub had a nice feel and on the beer alone we would return, sort of pub that is getting rarer to find . so sort out food ,bonzer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The pub has changed ownership since our last visit. It was very good before and I'm pleased to note it has retained its high standards. Our lunch was excellent and all that we had was home cooked. Service excellent. We will definitely be going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We have just had a really enjoyable meal at the Swan. The food was very good and the service was excellent. They could perhaps have a few more vegetarian items on the menu but otherwise a very enjoyable evening....we will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Ashford
  • Phone Number: +44 1233 840702

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 49
  • Cuisine: Bar, British, English, Family Fare

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Outdoor seating

Description

A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards.We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?