We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Manor Restaurant

Eastwell Park, Boughton Lees, Ashford TN25 4HR, England
+44 1233 213000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 143 Restaurants in Ashford
Cuisines: English, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    28
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a disasterpus visit. Poor service which ruined potentially lovely afternoon .when the complaint was made had a very rude response from the chairman?! Apparently we required a 'quick cuppa' despite the fact we waited over half an hour to get it. They failed, standards are poor and the management rude. What else can I say?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

This is the second member of the same party who appear unable to graciously accept an apology and have not got the courtesy to acknowledge or accept our offer of complimentary champagne on their return. So far as we are concerned this matter is now closed; our offer is withdrawn but our apology remains in place. More

Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My daughter took me to tea here for my birthday and the service was atrocious. We ordered a champagne tea and soon after our arrival our champagne arrived, good so far, not too long later the food arrived (sandwiches 5/5, cake 0/5 - Lemon cake dry and had barely met a lemon, macaroons a sweet tasteless goo, raspberry layer reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

Our afternoon teas are extremely popular and many days we have to close our booking diary. These guests visited on one of the rare hot and humid days and chose to have their tea indoors rather than taking advantage of having the tea on the terrace overlooking the grounds or in our very popular courtyard. Their original complaint was that... More

Tenterden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have been to the above several times to stay and visit the restaurant. Used to be memorable experience. However going in June for a birthday treat to lunch was a bit of a shock. The prices for each course on the a la carte menu all had supplement prices added as much as £16 . Why can't they put the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

A la carte prices are clearly stated and the supplement relates only to guests who are choosing an alternative to an item on the table d'hote menu. More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I took my wife to the Manor restaurant last night for a meal and it was stunning. All the food was gorgeous and such defined flavor. There should be a Michelin star for this place. I live in Tenterden and am so happy this is just down the road from us. I will definitely be back for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

Local ingredients and produce at this time of the year are first class and we have a very good team in the kitchen. More

Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I have just got back from lunch at Eastwell Manor, I had never eaten at this restaurant before and thought it would be a nice surprise for my wife and she loved it. It is a well preserved environment keeping much of its original charm, the service on arrival was fine. We arrived a little early and were asked if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you, it sound as though the bar staff need a bit of extra training. We are doing a special lunch menu in May. More

Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I suppose you get what you pay for, but this is one of the premium restaurants in the South East. Lots of "celebrity's" and other well known people stop here. Service ,as you would expect is first class along with the food. We often buy relatives a 3 course meal here for a Christmas present, as they do different sorts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we have a great variety of vouchers to suit our clients' requirements. There is a voucher for nearly everything - but not quite everything! More

Ashford Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have just had and exellent lunch at Eastwell Manor. We have eaten at Eastwell many times over the last 10 years or so and have found the quality of the food to be consistently good and the staff attentive. Although for the first time it did seem a little chilly in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. We continue to seek to source the best ingredients possible with the major preference being for local produce. More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Manor itself and grounds are great and the ambience is delightful however the restaurant in the Manor needs a makeover. Whilst you expect to pay a bit over the odds for lunch in a setting like this you do expect a bit more for your money. The service was good although not exceptional but the lunch was disappointing, mediocre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments but we are unlikely to change the ambience of the restaurant since only very recently we were nominated by The Times as the Fifth Most Romantic Restaurant in the country. Naturally we are somewhat disappointed if you left hungy but that would, of course, partially depend on your choices. A two course Table d'Hote... More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I recently treated my parents to Sunday lunch in the Manor Restaurant. We had not been to Eastwell Manor before. As described by a previous reviewer, the house certainly does ooze character and charm. The service given us by the staff was just perfect, attentive but not too over done. My disappointment was with the food. I appreciate this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

Our Sunday lunches are very popular and our classic beef joint is carved to order in front of the diner from the silver trolley. Instructions are that guests should be asked whether they would like well done from one side of the joint or rare from the other. As you rightly say meats are a personal choice and naturally our... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We eat at Eastwell on a relatively regular basis (5 or six times a year). It has been until recently, the epitome of excellence in cuisine, ambience and service. The staff seemed to have enough of a regular critical mass, that enabled some kind of continuity and recognition to run through the operation, along with an apparent pride in working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
managementeastwell, Owner at The Manor Restaurant, responded to this review

We are grateful to you for your comments. All of our established procedures appear to have been missing on the evening for which we can only apologise. Our procedure for The Manor Restaurant is that guests are shown to the cocktail bar for a pre-dinner cocktail and a relaxed opportunity to chose their meal and wines before being shown through... More

Travelers who viewed The Manor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing