We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Meeting Place

Certificate of Excellence
Brew Pub, British, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH80AQ, Scotland
1350727219
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Meeting Place and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations
Good for:
Families with children
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 85 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good for decent food while watching sport

This is an annex to the Atholl Hotel with a pub at the front and restaurant at the back. We watched the rugby here and had lunch. Food is upscale pub grub and very nice too. Service at the bar was a little slow but came with a smile and there are a couple of decent local ales on tap.... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2015
Pedrode
,
Scotland
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

On a day out, dropped into Dunkeld for lunch. Selected the Atholl Arms Hotel close to the river and bridge. We were taken through to an annex building, known as the Meeting Place - much bigger than it looks from outside, extending all the way to the back with ample dining space and flat screen TV's showing sport. Best memory... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello FairCityFrasie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Meeting Place. Good to hear you enjoyed your Smoked Salmon sandwich. Everything we cook is made from scratch and as local as we can get. We are fortunate Perthshire has an amazing larder of fresh produce all year. As the summer approaches we will be using... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Stopped in here for something to eat on route from Inverness and glad we did. The food was fresh made and piping hot. We both had the beef & ale pie with chips and steamed vegetables. Dessert was an added bonus too - rhubarb crumble and chantily cream. Looking forward to going back hopefully very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Lynne2209, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your trip to Dunkeld and Inverness. We are looking forward to serving many more fantastic meals in The Meeting Place and also in our garden on the river Tay. We look forward to seeing you again... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stopped here for a late lunch while on a motorbike ride with two friends. On entering the hotel, first impressions were of perhaps a little dreary and dowdy... almost 'shabby', but not quite that bad. We were shown to a table in the bar area which, we discovered later, was a bad choice as - while eating - we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Daniele I, I just wish you had mentioned something at the time of visit as we would have been happy to offer you something else to eat. From what I can gather you were offered a seat in the back bistro area and declined, you eat everything on your plate and joked with staff. I also understand you had... More 

Kirriemuir
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Visited this excellent restaurant again and as ever we were able to take our dog into the dining room. She sits under the table and the waitress said she didn't notice we had a dog. Excellent soup and a sandwich although there is an excellent menu and the other diners were obviously enjoying their food. Friendly staff in a warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Ronbo, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed another visit and for you to see the renovations and improvements we have done. Glad to hear your meal was enjoyable and yes, our menu is quite varied offering something for everyone. Its all on our... More 

Fifield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This was second visit here whilst staying at the Hilton, much better food than served at the hotel. The menu looked fab and would have liked to try lots of it. Can highly recommend the burgers and blue cheese.yummy. And huge to say the least , very filling. Lovely wee bistro setting with log fire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Gillian, Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and visit back to the Atholl. We are very excited about our new bistro and new menu, now called " The Meeting Place " Please keep in touch as we will be having a wee opening at end of March with free food samples and beer tastings. We will post all... More 

Fifield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Fab lunch here.the whole menu looks great. Can highly recommend the burger with blue cheese.yummy scrum my. Lovely wee bistro with log fire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Gillian R, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your burger and the new surroundings. We have had great feed back about the renovations so far and the new menu. Did you know we have our burgers at half price on a Tuesday from 5-7pm. We all look forward to seeing... More 

Birnam, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

My partner and I ate at the inn recently not long after it reopened after a winter refit. The management have made a good job of revamping the rear area which was quite an underutilised area, IMO. The big improvement is the addition of a wood burning stove which despite the large size of the room gives a nice cosy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello, I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. This is how we learn about improving not only on the menu side of things but also on the service side as well. It is always best to mention , as you did, at time of service if there is anything that you are... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is an annex to the Atholl Hotel with a pub at the front and restaurant at the back. We watched the rugby here and had lunch. Food is upscale pub grub and very nice too. Service at the bar was a little slow but came with a smile and there are a couple of decent local ales on tap.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit to our new bar The Meeting Place. The wifi in this old building sometimes is not the greatest and I apologise about that, hopefully on your next visit this will not be a problem. We always have the T.V. on if there is a game playing but also... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Visited again and once again we were truly impressed with the burghers, I personally had the Venison & blue cheese one and can recomend it and this time I remembered to purchase my Drinks in the bar to save a few bob ( proud to be Yorkshire )

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Terry, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us, it is much appreciated. Our new bar is now called " The Meeting Place " still the great menu and service that you always receive but way more atmosphere with our new wood burning stove and completley renovated room. Please check in on Facebook... More 

Quimper, France
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stopped on our way back from the North, had no time to try the restaurant but hoped for good pub food as this is supposed to be a "local institution"... Hell! Waitresses certainly were welcoming (bright I wouldn't say but never mind)... But the prices, my God! It had to be good and it wasn't, unfortunately... My burger's meat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello yuna1yuna2, France, I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. I really cannot say much as your reviewed us on the 11th January and we actually closed on the 6th for three weeks. Are you sure it was the Atholl in Dunkeld you did visit? Trip advisor should not be allowing guests to insult staff in... More 

Travelers who viewed The Meeting Place also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Meeting Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH80AQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Dunkeld
  • Phone Number: 1350727219

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Brew Pub, British, Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Meeting Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?