We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Meeting Place

Certificate of Excellence
Brew Pub, British, Grill
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH80AQ, Scotland
1350727219
Website
Add hours for The Meeting Place and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Families with children
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 83 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Dowdy and Average

Stopped here for a late lunch while on a motorbike ride with two friends. On entering the hotel, first impressions were of perhaps a little dreary and dowdy... almost 'shabby', but not quite that bad. We were shown to a table in the bar area which, we discovered later, was a bad choice as - while... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 22, 2015
Daniele I
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

Stopped here for a late lunch while on a motorbike ride with two friends. On entering the hotel, first impressions were of perhaps a little dreary and dowdy... almost 'shabby', but not quite that bad. We were shown to a table in the bar area which, we discovered later, was a bad choice as - while eating - we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirriemuir
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Visited this excellent restaurant again and as ever we were able to take our dog into the dining room. She sits under the table and the waitress said she didn't notice we had a dog. Excellent soup and a sandwich although there is an excellent menu and the other diners were obviously enjoying their food. Friendly staff in a warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Ronbo, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed another visit and for you to see the renovations and improvements we have done. Glad to hear your meal was enjoyable and yes, our menu is quite varied offering something for everyone. Its all on our... More 

Fifield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This was second visit here whilst staying at the Hilton, much better food than served at the hotel. The menu looked fab and would have liked to try lots of it. Can highly recommend the burgers and blue cheese.yummy. And huge to say the least , very filling. Lovely wee bistro setting with log fire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Gillian, Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and visit back to the Atholl. We are very excited about our new bistro and new menu, now called " The Meeting Place " Please keep in touch as we will be having a wee opening at end of March with free food samples and beer tastings. We will post all... More 

Fifield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Fab lunch here.the whole menu looks great. Can highly recommend the burger with blue cheese.yummy scrum my. Lovely wee bistro with log fire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Gillian R, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your burger and the new surroundings. We have had great feed back about the renovations so far and the new menu. Did you know we have our burgers at half price on a Tuesday from 5-7pm. We all look forward to seeing... More 

Birnam, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

My partner and I ate at the inn recently not long after it reopened after a winter refit. The management have made a good job of revamping the rear area which was quite an underutilised area, IMO. The big improvement is the addition of a wood burning stove which despite the large size of the room gives a nice cosy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello, I want to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. This is how we learn about improving not only on the menu side of things but also on the service side as well. It is always best to mention , as you did, at time of service if there is anything that you are... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is an annex to the Atholl Hotel with a pub at the front and restaurant at the back. We watched the rugby here and had lunch. Food is upscale pub grub and very nice too. Service at the bar was a little slow but came with a smile and there are a couple of decent local ales on tap.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your visit to our new bar The Meeting Place. The wifi in this old building sometimes is not the greatest and I apologise about that, hopefully on your next visit this will not be a problem. We always have the T.V. on if there is a game playing but also... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Visited again and once again we were truly impressed with the burghers, I personally had the Venison & blue cheese one and can recomend it and this time I remembered to purchase my Drinks in the bar to save a few bob ( proud to be Yorkshire )

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Terry, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us, it is much appreciated. Our new bar is now called " The Meeting Place " still the great menu and service that you always receive but way more atmosphere with our new wood burning stove and completley renovated room. Please check in on Facebook... More 

Quimper, France
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stopped on our way back from the North, had no time to try the restaurant but hoped for good pub food as this is supposed to be a "local institution"... Hell! Waitresses certainly were welcoming (bright I wouldn't say but never mind)... But the prices, my God! It had to be good and it wasn't, unfortunately... My burger's meat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello yuna1yuna2, France, I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. I really cannot say much as your reviewed us on the 11th January and we actually closed on the 6th for three weeks. Are you sure it was the Atholl in Dunkeld you did visit? Trip advisor should not be allowing guests to insult staff in... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

We went in for a drink and a snack.Surprised to see it was £2.00 a pint due to closing for 2 week annual refurb. Ordered chicken wings but they had run out and I said I did not like the sandwich menu so stuck.The guy who served me said that they could do an egg or bacon/egg roll.This was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Edinburgh Chaz, Happy new Year! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Good to hear we were able to make an alternative snack for you, always glad to do this for anyone, anytime. We will be back to a full menu when we re-open on 23rd. This will include our new stone... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate here 3 times over Christmas. We had lunch on Christmas Day in the restaurant and it was lovely. The service was fantastic, no waiting and the food was absolutely delicious ! White chocolate, mincemeat cheesecake was delicious !Full marks to chef, waiting staff and all involved. Lovely from start to finish. We had bar meals another 2 days,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at The Meeting Place, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, Hello perthshireBee, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Great to hear you had a fabulous Christmas night out. Alan and his team work really hard to make guests feel right at home, your kind words are appreciated. Renovations are underway in the back bar with a new fire, floor and... More 

Travelers who viewed The Meeting Place also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Meeting Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH80AQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Dunkeld
  • Phone Number: 1350727219

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Brew Pub, British, Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Meeting Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?