We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Dunkeld Restaurants

Inn @ The Atholl

Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
01350727319
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $41
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quimper, France
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stopped on our way back from the North, had no time to try the restaurant but hoped for good pub food as this is supposed to be a "local institution"... Hell! Waitresses certainly were welcoming (bright I wouldn't say but never mind)... But the prices, my God! It had to be good and it wasn't, unfortunately... My burger's meat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello yuna1yuna2, France, I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. I really cannot say much as your reviewed us on the 11th January and we actually closed on the 6th for three weeks. Are you sure it was the Atholl in Dunkeld you did visit? Trip advisor should not be allowing guests to insult staff in... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

We went in for a drink and a snack.Surprised to see it was £2.00 a pint due to closing for 2 week annual refurb. Ordered chicken wings but they had run out and I said I did not like the sandwich menu so stuck.The guy who served me said that they could do an egg or bacon/egg roll.This was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello Edinburgh Chaz, Happy new Year! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Good to hear we were able to make an alternative snack for you, always glad to do this for anyone, anytime. We will be back to a full menu when we re-open on 23rd. This will include our new stone... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate here 3 times over Christmas. We had lunch on Christmas Day in the restaurant and it was lovely. The service was fantastic, no waiting and the food was absolutely delicious ! White chocolate, mincemeat cheesecake was delicious !Full marks to chef, waiting staff and all involved. Lovely from start to finish. We had bar meals another 2 days,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, Hello perthshireBee, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Great to hear you had a fabulous Christmas night out. Alan and his team work really hard to make guests feel right at home, your kind words are appreciated. Renovations are underway in the back bar with a new fire, floor and... More 

Perthshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Visiited the The Atholl for our works Christmas night out last week. Had a fantastic night! The food was great and the service was too! Thanks to Alan and all his team who looked after us so well. Thoroughly recommend it for a meal out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello perthshireBee, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Great to hear you had a fabulous Christmas night out. Alan and his team work really hard to make guests feel right at home, your kind words are appreciated. Renovations are underway with a new fire, floor and seating. The back bar will be... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This old hotel has the best view in town right by Telford bridge over the Tay.Its been recently reburbed and has a new chef so the food is excellent particularly the stornaway black pudding fritters and locally sourced ales

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello Docmartin-11 Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Renovations are now underway with a new fire, floor and seating. The back bar area will look totally different, more cozy and more space. We will also have a new menu with stone baked pizzas and many... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Parched after walking around the town taking photographs, I popped into this hostelry in the middle of the afternoon for a quick pint. Not only was the charming barmaid able to describe the various guest beers with knowledgable expertise, she had lots of chat for a thirsty traveller. And, yes, the pint of beer was as good as she promised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is always nice to here our guests enjoyed their visit to the Atholl. Dunkeld has some fabulous walks and at this time of year the trees are brilliant. I hope you got some good photographs. In January we are hoping to spruce up... More 

Kirriemuir
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Visited Dunkeld and found this treasure. It gets full marks because it is dog friendly. We were able to take our dog into the restaurant and she sat quietly under the table as did the other 4 dogs that were there. What a change from the normal cold shoulder we receive because we have a dog. This was so like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello Ronbo, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We love dogs and they are very welcome in the lounge and bistro. We are hoping to do some renovations to the bistro in January with a new fire, floor and seating. This will happen just after New Year celebrations. Dogs and humans alike... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

There wasn't many people there, but the food smelled and tasted good, and at reasonable prices; you could choose from snacks to main courses; we only had a snack and coffee, but it was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its a shame you did not have time to enjoy a meal but maybe on your next visit you can stay a while any enjoy choosing from our award winning menus. Once our seasonal menu changes we get it posted on our web site and some of the... More 

Boddam, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

For a vegetarian there was loads of choice, not just macaroni cheese. Thee was more than one choice of vege food which is unusual especially for smaller places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. I am a vegetarian myself and know how you feel. There will always be plenty of choice on the menu here. All of our dishes are approved by the vegetarian society, made fresh in our kitchen and many of them... More 

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Holidaying near Dunkeld and decided to eat here on our first evening instead of cooking as we had been travelling for much of the day. Early evening and we were on of only two occupied tables in the Bistro dining area so there was no atmosphere to he place. The food, however, was very good and can highly recommend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Inn @ The Atholl, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your meals. Your comments are shared with all the staff here at the Atholl. In January our bistro will be getting a facelift. A new fire, seating and flooring. This will improve the atmosphere making it much more cozy and inviting.... More 

Travelers who viewed Inn @ The Atholl also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Inn @ The Atholl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn @ The Atholl

Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Phone Number: 01350727319
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Dunkeld
Average Prices: USD 5 - 41
Cuisine: British, Grill, Brew Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inn @ The Atholl staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?