We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ristorante Italiano Rio

54-58 Argyll Street | Argyll Hotel, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland
01369 702059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    133
    53
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

The restaurant was quiet on arrival and seated with no delay. Menus presented quickly and ample time given to work your way through a great choice of food. Skipped on starters and went straight to mains. My selection this time was a grilled chicken Caesar salad and it was not disappointing. Crispy fresh lettuce, well cooked chicken, fabulous large croutons... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Visited the Rio whilst staying at The Argyll Hotel, the staff were lovely and very attentive,the food was excellent,great value, would highly recommend a visit to the Rio

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review following your recent visit in Rio .It was an absolute pleasure to read your review on the different aspect of our products & services, I am really pleased you found our restaurant to be of such a high standard and chose to dine... More

Dunoon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We are locals and have had many a meal and celebration here. But recently very disappointed to hear my mum and her friend being turned away despite 4 empty tables. It was 6 pm with several empty tables all but 4 tables for 4 had reserved signs on them. When they asked if they could have a table for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback in trip advisor, after reading your review, I wish to respond to clarify some aspects of what you wrote. Regarding the table, we have some prior booking system, unfortunately when you came and ask for table we do not have any table due to the prior booking. That’s why; we are not able... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Service was excellent and very polite especially ronnie the manger. Food was great and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review following your recent visit in Rio. It was an absolute pleasure to read your review on the different aspect of our products & services. we work hard to offer good food and friendly, efficient service, and I’m so glad that your visit was... More

Wish I was in FLA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

There are precious few restaurants in tired little Dunoon, but this is well worth a visit. Part of the hotel next door, it remains well priced and serves tasty, standard Italian fare.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the positive comments; we are grateful for the pleasure of serving you and meeting your printing needs. Counting you among our customers is something for which we are especially grateful. . My team and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thanks Ronny More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here service was first class and they certainly don't skimp on portion size. We had mussels which were so fresh and tasty,and the selection on the menu is huge. The prices are very reasonable too,so if your visiting Dunoon give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted to read such positive comments about our Rio Restaurant and that we were able to surprise you! My team and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future Thanks Ronny More

Owosso, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

On our summer tour of Rome, Paris, London and a week in Scotland we can't recall a better meal. The prices were very reasonable as well. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor, I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion of our Rio Restaurant and of course for saying that our staff is gracious and food is great, very much appreciated indeed. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you... More

Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Went along to the restaurant at 6pm on Sat night looking for a table of 6, the man said they were very busy and fully booked, on looking around tables were empty apart from 2 tables of 2 people at the bottom of the restaurant. The man was rather rude and rushed me out the door without explaining or apologising... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest, After reading your review, I wish to respond to clarify some aspects of what you wrote. Regarding the table, we cannot accept expressions or descriptions do not correspond to reality. We are very committed to providing the best possible service to our guest and that means continually working with our staff to make sure they understand how our... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

While on holiday in dunoon i came here with my partner. The resteraunt was empty but we were told there was no table for us. The man then told is to wait and let us sit at a table for 2 next to the bar. As we are eating our starter another couple and a table of four arrive without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest I want to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incident you had at our restaurant. Your comments were most troubling but I want to unequivocally thank you for bringing this to my attention. Without your feedback I might never have known of it. It is our highest priority to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience and in... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I visited this Restaurant while staying in the attached Argyll Hotel, the staff were very friendly and everyone had a smile, nothing was too much trouble, the menu was extensive and our meal was excellent, every meal going to all the other tables looked great, the restaurant was full of regulars as they all seemed to know the staff very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronny P, Manager at Ristorante Italiano Rio, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review. We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our restaurant and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means... More

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Italiano Rio also viewed

Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
Dunoon, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Ristorante Italiano Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Italiano Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing