We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Taverners

Certificate of Excellence
Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
High Street, Godshill PO38 3HZ , England
01983 840707
Website
Add hours for The Taverners and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 599 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 408
    Excellent
  • 141
    Very good
  • 38
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great food reasonable prices

Very good food with excellent service and the ambience was warm and friendly. The prices reflected the quality of the food so whilst not cheap the food was well worth the cost. Enjoyable. Gets very busy which speaks volumes.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 26, 2015
Mandy R
,
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

Very good food with excellent service and the ambience was warm and friendly. The prices reflected the quality of the food so whilst not cheap the food was well worth the cost. Enjoyable. Gets very busy which speaks volumes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

Cosy place. Very nice bar, staff and food was excellent. Proper English country pub & restaurant. Village lovely and quaint but beware footpaths very narrow or non existent so with baby/pram and kids bit dangerous with massive buses flying through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

Lovely place with friendly and warm welcome; our three littlies were likewise treated very well. Great regular menu with daily-changing specials; fab kids' menu chosen by the three daughters of the proprietor; nice wine list and amazing puddings. Friendly, swift and attentive service despite it being peak time bank holiday Saturday night. Five people, starters and puds, bottle of wine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandown, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

First visit here and not disappointed. Mid-week evening visit. Fairly quiet. Food very good and presentation spot on. Service equally good. The menu is presented on a clipboard which is different. Make your selection and order at the bar. Steak and Ale pie excellent as was the Isle of Wight Sausage and Bubble and Squeak although the mash could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

We went to the Taverners on 2 occasions whilst staying in Godshill. On the first occasion we had sandwiches, which were satisfactory and encouraged us to eat there again. The drinks were a little pricey but it is a tourist trap, so you kind of know what you are getting yourself in to! Following the second occasion we were disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TavernersGodshill, Owner at The Taverners, responded to this review

We don't want to be seen as nit picky or sore losers but we were a little surprised at these comments. We did notice you reviewed several other establishments upon returning home from your holiday and feel you may of muddled a few bits and pieces from all, especially the bit about us having pricey drinks (we are the least... More 

Ventnor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Having eaten here numerous times in the evening it was interesting to see how a lunch time visit fared. We (a group of six friends),arrived at about 12.30. The restaurant was relatively quiet but with enough business to have a pleasant buzz. Service was speedy and pleasant. One of our group eats here very regularly and is on first name... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

One of my favourite places to eat on the isle of wight! Lovely family run pub with Michelin quality food!! Never been disappointed with anything here. Even the coffee and the freshly squeezed orange juice are the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We ate at the Taverners mid week and were surprised how busy it was, until we had eaten our meal. The menu choices were plentiful and the quality of the food was far higher than you would expect for a pub. It was difficult to make a selection because everything on offer sounded so appetising. We were also impressed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Great pub. Excellent food. Top notch service. Good selection of ales and cider with Godshill Cider Co Rumpy Pumpy Scrumpy on tap. Good choice on the menu and daily specials board. Food served hot and beautifully presented. As other reviewers have said, the lemon meringue is massive!! There is also a shop at rear of pub selling the 'jam jar'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We were looking for somewhere we could go for a lovely and reasonably priced Sunday lunch as a small family with a toddler of nearly two years old. The pub was busy but didn't feel overcrowded and we were served very quickly. We had phoned and booked early and were glad we did as the village was also packed! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Taverners also viewed

Newchurch, Sandown
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Godshill, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Taverners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: High Street, Godshill PO38 3HZ , England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Godshill
  • Phone Number: 01983 840707

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Taverners staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?