We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocksalt

4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
+44 (0)1303 212 070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 140 Restaurants in Folkestone
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocksalt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
116 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    275
    164
    78
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palafrugell, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

I have had the pleasure to dine at Rocksalt on three occasions and will be dinning twice more in the next week. Folkestone is getting a second lease on life and Rocksalt location seems to be the start of things in the harbor. The views are quite wonderful and the cocktails terrific. I have eaten both in the restaurant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

We went to Rocksalt last night for a birthday and loved every seconded, it was fantastic. I can't fault anything. They even have blankets for if you get a bit chilly sitting outside. The staff are really friendly and helpful, really know what they are talking about. It was a birthday so they did a plate with some ice cream... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience, the staff work really hard to ensure that you do! We sincerely hope to see you again someday! The Rocksalt Team More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW via mobile

Service from waiters was good but food was poor and undercooked. Complained to waiter but no response from manager. Called over one of the managers at end of meal who made the excuse that he knew we had complained but said his colleague was dealing with it. But his colleague was no where to be seen. Think the place is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your experience wasn't all we would want it to be. The management team would really like to speak you about this and we would invite you to call in and ask for Jack or Sarah to discuss your complaints in more detail on 01303 212070. The Rocksalt Team More

Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

We ate here this Monday and despite one or two average reviews we had a great experience. The weather was sunny so we had a lovely table outside with nice views over the harbour. The food was excellent and the wines good and reasonably priced. I had the grilled mussels with bacon and the Thai fish curry and my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The Rocksalt Team More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

It was only ok..the pricier the restaurant the more critical I am. I think it rests on it's laurels a bit too much. I had the mackeral which was ok, the chips were ok, and the side veg was tasteless. I've been now and satisfied my curiosity, but I'll go somewhere else next time. I just think that for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed. We feel that the menu is very clear about the service charge being added to the meal and we feel this is commonplace in many restaurants nowadays. The team are always more than happy to deduct this upon request, which we believe was done for you. The Rocksalt... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

I booked this for a birthday treat for wife and family of 6. Our starters were fine and 5 of our main meals were also good but my wife ordered a 30 day aged steak which she ate half of as she didn't want to upset me but she complained it smelt funny and tasted off we all tried some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have locally and freshly produced meat and the chef did not feel there was any problem with your meal, as you stated, half of which had been eaten. Sarah tried to speak to you about this whilst you were in the restaurant and the team (either Sarah or Jack)... More

Ham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I was part of a Sunday lunch party and we travelled from Hampshire to the venue to meet other people. My friend lives in Dover and said she had heard mixed reviews about the restaurant and as I am very fussy with dining venue's I was a little bit worried as I had heard it was expensive. I can cope... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you soon! The Rocksalt Team More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

fresh seafood place, lovely staff and more of knowledge about what they are doing. Certainly the best restaurant in the town..

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Nice setting and atmosphere ....However !! Food was ok but expensive . We were indeed asked if food was ok and there were no complaints at the time . Aged beef had a very strange smell to it and was not right !! . We complained and the manager after some debate informed us there would be no service charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that your meal wasn't enjoyed. I would like to assure you that all of our meat is locally sourced and extremely fresh and upon speaking to the chef, we felt that there was no problem with your meal. We are sorry that you have decided not to return to Rocksalt. The Rocksalt... More

Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Really nice venue on the harbour wall. We were offered the worse table, which is really just for one person, in the restaurant despite having booked sometime ago and with other tables available however we did get another table but with a bit of thought could have been avoided. Yes the prices are quite high but the quality of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your comments, which we will pass onto the team.. We do hope to see you again! The Rocksalt Team More

Travelers who viewed Rocksalt also viewed

 

Been to Rocksalt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocksalt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing