We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocksalt

Seafood, Contemporary, British
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
+44 (0)1303 212 070
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,162 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 502
    Excellent
  • 334
    Very good
  • 184
    Average
  • 87
    Poor
  • 55
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
What a shame!!!

We had been looking forward to eating here for some time, Unfortunately was a let down. Lovely ambience and views and staff pleasant. But overall food non descript, definitely not worth the money. All our local fish and they don't know what to do it with it !! Steaks tough too! Won't be returning.

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 1, 2015
Jayne1067
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

1,162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We had been looking forward to eating here for some time, Unfortunately was a let down. Lovely ambience and views and staff pleasant. But overall food non descript, definitely not worth the money. All our local fish and they don't know what to do it with it !! Steaks tough too! Won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal at Rocksalt. If you would like to discuss your experience with our management team please do get in contact with Sarah or Jack on 01303 212070. The Rocksalt Team More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We had all heard of Rocksalt so were really looking forward to having fabulous cocktails and wonderful food for Sarah's birthday (she was 31) plus being her hen night, a good mix of ladies. We all had one cocktail downstairs and then led to our table, we were obviously put right at the back being a hen night and table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your dining experience last weekend. According to our records we have no vegetarian meals pre-ordered, only meat and fish meals. As I am sure you can understand, if the meal was not pre ordered we had to cook one from scratch, which takes time. We understand that one main meal was... More 

Merseyside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

We had been looking forward to visiting Rocksalt for some time. I had been a fan of Mark Sargeant and enjoyed recipes from his book 'My Kind of Cooking' - so our expectations were high. The restaurant is excellent - modern, great harbour view, light, spacious. The staff were brilliant - attentive, courteous and friendly. We went for lunch and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and kind words which we will pass on to the team. We do hope you make it to Folkestone again someday! The Rocksalt Team More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

A lovely place to enjoy a meal with family and friends,or a romantic evening.Located on The Stade in the Harbour area it has great views over the harbour and the fishing boats and yatchts,and on a clear day France in the distance.It is owned by Micheal Sargeant,a renowned chef,which shows in the quality of the food,and the drinks are reasonably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a wonderful time. We do hope to see you again soon. The Rocksalt Team More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Great setting with lovely view, out to sea. This meal and dining experience was memorable from start to finish. Staff genuine and engaging. Food sublime. Squid was delicious. Everything is well presented and seafood is treated with great respect.Lots, of locally sourced non seafood ingredients if you don't fancy fish. Really good advice and knowledge of gluten free options and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, the team works really hard to ensure your dining experience is enjoyed, so I will pass your comments onto them! We do hope to see you again soon. The Rocksalt Team More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

The title says it all. We started off in the bar upstairs with a great view of the harbour and a very quick, polite bartender. The cocktails were very nice and the atmosphere very relaxed and easy. Considering how much we expected to pay the drinks were relatively inexpensive (£4.50 for their "exclusive" Rock Top beer, around £8 for some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that you felt that service was slow when you came in, so many of our customers prefer a long leisurely lunch on a Sunday. We will be passing your comments on to the team. As your feedback is so important to us we would really like to speak to you about your... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

Excellent quality and reasonable value for high quality venue. Beautiful setting overlooking the harbour. We went as a party of 10 for a special occasion and were made to feel very special. Attention to detail excellent. We had special lunch menu which is more reasonable than very high A la Carte menu but still no cut in beautiful presentation of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we apologise again for the mix up with your bill. We do hope you give us another try sometime soon. The Rocksalt Team More 

Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Delicious starters (lobster salad and potted shrimp) and the fish pie is superb as a main. Good wine list although the Montrachet was not the best I have had.. Restaurant very busy and full but welcoming and warm service. Nice ambiance and views even when dark! Too many young, noisy children/toddlers in the restaurant at 8:30pm +,, Sorry but young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, all of your comments will be passed onto our team. We do hope that you come along to dine with us soon. The Rocksalt Team More 

London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We had the seafood platter, couldnt eat it all, need I say more Its a great place with views of the harbout, and we stayed in their rooms across the road

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We do hope you will come and stay again sometime! The Rocksalt Team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

A++++++ High expectations and was not disappointed. I had fish soup to start followd by Asian pork belly and noodles then apple fritters. Soup was tasty quite strong crab flavour but I liked that, came with a ramekin of cheese and mustard mayo which I thought was a little strange but when spread on the toasted bread and dipped in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! The Rocksalt Team More 

Travelers who viewed Rocksalt also viewed

 

Been to Rocksalt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Folkestone
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1303 212 070

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Seafood, Contemporary, British
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rocksalt and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
kent
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rocksalt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?