We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers At Blue Anchor

Blue Anchor, Minehead, Exmoor National Park TA24 6JS, England
+44 1984 640385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 71 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: English
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    44
    19
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Bit more than pub grub and the prices reflect that. We just had drinks and a main course. I had a home made beefburger which was good and my husband had the mussels in wine sauce. Perhaps a little expensive if you had 3 courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

Having holidayed in Blue anchor for four out of the last five years,I have always enjoyed my visits to The Smugglers.This August was the first visit since Katherine and her staff team took over.As I stay on the campsite next door,I quite often pop in for a couple of pints of the wonderful Otter and always feel happy to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Friendly service , met every adaption we asked for, eg my husband wanted cheese & onion mash instead of chips. Slightly more expensive than I'd like to pay. Fresh food. Nicely cooked . Not sure what-smaller portions, less flavour or something else, but this place is not the amazing one that it used to be unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
katherine G, Manager at Smugglers At Blue Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Smugglers. We certainly do try and accomodate everyone's tastes and dietary requirements however if something extra is asked for, we do need to charge a little extra for it. If your husband had asked for just mash instead of chips then there would have not been a cost difference. We do appreciate all... More

Bruton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Cannot understand why there have been some negative comments went in there tonight with a friend and dog (a Collie but not a working dog !!) and could not fault the welcome and service from all the staff, beer looked after and delicious and a very high standard of food you must try the brioche bread and butter pudding !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Have visited the smugglers inn many times but last year it changed and some of the staff left especially Amber who ran the pub very professionally. Have not been back since until recently (last week) and found it had changed hands and Amber was back. Did not have any food but had a drink and only a short visit with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bucks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Went here twice recently with different family members. Was very surprised how welcome they made you feel, the service & food was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday with my family, food was quite poor, with dogs in the restaurant which were not working dogs. Atmosphere was non existent with a lack of any type if service. Real shame nice on the outside, not great inside won't go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
katherine G, Manager at Smugglers At Blue Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am upset to hear that you had a bad experience with us however most of your issues that you have commented about could have easily been dealt with whilst in the premises. We do state that we are a dog friendly restaurant however there are a limited number of... More

West Midlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Visited whilst holidaying in the area. Food was lovely but thought meals were on the expensive side for what it was and no table service. Thought overall the place lacked atmosphere. No music or pictures just stark white walls and screws where there used to be pictures. Considering the size and history of the place I thought it would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
katherine G, Manager at Smugglers At Blue Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your meal. You have my deepest apologies regarding your unhappiness with the cost of the meals, we are a fresh food establishment and take pride in using only the best ingredients. I, myself, have not had the Smugglers Inn for very long and I... More

leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed at the local camp site and we visited the pub with the dog and kids. Brilliant in all aspects

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Was recommended to The Smugglers and the food was amazing, so nice to have such a good range of gluten free food and it was all things that you wouldn't see on a "standard" gluten free menu. even got to enjoy gluten free onion rings. nom nom! all the food was cooked to order and took slightly longer than a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers who viewed Smugglers At Blue Anchor also viewed

Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
 
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Smugglers At Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers At Blue Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing