We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WinePress at the Donnington Valley

$$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Donnington Valley Hotel | Old Oxford Road, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
+44 (0)1635 551199
Website
Add hours for WinePress at the Donnington Valley and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Set within the award-winning four-star Donnington Valley, the WinePress is...
Set within the award-winning four-star Donnington Valley, the WinePress is a relaxed, informal restaurant overlooking the rolling Berkshire countryside which surrounds the hotel. Vaulted beams and balustrade gallery add an airy, open feel to the well-spaced dining room, while the stylish blend of modern and traditional British cooking on the menu has won the restaurant two AA Rosettes. Food is complemented by a extensive selection of over 350 wines.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 45 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Poor

Food lacked flavour and very bland. Service was appalling. Can't speak for the a la carte menu but we ate from the market menu, wouldn't eat there again.

2 of 5 starsReviewed January 17, 2015
Smokeyjoes14
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Food lacked flavour and very bland. Service was appalling. Can't speak for the a la carte menu but we ate from the market menu, wouldn't eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read that your dining experience wasn't as enjoyable as you had expected. I'm sorry that the dishes you ordered were not to your liking and that you were not happy with the service you received. Our staff are trained to deliver high quality service every time, so I would like to apologise that you did not... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Outstanding Service and polite staff, food choices were excellent and would happily go back there just for Dinner if it was closer to home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area again. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Newbury Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Booked afternoon tea at The Winepress as a thank you present. The surroundings are lovely we had a table in front of a roaring log fire perfect on a cold November afternoon. Service excellent really good selection of sandwiches something to tempt the taste buds of all in our party age range 9 to 68. Would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your recent afternoon tea experience with us and spent a relaxing afternoon in front of our roaring fire. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and also the afternoon tea itself. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

thatcham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

We took my stepdaughter and her boyfriend for dinner to celebrate her birthday. Being young, they were nervous about being unsuitably dressed. The staff were fantastic and made us all feel welcome and at ease, and gave just the right amount of attention. The dinner was beautiful, we all found it hard to make a choice from the menu as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

It was really lovely to read that you had such a great time in our WinePress restaurant celebrating your stepdaughter’s birthday and really enjoyed the dishes you chose. Our staff are a real credit to us and I’m pleased they looked after you so well. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Very attentive service. Staff were very professional and very friendly. Really enjoyable and fulfilling dining experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your recent experience with us in the WinePress Restaurant. It's fantastic to hear you had such an enjoyable time and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

service not good the food was cooked with far to much salt did not enjoy any meals very disapointed will not use again drinks well overpriced check price of liquers

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food. Our chefs always season the dishes, but as taste is a personal preference, if you decide to join us for lunch or dinner again in the future, please ask for your food to be unseasoned, and our chefs... More 

midlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great little restaurant with an international range of staff which strangely made it feel more cosmopolitan. The food was very nice and the Rib eye steak was to die for. Fantastic selection of wines at reasonable prices and service is second to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great feedback on your recent dining experience with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your food, received great service and appreciated the wide range of wines we have available by the bottle and by the glass. I look forward to looking welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As soon as we were seated I had the impression that the staff weren't quite geared up for afternoon tea. We were asked what we'd like to drink which, given we'd ordered the afternoon tea with glass of Prosecco, I thought should have been fairly obvious. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were perfectly good, but the staff weren't at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks very much for reviewing your recent afternoon tea experience. I’m sorry that it didn’t live up to your expectations. I will certainly be looking into afternoon tea service to ensure that the level of service is improved. Please let me know if you decide to visit us again for Afternoon Tea or indeed lunch or dinner, and I will... More 

Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

see my review on the hotel, excellent food and great staff. Not cheap and my only negative is that there wasn't anything I liked from the 4 courses on their Market Menu (pigeon, belly pork!, rather unusual choices in my book). It therefore costs us a fair bit more to upgrade but we both had excellent steaks. Fantastic choice of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for your constructive comments on our market menu, I will certainly look into what we are offering on the menu at the moment. The menu does change seasonally though so I hope that we will have something on there that whets your appetite next time you dine with us. I’m really pleased to hear though that you enjoyed your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Owing to our overnight stay at the hotel we decided to utilise the restaurant . Having been seated at our table and having sat patiently for ten minutes we requested some wine , as we had previously studied the highly acclaimed wine list on the internet. So far so good ! The restaurant appeared more than adequately staffed but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your dining experience on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry to hear that you were not impressed with the quality of the food and service you received. I can only apologise for this and if you do ever decide to dine with us again, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are looked after. Kind regards Sally... More 

Travelers who viewed WinePress at the Donnington Valley also viewed

 

Been to WinePress at the Donnington Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Donnington Valley Hotel | Old Oxford Road, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1635 551199

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 92 - 92
  • Cuisine: British

Description

Set within the award-winning four-star Donnington Valley, the WinePress is a relaxed, informal restaurant overlooking the rolling Berkshire countryside which surrounds the hotel. Vaulted beams and balustrade gallery add an airy, open feel to the well-spaced dining room, while the stylish blend of modern and traditional British cooking on the menu has won the restaurant two AA Rosettes. Food is complemented by a extensive selection of over 350 wines.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of WinePress at the Donnington Valley and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from WinePress at the Donnington Valley staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?