We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre

Stowford, Sidmouth EX10 0NA , England
+44 1395 578500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 69 restaurants in Sidmouth
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bakery, British, Café, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    21
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Love it. Love the variety and menu options. Love the setting and the service. Been twice in the last month. Will be back soon. Can totally recommend the seafood platter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had been staying with friends in Devon and they suggested this venue for lunch! When we arrived at 1245hrs it was obvious it was a popular destination and we now know why. Excellent range of food/snacks, cakes/desserts and refreshments generally. The service was excellent and our HOT meals were brought to our table. We noticed their extra care with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped here for quick family lunch it was busy but staff were working fairly quickly. One of us had the corned beef hash which I thought it was very under seasoned and quite a small portion. My husband and I had pork casserole which was really nice, the vegetables served with it were cooked perfectly and it was a really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Called in today for a quick coffee, ordered a latte which was lovely and hot and tasty although a little frothy for my liking. Staff were friendly. Great layout, you have to leave through the gift shop which was packed with gorgeous household items.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was recommended a visit to the garden centre 'cafe', never have I been more disappointed. I ordered a roast dinner and a pot of tea. When the tea arrived I found a bug in my milk, this may have been a simple mistake but more care is needed. My roast dinner was cold and extremely under seasoned. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Called in for tea in the afternoon, excellent service, welcoming and very helpful with member of party who is a wheelchair user- carried refreshments to table for us. Well done- would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Went for lunch today, had corn beef hash with bacon & poached eggs. Came out cold but was replaced, not very good value for money and spoilt by microwave bacon. Staff were polite if a little harassed. Sorry guys but will stick with Otter Nurseries, much better value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony B, Owner at The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We're very sorry you were disappointed but are always grateful for feedback so that we can make improvements and ensure this situation doesn't arise again. More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The good burghers of Sidmouth may rendevue at the restaurant because it is surrounded by garden haute couture and the staff are super polite and bow and scrape but the offer is overpriced and bland. I would prefer a canteen or a transport cafe but neither would be twee enough for dear old Sidmouth where generally service is ramped up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I recently met a friend for lunch and I am sorry but we were not impressed. The prices are quite high, I ordered a jacket potato with cheese and coleslaw, but I was stunned when the potato arrived - it was not much bigger than a big hens egg and for nearly £7 I think that is very poor value.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony B, Owner at The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre, responded to this review

Clive, we're very sorry you were less than impressed on your visit to the restaurant. We always aim to provide quality food and value for money and it's obvious in this case that we didn't meet expectations. We would prefer to correct any disappointments at the time and if you had spoken to one of our staff I'm sure we... More

Exeter
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We returned for a Sunday lunch/brunch after a less than illuminating experience here about 3 years ago when we found the service abrupt and unhelpful. I have to be honest and say we were pleasantly surprised this time. My wife opted for the nutloaf roast which she found delicious. I fancied the bubble and squeak with egg/bacon (without the bacon)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony B, Owner at The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you had a less than perfect experience on your last visit, but very grateful you gave us another chance, and are more than happy that you found our food and service up to standard this time. Many thanks for the review. More

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Sidmouth Garden Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing