We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Williams Bar & Restaurant

Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England (Formerly Tewin Bury Farm)
01438 717 793
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    17
    14
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I were married in Tewin Bury Farm in July 2011 but had never visited the restaurant. Given the incredible standard of the food at our wedding, we decided to remedy this on my 40th birthday in June. I'm glad we did. The surroundings are still spectacular, parking is easy (even though there were two weddings being held)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hendon, London United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

First visit here and absolutely wonderful. Food excellent. What could be better than a 3 course meal with a large glass of wine for £15. Very good choice on menu,served beautifully and staff very friendly.Will definitely be goin back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, our 2 course lunch with a glass of wine has proved very popular and will continue during the Summer so we hope to see you back again soon. More

Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were recently taken here by friends and very much enjoyed the food. The menu offered a variety of attractive sounding dishes and the ingredients and the cooking were of a high standard - and at a very reasonable price. I wish I could say the same of the serving staff. One young man was quite friendly, but the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. Where possible our Executive Chef selects seasonal, local produce of the highest standard to create our menus. I am so sorry to hear that you were kept waiting for your wine and that in... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After reading the review below I felt I needed to put a review in myself. I came here a few weeks back for afternoon tea with some girlfriends. What a outstanding place. Not only is it a beautiful setting, the cakes were outstanding and The home made scone were to die for. Hats off to the chefs. From the moment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea experience. I am delighted to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. I am so pleased that you found time to explore our beautiful grounds and gardens. I am glad that Charlotte looked after you so well and that you enjoyed our scones;... More

Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As a loyalty member and regular customer, I was very disappointed with my experience here today. My partner and I went for lunch and we both felt the service by the lady in charge was very poor - sullen, bullish and as if we were something on the bottom of her shoe. We had just come from a business meeting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you are a regular customer and a member of our loyalty card scheme. However I am saddened to hear that on this occasion you did not feel that our service met our normally high standard. As a loyal customer we hope... More

UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked the granary which is a separate part to the main restaurant for a 70th birthday on a Saturday lunchtime. Prior to the day the staff were helpful answering queries and were happy to accommodate specific food requests for a fussy eater. We pre-ordered from a set menu which had a lovely selection for the 3 courses - Parma... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am delighted to hear that your meal in our Granary was a success. I am happy that our staff looked after you well and that we were able to accommodate your special dietary requests. We hope that you will visit us again soon. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I visited for my 1st anniversary after getting married at Tewinbury Farm in March 2013. As always the staff are professtional, polite and welcoming. We had 3 courses which were all very tasty and faultless. Their prosecco is delicious and I was impressed to see they also stocked my favourite bourbon. Great time had by my wife and I.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are always pleased to welcome back our brides & grooms to celebrate their anniversary, we are very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you will return again soon. More

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I visited for afternoon tea and will definitely be returning. We were served quickly and there were free refills of tea and coffee (unlike some other places I've been to). The sandwiches were delicately made but had a decent amount of filling and there was a good selection of cakes too. The scones were so light and crumbly! The home... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. We find that our Afternoon Teas are always very popular with our guests. Our home made fudge is always a favourite. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited today with my Daughters for Mothers Day.What a treat !! Lovely sandwiches,melt in the mouth scones with jam and cream,super cakes (mini victoria sponges,meringues and chocolate brownies)and an endless supply of tea. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Definitely one of the best afternoon tea experiences ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed our afternoon tea which we are very proud of! We hope you will return again soon. More

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Do not purchase Afternoon tea vouchers as only valid for a short period of time (4 months) and not willing to extend use of vouchers we received as a gift, Tewinbury is a small establishment that surely should value customers but not prepared to be at all flexible. Will not use the place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

We were so sorry to read that you will not be returning to Tewin Bury. Our Afternoon Tea is very popular, all homemade on site and extremely good value for money. All establishments that sell gift vouchers have a limit date which is a reasonable length of time in which to use them up. As a company, we give a... More

Travelers who viewed Williams Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Williams Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williams Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing