We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Williams Bar & Restaurant

Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England (Formerly Tewin Bury Farm)
01438 717 793
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    18
    15
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 NEW

following a previous visit for a friends birthday last year l decided this would be a perfect location for my wifes 40th birthday celebration, how wrong could l have been!! Although the staff in general seemed helpful and professional from the start including the manager "Charlotte" it soon became apparent this was a false illusion!! The whole operation of pre-ordering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

Although I am sure this hotel is good for weddings/functions etc but just popping in for a glass of wine to relax was not quite as we had planned ! We found a table and ordered our wine at the bar. After sitting for around 15 minutes the bar staff were seen to be having a chat on the patio... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

As a regular visitor to this restaurant and a loyalty card member I was disappointed today with the comments I had from one member of staff today regarding the new lunchtime menu. The previous lunch menus were clear and concise stating the price for two or three courses which included a glass of wine. The new print out seemed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent visit to us, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your lunch and would like to apologise for the mix up with the prices, it appears some of our menus last week were printed without prices however these should have been provided to you when you pointed... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After a surprise get together for my friends 40th we went along for a classic Afternoon Tea at Tewin! After my last visit the afternoon tea had changed! The home made scones were so yummy and The mini cakes are beyond words, not one of us was left feeling hungry, you truly get your money's worth! I would recommend getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we are so pleassed you enjoyed our new afternoon tea as much as your last visit to us. Your comments have been passed on to all of our staff and we hope to see you back again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I were married in Tewin Bury Farm in July 2011 but had never visited the restaurant. Given the incredible standard of the food at our wedding, we decided to remedy this on my 40th birthday in June. I'm glad we did. The surroundings are still spectacular, parking is easy (even though there were two weddings being held)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, it is always lovely to see our past brides & grooms returning to us! We were very pleased to read your enjoyed your lunch with us (and even more pleased to received such praise from a black pudding connoisseur) and hope that we will see you back here again soon. More

Hendon, London United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

First visit here and absolutely wonderful. Food excellent. What could be better than a 3 course meal with a large glass of wine for £15. Very good choice on menu,served beautifully and staff very friendly.Will definitely be goin back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, our 2 course lunch with a glass of wine has proved very popular and will continue during the Summer so we hope to see you back again soon. More

Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were recently taken here by friends and very much enjoyed the food. The menu offered a variety of attractive sounding dishes and the ingredients and the cooking were of a high standard - and at a very reasonable price. I wish I could say the same of the serving staff. One young man was quite friendly, but the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. Where possible our Executive Chef selects seasonal, local produce of the highest standard to create our menus. I am so sorry to hear that you were kept waiting for your wine and that in... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After reading the review below I felt I needed to put a review in myself. I came here a few weeks back for afternoon tea with some girlfriends. What a outstanding place. Not only is it a beautiful setting, the cakes were outstanding and The home made scone were to die for. Hats off to the chefs. From the moment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea experience. I am delighted to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. I am so pleased that you found time to explore our beautiful grounds and gardens. I am glad that Charlotte looked after you so well and that you enjoyed our scones;... More

Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As a loyalty member and regular customer, I was very disappointed with my experience here today. My partner and I went for lunch and we both felt the service by the lady in charge was very poor - sullen, bullish and as if we were something on the bottom of her shoe. We had just come from a business meeting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you are a regular customer and a member of our loyalty card scheme. However I am saddened to hear that on this occasion you did not feel that our service met our normally high standard. As a loyal customer we hope... More

UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked the granary which is a separate part to the main restaurant for a 70th birthday on a Saturday lunchtime. Prior to the day the staff were helpful answering queries and were happy to accommodate specific food requests for a fussy eater. We pre-ordered from a set menu which had a lovely selection for the 3 courses - Parma... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am delighted to hear that your meal in our Granary was a success. I am happy that our staff looked after you well and that we were able to accommodate your special dietary requests. We hope that you will visit us again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Williams Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Williams Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williams Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing