We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 308 Bedford Restaurants

The Embankment

No 6, The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
01234261332
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #79 of 308 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: $39 - $39
Hours:
Sun 7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 7:30 am - 12:00 am
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Embankment is an imposing mock-Tudor pub with rooms in the heart of Bedford. The clue to our location is in the name! We sit right in the middle of Bedford's beautifully-landscaped Embankment, with wonderful views out over the River Great Ouse, the boathouses and all the hustle and bustle of life on the river.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    107
    60
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

A lovely place. Perfect as it faces the best part of bedford - the river. At night it's beautiful. Drinks are expensive, as is the food. It's not your beefeater kind of grub with two meals for a fiver kind of place, but I think that's a good thing. Because of this you don't tend to get the younger 'lager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW

This is probably one of the nicest places to spend an evening meal/ relaxed drinks in Bedford. It is very well decorated, character, candle lit in evenings, great location and staff were friendly. The food was good but not worth what we paid for it. It was priced higher than an average restaurant so would expect a bit more from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

Popped in Saturday for lunch the staff were very pleasant and helped us find a suitable table quickly we had our son with us in a car seat so they gave us a bench seat. Food was very tasty, menu was varied and lots to choose from, they also served seasonal drinks. Quite pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Had a lovely Sunday lunch, was filling and well presented... Service was really good, knowledgable and service with a smile. We will return....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We pop in on a sat we had lunch it was lovely we when to the steak night it was good going back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kempston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Just walked out of this place for the last time. Been here several times in the last year and it's been anywhere from good to awful. I did leave a review back in July with a simple 2 out of 5 and had complained. We were offered a free meal which we didn't want to accept as you worry it'll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this review

Dear Donnie Many thanks for taking the time to review us following your recent visit and I am sorry that your were not happy and feel you will not return to us. It would be great if you could give me a call regarding your experience. I would like to discuss this with you in more detail. Kind regards Jonathan... More

Bedford
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

A colleague and myself recently popped into this establishment for lunch. It was a poor decision on our part. THE BAR We entered the bar and were greeted by an off-hand bar maid who condescended to serve us. It appeared that it was almost beneath her that we were requesting a drink! We both had a pint of beer, my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SwanGM, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this review

Dear Bowls Captain, I am deeply saddened by your review. I am sorry there was a mix up at the bar with what drink you wanted. I presume you didn’t end up drinking a mixture or beer and this was sorted at the time? You mention that the staff were ‘off hand’. All of my team are fully trained and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Have been here on and off for several years. Visited again this week. Disappointed that product offering was expensive and the service was lacklustre.jonathan and the management team are solid, however this establishment needs to focus on consistent high quality food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this review

Dear Exec Thank you for your review, however it is very vague with no specific detail. If you could please email me, with more details that would be great. Kind regards Jonathan Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This place used to be the place to go: Good food, great location, nice cosy interior and good selection of wines but in the last year or so it has steadily gone downhill. The food is poor, the service is poor and each time I go in something else about this place has got worse. I now no longer bother... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, however the review is very vague and you have not commented on anything specific. If you could please email me, with more details that would be great. Kind regards Jonathan Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Food is always exquisite and service superb, for a snack, bar meal or 3 course meals. The grande gin tanquery is a must!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this review

Sunshine Many thanks for your kind comments. We love grand Gins too! Obviously! Please say hello next time you visit. Kind regards Jonathan More

Travelers who viewed The Embankment also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Embankment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embankment

Address: No 6, The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Phone Number: 01234261332
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Bedford
Open Hours:
Sunday 7:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday 7:30 am - 12:00 am
Average Prices: USD 39 - 39
Cuisine: European, British, Pub, Gastropub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing