We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barley Mow

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
British, Pub, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
+44 1754 820883
Website
Today
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wed - Sat 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness...
We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness, we boast a large carpark, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a seperate dining room on the side overlooking the countryside. We close all day Monday and serve food from Tuesday evening to Sunday lunch. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!! We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable cosy yet modern village pub with restaurant.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 211 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 164
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Very impressed

Recently visited over the bank holiday weekend. Rang at very short notice on a busy Saturday night. Was told they could fit us in about 9.30pm. Arrived on time and had about a half hour wait as other diners were overrunning. This wasn't a problem and the staff were very polite. Glad we waited. The... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
NealSmith1
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

Recently visited over the bank holiday weekend. Rang at very short notice on a busy Saturday night. Was told they could fit us in about 9.30pm. Arrived on time and had about a half hour wait as other diners were overrunning. This wasn't a problem and the staff were very polite. Glad we waited. The food was excellent. My wife... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

went to barley mow with parents as it was there anniversary very dissapointing my mother found hair in her gammon meal which put her off and she doesnt like to complain and the gammon was like rubber not very nice we live in lincoln we may try it again as we are not far away and it does look a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Skegness
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Having seen previous bad review we though hope it will be ok! as we had invited friends,well we weren't disappointed,all I can say is some people are very hard to please.The food was delicious the staff attentive and polite,they cope extremely well seeing it's such a busy place,nice atmosphere I also like the fact your not rushed as is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Having read the wonderful reviews regarding the Barley Mow we were rather disappointed. The food was not up to the standard we had anticipated: the cauliflower was inedible, the beef very fatty, soggy roast potatoes, the plates were cold and therefore the meal was lukewarm. We had booked a table for Sunday lunch and yet when we arrived we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review, I'm sorry you were disappointed in your Sunday lunch. Normally our customers like to have a drink in the bar area before their meal, however,if the customer requests to sit straight at the table we take you straight to your allocated table, your review has highlighted the need to have a hostess on... More 

Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

I booked a table for 3 for 6.30 this evening. We were advised to arrive 15 mins early - which we did. We ordered at the bar and we were advised that the lamb would take a good 20 mins to cook - my husband had ordered this. No problem. We eventually went into the restaurant. My husband and son... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, its lovely to read you enjoyed your first time with us. Our ribs are delicious and finger licking good, we slow cook them here for quite a few hours and indeed are very popular. Your comments and feedback are much appreciated and hopefully on your next visit you will have room to try one of... More 

Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Travelled over 120 miles to collect mum and take her for dinner on Mothering Sunday, having booked a table for four at The Barley Mow, Friskney. We had never had Sunday lunch here but have to say it was the best Sunday lunch I have ever had in the area. Service and food absolutely spot on. The owner even emailed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review, sorry for the delay in responding,We have been closed for 2.5 weeks for our kitchen and toilet refit and I am pleased to say we are now open and back to normal hours.Our Sunday roasts are very popular, your comments have been passed on to my team. We look forward to seeing... More 

England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We had heard the hype so I booked for an 11 year anniversary. Ordered champagne on ice for the table and took over red roses and a card to be placed on the table also. What could go wrong? Everything. We were ushered to a table in what can only be described as a canteen with formica tables overlooking a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your review and I cannot apologies enough over the mix up on your flowers and card. Some of your comments are much appreciated whilst others I would like to respond to. I was on duty on the said night and I would like to point out that you were not ushered to your... More 

boston
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

This place just continues to thrive on its success. I've been visiting the restaurant for many years because it is so consistently good. The main menu has also evolved in that there are quite often theme nights and varied specials available. But they have not taken the focus of quality. The produce is local where possible and cooked to perfection.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and continued custom, your comments are much appreciated. Our new kitchen and loos will be ready on May 1st and my chefs are looking forward to updating our menu and creating some new dishes. We look forward to seeing you very soon Kind regards Jayne Best wishes Jayne Cividin More 

Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We booked in for Mothers' Day and although it was an exceptionally busy day, the standard of food remained top notch and the customer service was excellent. The friendly staff were attentive and helpful throughout, making for a lovely experience for the 3 generations of mums in our small family party. We have been to the Barley Mow on numerous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so pleased to read that you had a lovely Mothers day with us, indeed it was a very busy day and it was a great success. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Jayne Cividin More 

uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Its one of those places you drive past and thing i must try it out, so we did for Valentines and it was very nice, food was good and left very full as had 3 courses, It was a busy Saturday night and had to wait 10 -15 mins for our table but sat in the bar and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Ingoldmells, Skegness
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Skegness
  • Phone Number: +44 1754 820883

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 38
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine

Description

We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness, we boast a large carpark, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a seperate dining room on the side overlooking the countryside. We close all day Monday and serve food from Tuesday evening to Sunday lunch. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!! We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable cosy yet modern village pub with restaurant.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Barley Mow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?