We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barley Mow

Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
+44 1754 820883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 135 Restaurants in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from skegness, we boast a large carpark, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a seperate dining room on the side.We close all day Monday and serve food from Tuesday evening to Sunday lunch. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!! We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable village pub with restaurant.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

we visit the barley mow on holiday every year and have yet to be disappointed. we called twice on our recent holiday and couldnt fault the food and service either time. we partook of the early bird menu (very reasonable price) and the food received was well above expectations for the price charged. only criticism I would have is that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We went to the Barley Mow on Saturday evening to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I will say from the beginning the staff were very warm and friendly and the pub itself looked clean and welcoming, this is the only reason it gets an average score rather than poor because it went downhill from there.... We were shown through to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This evening i felt very let down by the high reviews Barley mow has received on trip advisor.For the price of the food i would personally feel the people that rate this place 5 star should try an evening at The nelson butt in spilsby and save yourself upto 50% .i requested a pinker than pink lamb steak and after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at Barley Mow, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for your review, I'm very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your meal, and we didn't meet your expectations as per reviews on Tripadvisor. I too am disappointed that you felt the need to write an essay about your piece of lamb, my front of house manager and staff dealt with your complaint professionally and... More

boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We have passed by this pub on and off in the day-time for a long time but only eaten there a few times as our timing as been out for their opening hours. Recently, we needed a snack lunch. So we shared a 'posh hot dog'. This was excellent with local sausage well cooked/onions - baguette and proper fries and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Visited for our wedding anniversary, perhaps a bit pricey but you get what you pay for in our experience, my husband had the mixed grill which was a varied selection of chargrilled good quality thickly cut meats (other places tend to do meats more thinly on a mixed grill but perhaps a little cheaper) I had the duck breast which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lovely place, our new local pub. Can't fault it. Staff are helpful and warm. Lovely food and drinks. Will be customers of the month before you know it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We visited this restaurant as part of a reasonably large party for a special birthday celebration. The welcome by the staff was warm, and the restaurant was very well appointed and comfortable. The service was fantastic from start to finish, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious, hot, and the steaks were perfectly cooked. The menu offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

visited this restaurant after reading reviews on trip advisor .while on holiday.for a birthday meal the food was excelllent and well presented .the service and staff were lovely.will visit again next time on hols

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are regular visitors of the Barley Mow as we are always guaranteed a fantastic meal and excellent service. Last night was a one off gourmet burger night which was a fabulous week night treat. Hopefully it'll become a regular thing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Having been a little disappointed with most of the eateries in the area we decided to give the Barley Mow a whirl based on the review on here. The place is friendly and the food very good. They even managed to cater for a gluten free vegetarian! You can expect a very small wait as the food is prepared freshly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Barley Mow also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley Mow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing