We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
33 Roman Bank, Skegness PE25 2SN, England
+44 1754 765855
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The first and most established Indian restaurant in Skegness. We first...
The first and most established Indian restaurant in Skegness. We first opened in 1986 and have since become one of the most well known Indian restaurants in Lincolnshire. We serve authentic Indian cuisine cooked with fresh authentic spices. Our extensive menu provides options for everyone and we are always more than willing to help you choose a dish that suits you. Come an dine in our elegant and comfortable restaurant. Relax and indulge in the true flavours of the East. We also offer a takeaway service with 10% discount on collected orders. Free delivery service on takeaways over £12 within 2 mile radius. Charges apply to distances beyond 2 miles.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 167 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 96
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Great curry

Went here while on holiday with son and grandaughter the only fault was hot pickle with popidums was poor was just lime pickle but the mains Jalfrezzi,Korma and barranni was very tasty not a lot of chicken but good will visit again if in the area

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 16, 2015
kevin b
,
Telford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Special occasions
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

It is the worst restaurant I have ever seen, .The service has been poor since we walked in.The staff don't bother to listen when taking order nor do they bother to answer appropriately. Their behaviour is very rude through out.Some waiters don't even communicate in English. It is a big shame that the restaurant is named after Father of Indian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Dear Customer, In response to your review, we would like to politely remind you of the fact that you asked us to give you your meal quickly on a very busy Saturday night, and we informed you that although we would try our best. We also informed you politely that all our customers are served in order and we could... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Naming a tandoori restaurant after a famous Indian icon who was a vegetarian and serving non-vegetarian is bad enough. The waiter service was poor - no basic manners - plonk - here is your plates. Plonk- here is your food. Plonk - here is your bill - pay - no thank you or bye. Food was blend - had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

The restaurant has always catered for veg and non-veg and there is no intention to change this. It highly unlikely that what you have described with regards to our customer service is true. We do not treat our customer like that. In your case, we felt it was quite difficult to satisfy your requirements. Sorry but such complaints were expected... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Went here while on holiday with son and grandaughter the only fault was hot pickle with popidums was poor was just lime pickle but the mains Jalfrezzi,Korma and barranni was very tasty not a lot of chicken but good will visit again if in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Hi Sir, Thank you for your review. Our pickle tray does not have a hot pickle and it is lime pickle, which is why it tasted like lime pickle. All our curries have the same amount of chicken in them and that is 7-8 pieces depending on size. More 

Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We visited late Saturday 18th July for my birthday after a theatre show. On arriving all of the staff were all really welcoming and friendly. When I couldn't find my glasses the kind waiter noticed and brought me a resterant pair so I could read the menu... I was really impressed by the attentiveness shown.The food was totally amazing,the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Not to be missed this place is a diamond.6 of us had 6 different currys & we all agreed they were all amongst the best we had. Usually you go to the coast you get average curry which you dont enjoy but this place is head & shoulders above the rest. Clean & tidy eating staff polite & has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Whenever I visit Skeggy I always put the Ghandi on my list. The last two occasions I have eaten pretty average food here and last nights takeaway fell right into this category. Overcooked King prawns (which weren't very big at all) and a liquid Madras sauce. Very disappointing for such a long established decent restaurant. Sorry but it won't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that our food has not met your individual expectation. As you have introduced yourself as a 'curious customer', we thought you would appreciate being informed of the fact that our King Prawn dishes are cooked with large Tiger King Prawns which our Chef chops ups into chunks before cooking them in the sauce. As you... More 

Banbury, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Me an my partner went for a meal whilst visting Skegness weekend just gone it was our anniversary and we wanted a nice meal.. we were not disappointed one bit the food was just excellent no long wait in between courses and the staff were very friendly I would 100% recommend this restaurant and certainly be returning the next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We wish you many more happy years and hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I chose gandhi and I was not disappointed as the food was spicy hot and very tasty, job well done to all the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We always strive to provide the best quality of food and service. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Visited this Indian for an early dinner 5.30pm. The food was excellent and quick service. Draft was good. We will start using this for takeaways when we visit Skeg. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Following a bad experience in the north west, I decided to take my visiting family here after a meal I had that I thought was good. Service was good, with the takeaway meals arriving 5 - 10 min apart. Food was still hot, and must say fantastic! I'll be going back again, and again! Good work guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Gandhi also viewed

 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 33 Roman Bank, Skegness PE25 2SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Skegness
  • Phone Number: +44 1754 765855

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 18 - 31
  • Cuisine: Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic

Description

The first and most established Indian restaurant in Skegness. We first opened in 1986 and have since become one of the most well known Indian restaurants in Lincolnshire. We serve authentic Indian cuisine cooked with fresh authentic spices. Our extensive menu provides options for everyone and we are always more than willing to help you choose a dish that suits you. Come an dine in our elegant and comfortable restaurant. Relax and indulge in the true flavours of the East. We also offer a takeaway service with 10% discount on collected orders. Free delivery service on takeaways over £12 within 2 mile radius. Charges apply to distances beyond 2 miles.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Gandhi and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Gandhi staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?