We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gandhi

33 Roman Bank, Skegness PE25 2SN, England
01754 765855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 135 Restaurants in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    12
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Was here with my partner on Saturday 30th Aug. We arrived and the restaurant was busy, always a good sign. Told we'd have to wait which was acceptable so we had a drink. In the waiting area, the flies and Mosquitos were horrendous, so much so that others had to complain. The waiting area was also filling up fast and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The night you visited was one of our busiest nights, we do apologise for the waiting time and we always try to get our customers to their table as quick as possible. As for the mosquito issue, due to the restaurant being full, we had all the windows and the main door open that night.... More

West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Went to ghandi on 18th August, rester aunt was fairly full at about 7pm. food and service was pretty prompt. Food was very good apart from chicken which was a bit chewy everything else was spot on apart from price which was a bit high for up north.Ordered 4 poppadoms, 2 mains 1 side 1 rice and 2 nans, 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the chicken satisfactory. The chicken we use is 100% breast meat. You may wish to try a dish with chicken tikka which is marinated before hand. Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again. Many thanks. More

lincolnshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This used to be our local restaurant when we lived in Skegness, we always ate here atleast twice a week as its the best indian in the town. We came back here a few weeks ago and enjoyed yet another delicious meal, i really cannot understand the negative reviews. The owner is so lovely and his staff always on top... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am a frequent visitor as I feel this is the best Indian in skegness. Staff are pleasant and helpful, particularly on arrival, they are very welcoming and help you with any questions regarding dishes on the menu. The food is generous in portion and is flavored well.Extremely filling and you get a lot for your money, I perhaps spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I went recently with my dad. It's always been lovely. We used to go often. I don't think I'd actually go back now. We came in and we waited in the bar area. That was fine didn't mind waiting. Then we ordered a pickle tray and drinks. I asked what fresh juice they had and he looked at me funny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coalville, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

King prawns were overcooked and tasted like rubber, bhuna sauce was watery, nan bread was like cardboard, and my wifes mushroom fried rice had 2 slices of mushroom in it, wont be returning !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I were staying in Skegness for a few days recently and as we love indian food visited the Gandi under recommendation from the locals.What a mistake.The starters were barely warm and tasteless. I asked for my main dish to be made a little milder only to be given really hot chillies in the dish which i almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miah79, Guest Relations Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read about your experience. We cook all food fresh and it is unfortunate that you found the starters did not meet your expectations in this case. If we had been notified at the time, we would happily replace it or refund it. Also, we always try to meet our customers requirements... More

Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We've had takeaway from here quite a few times and the orders always come wrong or missing items. It says on the receipt the correct items, but the items inside are missing or not what we asked for inside. It's happened around 3 times now in around 6 orders. We think they do it on purpose to be honest. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Miah79, Owner at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry for the issues with your takeaway orders. We have only come to know of this via Trip Advisor and would encourage all customers to let us know right away if something they have ordered has been missed off. We will cook the item fresh and deliver it as soon as possible.... More

Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant experience . The food was delightful and the service excellent . We would recommend this restaurant to everyone . It was also great value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

What an awful service. Booked a table for 7.30. Waited until 8.30 then got seated. Waited another. 15 mins and had our started. 9. 30 n still waiting for main. Asked for bill. Complained n said do to want to wait till main. They didn't care. Owner was a slave driver, felt sorry for the workers. Finally went to saffron... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miah79, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I personally remember you from the beginning since while you sat at the bar, you were looking at other customers and laughing at the difficult situation we faced. We were very busy on Saturday with most customers arriving at the same time and two large bookings. Customers like yourselves who did not book a table... More

Travelers who viewed The Gandhi also viewed

 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gandhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing