We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bull and Swan

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
01780 766412
Website
Add hours for Bull and Swan and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Romance
Large groups

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 165 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 51
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Impressive

Friendly staff, good selection of ales, food is tasty and well presented. A little on the pricey side for some basic items hence 4 stars. Still worth a visit.

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 13, 2015
Mantamark
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Lovely food, but the service was extremely slow, an advertised offer wasn't honoured, and one dish from the menu we wanted wasn't available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our food offerings, unfortunately we don't run our lunchtime offer during bank holiday weekends and I'm sorry if you weren't made aware of this. I do hope to see you again soon so that you can take full advantage of this offer. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Went to the the bull and swan on a Saturday night for dinner. We sat in the restaurant section which was lovely, atmospheric lighting and music and not noisy and loud. The bar also looked like a fun place to eat with more of a buzz to it. The service was attentive and the food was delicious. I had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, I’m pleased that everything was to your liking, I will be sure to pass on your comments to Chef regarding our brownie. You were one of the last tables to dine in our Bedlam restaurant which is now closed for refurbishment; we have since given the bar a major facelift and would love for... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

With both my wife and I off work for the day we ventured to Stamford for a lunch time meal. It had been several years since we had been to the Bull and Swan but which had previously always been a good meal, so we thought we would try it again and we were not disappointed! The pub/hotel is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

I see that you took advantage of our very popular lunchtime deal and I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed our offerings More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Friendly staff, good selection of ales, food is tasty and well presented. A little on the pricey side for some basic items hence 4 stars. Still worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post us your feedback following your meal with us, as a well travelled Stamford diner I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and I do hope to see you on your return visit More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Weekday lunchtime saw just a steady tickle of customers, but enough to create a nice atmosphere. Good choice of food, with a midweek lunch special. We chose from the main menu and were very happy with our choices, having excellent lamb, soufflés and salad. Unobtrusive service and good timing between courses. Would come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Our lunchtime offer does indeed continue to be very popular. I will make sure that Chef sees your kind words More 

Leicester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

We chose to book a table for a Tuesday lunch time, not strictly required but we're glad we did as it got busier. The bar staff were polite, courteous, friendly and a credit to the pub. The lunch time menu was explained to us and we placed our orders. Shortly after our drinks arrived and then our food. Perfect portion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff that looked after you so well during your recent lunch with us and I will look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

When we arrived the dishwasher was more important to the barman than the customers. Having to wait 5 minutes for him to finish his task we were finally served. The food took ages to arrive but was nice when it did. However, some of the pork products were rather greasy. Overall nice atmosphere and dogs welcome which was brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always put our customers first at The Bull & Swan so I am sorry that the member of staff you encountered didn’t appear this way. We have just had a major facelift of the bar area which adds even more atmosphere than before, I hope to see you again soon to experience this. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We had been recommended to try the Bull & Swan by friends and we were not disappointed! Arriving mid-evening without a reservation, we were seated at the last available table yet despite the place being full (with a few drinkers propping the bar up), the atmosphere was very relaxed. My wife enjoyed an impressive Pie of the Day whilst I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post us your review, I hope you return to try some of our fantastic desserts. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Brought a party of 8 people for dinner on the 20th February. The food we ordered was of an acceptable standard and the fact it was not speedily served was not an issue in itself as we were not in a hurry. My complaint is about the quality of service. There was no continuity from staff and we had several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

I will let the kitchen team know that you enjoyed our food offerings, I can assure you that I do take all feedback very seriously whether it’s positive or not so, this is what can help us to grow and learn from our mistakes. I do hope I can tempt you back in the future to show you how we... More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Visited on Saturday evening (31st Jan 2015). On arrival there was a mix up on the Pubs behalf regarding the booking time with no apology! We waited 1hour 15mins for starters to arrive once seated, then another long wait for our mains. Service was very poor with untrained staff, food was very average, one main had to be sent back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at Bull and Swan, responded to this review

My apologies to both yourself and your guests for the issues you encountered on your recent visit to our restaurant. All of our staff on duty that evening have been with us over a year so it saddens me that you received such sub standard service More 

Travelers who viewed Bull and Swan also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Bull and Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Stamford
  • Phone Number: 01780 766412

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Large groups

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bull and Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?